We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for good service in Pacific Club in Karon, Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Karon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I would like to thanks kun Nuch reception of Pacific club resort. I recommented, her service is geat.
About of price, amicaly and all other sercive.


I went to Phuket, Karon with my family and kun Nuch is very kind and calm.

Exellence service thanks again kun Nuch, my family and me we have has a good time with your consult!

From Switzerland, Geneva

Thepnarin

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thepnarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 873 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Travelled in April 2012. This is what you get for 4850 bhat (usd 156) a night. Two bedroom apartment inclusive of breakfast.

Check in: good
Reception area: average
Room: spacious to accommodate four people.
Cleanliness: Excellent

Room had a refrigerator, microwave, utensils, stove, small kitchen, living area with dining table and sofa and the crt tv.

Staff: Friendly but alien to English language.

Breakfast: average, starts at 6:30 am but the buffet is not ready till 6:45 am and expect same menu everyday.

Ten minutes walk from the beach and main road.

Swimming pool: good. Dont expect any great service at pool, there is a phone there to order the drinks, nobody in person.

Bathrooms: Hot water supply was a problem. When complained they said they will fix it, hot water come for a minute and then it is cold. managed first two days with the cold water as the weather was good and warm. Next day we had to take shower at 5:30 in the morning, could not manage it with the cold water. Necessity is the mother of invention. Tip : open the shower get hot water for a minute as soon as you get cold water close the shower for a minute, open it again and you get hot water again for a minute. Repeat to get more hot water. Double the time spend, but you get hot water.

Shower area ill planned, the bathrooms get wet.
Since the bathroom is wet all the time, it gets smelly sometimes.
The housekeeping are trained to leave the towel at the edge of the bathtub, so that there is minimum water dribbling out. The water pressure is less in the shower.

Room dining : is fast and not expensive. But communication is a problem. Charged 24 bhat for a bucket of ice-cubes, which i normally get free everywhere. Food quality and preparation was excellent. Everything else in the menu was decently priced.

View from the room: average, few buildings and trees and partial view of deva resort.

Air conditioning: excellent.


Door bell: didn't work for the last two days. so expect your food to return back if your don't hear the knock.
Very small garden.

They call themselves a small boutique resort. Lets stop calling it a resort, its actually a four star high rise hotel.

Over rated on tripadvisor.com. If the budget suits fine , go ahead and take it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tanashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

We thank these folks for visiting and placing a review.   And are sorry they didn't feel as the majority about their experience with us.

We would have taken this as a reasonable review from Guests who weren't really impressed with our property except for the header. I think "Not for Us" might have been more appropriate. I also noticed these folks stayed at and highly reviewed another property and it appears as though they prefer grand scale 5 star condo type projects and don't have much regard for proximity to the beach or other attractions. They were also lucky enough at the other place to have been upgraded from a standard 2 BR unit to a 3 BR pool villa. That probably Wowed them a lot and skewed their limited comparison of properties in Phuket. Another thing to note is they didn't seem to mind the other place is located near the airport in the boondocks nearly a full hour walk from the beach and a 45 minute drive from the main areas of Phuket. A place like that in our area would be 2-5 times our rates.

We did check the hot water while these Guests were staying. Also I stayed in the same room myself only a few weeks before. And then checked it again for a full 20 minutes after these folks left this review. In all cases, it worked fine. So we're assuming the tip these folks left about turning it off and on might have been the root of the problem. Each of our bathrooms is equipped with it's own electric water heater which is controlled by a a flow valve as well as equipped with and overheat breaker. They take only about 1 minute to equalize and deliver a consistent shower at the desired temperature regardless of what Guests are doing in the other rooms. If they experienced the same problem in both the bathrooms in their unit, then it must have been operator error. We kindly apologize these folks couldn't find the correct balance, this is the first complaint on the hot water in that room in 7 years since we opened.

I am also curious about the property description comment.  First we are rated 4 stars by Expedia, nobody ever said we're ranked higher? Our TA guest satisfaction index is higher, but there are 3 star hotels with higher satisfaction index rankings than us. Second, We have only 33 rooms on essentially 6 floors combined with more common function space per room such as pool area, garden area, deck chairs, etc. etc.  as compared to most resorts and surely compared to hotels. Because these amenities are all measured as a ratio also known as metrics (i.e. Pool deck chairs / number of rooms etc.), we have been officially ranked and call Pacific Club a "Boutique Resort" (which generally means small), it wasn't our whim. Furthermore since we're located on a slope, the building really appears more like 5 floors, so I don't think it's a high rise. I don't know, obviously these folks have different criteria than the likes of Expedia when it comes to determining the proper description for a property. We'll probably leave it the way it is for now since we haven't had too many comments like this :-)

On the other marginal items of mention:

* We're happy to make Ice to the room complimentary
from now on even though in most bargain resorts,
you'll have to walk down the hall and get it yourself.
* We have LED TV's on order, expected delivery within
a few months. Originally we were gonna put in LCD
last year, but then our distributor informed us LED's
would be coming soon at great prices. So we
decided to wait and get the best for our Guests :-)
* These folks might not have noticed our breakfast
is a combination of menu order with continental
buffet. The buffet is practically the same easy day
except for the Thai food which rotates. On the western
side we make practically all mainstream
breakfast dishes. We just don't feel in a small
property where the breakfast goes for a 5 hour
period not only would it be unsafe to leave certain
foods out for so long, but quality would be compromised.
It may well be possible these folks didn't read the menu
handed to Guests at breakfast and which is also
published in our website.

We offer a unique balance of location, amenities, etc. Everybody loves a 5 star resort more than a 4 star, but that doesn't make us over rated in our category, location and price range. So we stand by happy to serve the Guests who do the homework and decide Pacific Club will be the right choice for them :-)

Happy Traveling,

Uncle Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I love the place! (see prevous reports) Staff are excellent, hired a scooter from reception for 8 days for less than what I would have payed on the street. Scuba diving most days meant that we were not there during the day much but sleep quality was great, food sensational and staff fantastic.
My tip of the trip - go to Las margaritas (Restaurant associated with the Pacific Club in Karon) and get a jug of whatever margarita you like and take it next door to drink while you get you feet rubbed....blissssss!
GPC

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiantPaperClip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Giant Paper Clip,

We kindly Thank You for visiting us so many times and taking the time to post reviews. Your kind words give power and confidence to my team so they can keep on improving as well as make sure things are consistently ready for each and every Guest time and time again.

For our readers, please kindly note, many of our best reviews come from Guests who booked directly on our website using our instant online system. Our system not only allows us to present you with the best rates available anywhere for your given search criteria, but also allows us to service your booking and requests personally so we can begin providing good service before you arrive. Please give it a try.

Kind Regards and Happy Traveling to all,

Uncle Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a good value for money hotel and we found it to be a good base as we travelled each day . We stayed there 5 nights in total. Rooms were very clean and a good size. Reception staff also very friendly. Breakfast was fine, but nothing too special. Ate one night in the hotel but was very poor. Restaurant staff were very unfriendly and in sharp contrast to those on reception. I would recommend if you are looking for not too expensive. clean and just need a base for a few days.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank tianjinren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

We Thank Everyone for visiting us and taking the time to place a review. We're sorry these folks didn't feel any "Wow" factor.

We always take it personally when one of our Guests is not impressed and we like to find out why. Unfortunately, these folks didn't leave us much to go on except they were not impressed with our Dining Room service. I will be following up on this with David, our F&B Manager, who is on medical leave for the last week. If we have any further comment I will post any updates.

For our readers, please note most of our reviews speak for themselves and therefore I have taken a more lax stance on responding, but I do want to Thank all the Guests who have made it possible for us to achieve a good ranking by taking the time to place a review.

Happy Traveling,

Uncle Eric
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just returned after staying 10 days at the Pacific and found it value for money The staff made you especially welcome and the meals were above average for a small boutique hotel in standard and price The rooms were clean well maintained. Although i dont like singling out staff Dao and Nuch on the front desk were great in our requests in booking of tours and shows and in the dining room Rat and Beer and Ead (Ead especially)always made sure you had what needed I will definetly book at this hotel again Although both couples are in our sixties the walk to Karon and back was no trouble the hill was not that bad

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in rooms 105 and 106 which suited us but next time I would go for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisbudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon Beach
0.1 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,196 reviews
10 km away
Navatara Phuket Resort
4.8 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#6 of 137 in Karon
818 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#11 of 137 in Karon
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Club Resort

Address: 16 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Karon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Karon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Karon Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Karon Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karon Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Karon Beach
Price Range: €36 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Club is a small one-of-a-kind boutique resort set in a relaxing jungle beach atmosphere surrounded by panoramic ocean and jungle mountain views only 10 minutes walk from Karon Beach or village. Our rooftop SkyPool, gym, spa, Herbal Steam Sauna w/ Hydrotherapy rated Jacuzzi, reasonably priced friendly services, and Fine 5 star Dining in our Dining Room and throughout the resort insure comfort for most all travelers. Free Wifi & Private Cable TV keep you connected. We've been rated between 4-5 stars by travel professionals; please decide for yourself. Welcome Home, and please make sure to check our website for best deals and most accurate information before you book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Club Hotel Karon
Pacific Hotel Karon
Pacific Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing