We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
77
77
28
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
77
28
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las palmas hotel restaurant nice suite gran canaria short drive outdoor pool quiet hotel wonderful week hotel guests two nights breakfast buffet week stay gym euros receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

You will need transport to stay here. A car is best but parking is a bit of a headache as there is no hotel parking; it's all out on the streets and finding a space is challenging but the walk back to the hotel was never far! However the bus service to all parts of the island is excellent and there are stops right outside the hotel.
Having said that the hotel is ideally situated to visit any part of the island.
The room that we had was on the 3rd floor having been upgraded because of a lack of balconied rooms on the 2nd floor. No balcony but a small suite; clean and well appointed facing the garden with glorious views of the mountains. As with most hotels a bit mean on power points and one of them didn't work at all.
Food was good but be aware that the set cheaper menu is only available on a few nights during the week; the rest of the time you are on the a la carte menu but it is not expensive. However there is an excellent bar/restuarant/pizza place immediately across the road where we found many of the guests eating which can offer a change of venue when needed. Prices are cheap and the local wine excellent.
My only real criticism was the pouring of the draught beer. There was no standard measure; the first could be in a small mug and the next in a much smaller wine glass! The amount of froth (head) was also very variable so I would say the price per Litre fluctuated violently!!!
Even though this is a training hotel one was not terribly aware of the fact which was good though meeting a reception desk with about 10-15 people all grinning at you and wanting to help could be a bit unnerving!

Room Tip: Best views at the front overlooking the garden but the top rooms are best as they get away from the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shrappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Escuela S, Marketing Relacional at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Shrappers, as you have already said, we only have a parking place, but it is easy to find a place in the surroundings. Because of the location of the hotel, we focus our services in people who want to visit any part of the island, among others. We apologize for the room change, and we hope it was in accordance with your expectations. About the meals at the restaurant, there is a la carte service on Monday midday, Thursday night, Friday, Saturday and Sunday and menu service on Monday night and Thursday midday. We also have to say sorry for the welcome at the reception. There should only be at most 3 people to provide you the warmest welcome. Thanks you a lot for you comment and we hope to see you again. Departamento de Marketing Relacional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

One of the oldest hotels on the island and still has character. It is a training hotel for receptionists, waiters and Chefs and this results in high standards in food and service. Breakfasts and dinners were really enjoyable and excellent value. Worth having half-board but it is easy to arrange this when you arrive. Best rooms facing the front and either having a balcony or terrace. Terraced rooms tend to be shaded a bit by the trees but in the summer this could be a good thing.
You need a car if staying here although you can get about by taxi and bus it would be limiting. Car parking is limited but most times we turned sharply right past the hotel and parked outside the church. (Do not park inside the church grounds though! A good idea to have a satnav with you as the construction of some of the modern roads have truncated some of the rural ones. When unloading go round the back of the hotel otherwise you will be hauling suitcases up about 60 steps.
The evening dinner cost 12 Euros ppn and included water, 3 courses, and either coffer of beer. We only paid for the wine extra, Great value and the menu changed every night with only the desserts having one different choice made by the trainee chefs. I had their offerings each night and enjoyed them. Good choice of wines ranging fro 14 Euros upwards.
There is an outside swimming pool but not the temps to use. A pity the management did not relocate the recliners from the pool to the larger outside terrace to enjoy the sun during the day. I did request thjis but got nowhere.
Santa Brigida is wetter and cooler than the southern resorts such as Masp[alomas and Playa do Mogin . Do not try walking into Santa Brigida as there are no proper footpaths. There is a local supermarket 2 mins walk from the hotel. The rooms are quite spacious with excellent shower and bath. If you like a cuppa take your own kettle. We enjoyed our stay and the travels all over the island

Stayed: January 2017
2  Thank HenryChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Escuela S, Marketing Relacional at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear guest, thank you for choosing us for your recent holidays and for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our services. We appreciate your positive opinions because it motivates our team and keeps us working hard. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Arrived very late after a delay, evening porter was lovely, very helpful very obliging. The hotel itself is known as a toy hotel, only 40 rooms. The breakfast was spot on, you could fill up on a cooked breakfast or have lighter bites more continental. Its a training hotel and the students and their tutors were brilliant, attention to detail was spot on. Its a little out of the way but a great place to explore, further up the mountain are other little towns to explore. Buses were easy to use and navigate your way around. I would definitely return here without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room it was lovely we had the afternoon sun, you could look down over the valley it was beautiful. Small terrace
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ridwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Escuela S, Marketing relacional at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear guest, we thank you very much for letting us take part of your impressions. It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Escuela de Santa Brígida. Your comment keeps our professional as well as our students motivated. It is also an encouragement to improve our skills. It would be delightful to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Room Tip: Very small bathtub
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Escuela S, Marketing relacional at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Originally booked to stay in Las Palmas then had a change of mind seeking somewhere quieter with nice surroundings. Hit the jackpot here, Hotel Escuela provided us with an excellent 10 day stay with great breakfasts and superb evening meals every day. It was a good base to explore the Island. The experience of a schooling hotel was great and the standard of service from all staff coach and trainee was excellent. All were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Odd numbers have a better view
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenS261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Escuela S, Marketing relacional at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Glen, we appreciate your appraisement. It inspires us to develop the quality of our hotel continually. We would be blessed to welcome you again in Santa Brígida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews