We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no reviewers mentioned the pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Karon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2007

stayed here as a single woman, 3 nights package. this was a perfect intro to thailand. hey, the towel arrangement in the room (two kissing swans!) was the best first view i've had of a hotel room, ever! yes, hotel is not near the beach, but when i was there, early june 2007, the red flags were up daily, so not possible to swim in the sea anyway. the resort has a magnificent pool on the roof and as it was low season, not many people were using it. the design of this pool is intricate and very special; i've never seen anything like it. it's overhung with sweet-smelling frangipani and bougainvillea, whose leaves and flowers drop on the pool and float gently to a cunning run-off. the view has to be seen to be appreciated. and i did! thank you pacific for a great stay. later i moved down into the "town" of karon beach, to the pacific's little sister; the karon cafe, which was a similar standard, and more in the swing of things if people want a less quiet atmosphere. btw, restaurant very good too!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zooey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,352 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2007

Me, my partner and his mum and dad stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to thailand in May 2007. The hotel was great value for money, we paid approx £27 per suite room. The suite rooms do share the lounge area (two suite rooms share one kitchen and lounge area) so beware if you just book one that you may share with strangers though it was obviously fine for us. The rooftop pool is the best thing there, its fresh water and is the hotel owners pride and joy. It is just so serene swimming along overlooking the hills. The restaurant is also good value, food is good but there is a bar down the road, think its called bernies which do homemade burgers and the best thai green curry at very reasonable prices so do try there, they also do laundry cheaper than the hotel. The hotel also has a jacuzzi and herbal steam room which could be used for free after 16.00. they provide fresh clean towels for the swimming area and the jacuzzi and herbal steam room. We really enjoyed our stay, there is building work going on nearby but we didnt hear any noise whilst we were there and the hotel is on a steep hill and anyone who has trouble walking would have to constantly get taxis. I just used it as an opportunity to walk off the ice cream I kept eating! Also there were lots of insects but this was similar to all places we visited I would recommend that you get a strong insect repellant. I found the jungle formula one the best. The rooms were clean and they leave the towels in the shape of swans on the bed which is a lovely touch, our rooms had tv but no hairdryers.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank neanies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2007

Thanks for your kind review. Actually suite rooms do not share the living room, you were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite since you had booked two Pacific Super Suites. I'm dissappointed that my staff didn't explain that to you, sorry, but glad you enjoyed it. Hairdryers are always available on request as well since we have one housekeeper per 8 rooms compared to industry average of one per 20-30 you'll get great service. Thanks again.

Uncle Eric
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

I'm on my way home from a trip to Phuket. I stayed at the Pacific Club Resort and Spa, with high hopes, given this was rated so highly in Tripadvisor. The hotel itself is great. The rooms are spacious, with every normal comforts you would find at home. Microwave, plenty of seats in the room for your guests, great views from the balcony, nice bathroom with great showerhead and, most importantly, climate control air conditioning. Breakfast is good, with great egg dishes, such as eggs benedict with 'real' hollandaise sauce and prawns. Asian dishes are also served for breakfast. Other menu items in the restaurant are reasonably priced if you fancy lunch and dinner at the hotel as well.

I only have 3 issues with my stay at this hotel. The wi-fi they claim to have exists, but they seem to have a problem with connectivity to the internet. So if you plan to use the internet, then they offer 1 PC for free in the dining room, standing room only as they don't have chairs to use whilst you use the internet. Another problem is the English spoken by the staff. When attempting to explain the problem with the wi-fi, a blank look is returned. So make sure if you ever need anything, make sure it's simple. The biggest issue I have with this place is the location. It's not close to the beach, as they claim. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. This may not be much, but when temperatures hit more than 30 degrees outside, it will mean a lot. There are similarly priced hotels with great facilities that are only across the road from the beach and civilisation. Walking back to the hotel is not recommended as it is almost pitch black on the steep hill you have ascend to get back to the hotel, with some aggressive feral dogs to contend with. Your best option is to pay hiked up rates to the tuk tuk drivers to drive you up that dark narrod road up the hill.

It's unfortunate that this hotel is situated where it is, as this is the only major turn off for me returning to this hotel. I'm sorry, but the convenience of having the freedom to easily walk to local shops and markets is a huge plus for any hotel I consider staying in.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2007

Dear Travelling Carlito, Regarding location, we do kindly suggest that prospective customers use the internet to check our website before booking. The majority of customers stay here exactly for the reason that we are located in a high class residential area near the beach, but not on the beach, and not in an area surrounded by noisy bars etc.. Our website has a clear aerial photo of our location as well as maps etc. As for what you said we claim, it would have been better if you read the first 3 lines of our hotel description on TripAdvisor and quoted again below:

" Pacific Club is a 4 star Boutique Resort set in a relaxing tropical atmosphere surrounded by Panoramic Ocean and Jungle Mountain views only 10 minutes walk from Karon Beach. "

It also helps if you read the other customer reviews before booking, nearly everyone mentions the 10 minute walk to the beach. Just because we have a 4.5 rating doesn't mean we are on the beach. And the beautiful lane with no traffic on which you walk is lighted all night and the few dogs out there are friendly because most people feed them as they are walking up.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, we have 5 access points per 8 rooms and every room can connect to at least 3 access points. In fact most of our customers stay here particularly on account of the fine 1mb internet link with full connectivity throughout the hotel. Majority of our customers are staying here because of the high quality of internet as they need continuous online status for VPN, and Remote Control and our system is the best and cheapest. Thailand is a country where restaurant staff are not the highest level of education (especially the ones in black and white uniforms which signify trainee), if you have a problem with internet you need to talk with somebody at reception (you would be the first complaint in a long time). Our system has been up over 98% of the time over the last year (max downtime has been 12 hours which occurred only once, and that was while you were here, and we charge only 700 baht/week compared to 700 baht/day at most hotels. We sincerely apologize that you couldn't find anyone to help you with your connectivity problem as we always have fine english speaking staff on hand to help if you speak to the right person. As with anywhere in Thailand, you need to talk with the right person, especially if you come from a country where people speak english with a strong accent.

We are happy that you found everything else to be enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Uncle-Eric


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

We stayed here for five days in late April 2007 when on our honeymoon. We're not usually fond of resorts but this was the best place we stayed at in Thailand. It's 10 minutes walk from the beach so if you prefer partying and nightlife around the corner look elsewhere. If not, this a a perfect getaway. They have: great cocktails, wonderful food (Italian, Mexican, American, Thai), a lovely rooftop pool, spacious rooms, good cleaning service, and friendly staff who speak reasonably good English. The price was quite reasonable too. All in all a very comfortable place to relax. We would definitely stay there again! / Joe and Jessica, Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JHJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Fantastic place, great value for money and fantastic service, Yrs it is a small walk into Karon but it is just the perfect location your retreat from the TUK TUKS and "Hey Aussie want a suit". Pool is great and due to location a lovelyt evening breeze. Food and drink prices are good and rooms are spotless.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank scottnstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon Beach
0.1 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,269 reviews
10 km away
Navatara Phuket Resort
4.8 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#6 of 137 in Karon
833 reviews
18.5 km away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
837 reviews
33.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Club Resort

Address: 16 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Karon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Karon Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karon Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Karon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Karon Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Karon Beach
Price Range: €41 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Club is a small one-of-a-kind boutique resort set in a relaxing jungle beach atmosphere surrounded by panoramic ocean and jungle mountain views only 10 minutes walk from Karon Beach or village. Our rooftop SkyPool, gym, spa, Herbal Steam Sauna w/ Hydrotherapy rated Jacuzzi, reasonably priced friendly services, and Fine 5 star Dining in our Dining Room and throughout the resort insure comfort for most all travelers. Free Wifi & Private Cable TV keep you connected. We've been rated between 4-5 stars by travel professionals; please decide for yourself. Welcome Home, and please make sure to check our website for best deals and most accurate information before you book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Club Hotel Karon
Pacific Hotel Karon
Pacific Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing