We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Nice Room”
Review of Hotel Zumalabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zumalabe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mutriku
Reviewed 6 August 2015

My husband and I got a room with a terrace overlooking the harbor, and were pleased with that choice. Contrary to other reviews, we found it to be a very clean property. The room and bathroom were large and comfortable, the WiFi worked well, the staff was friendly (the owners even let us use the washing machine and dryer), and we were allowed to wheel our bike directly into the room for safe keeping in the evening. The breakfast was very basic, but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2015

May I start with a positive point : this hotel is really well situated, above the small port of Mutriku. We had a 4 persons' apartment with a double bed and a couch for the children. The couch was not OK. The apartment offers a lot of space.
But when we arrived, it was really dirty : the floor, the kitchen, the bathroom ... dirty and smelling badly ! We complained about this with the (male) owner, who clearly didn't understand what hygiene means, as he started to awkwardly rub over the dirtiest stains of the microwave when we drew his attention to the poor hygienic situation. We did not accept this and the owner made his Bulgarian (female) housekeeper come to clean, which she did ... but still far below any hotel standards. The next day, the cleaning was better. Just an example to show how bad it was : we found in the kitchen cabinet a glass that still was full of ashes (one of the previous renters probably had been using it as an ashtray ...). Unacceptable ! Wifi did not work ... at all ! If well run and - especially - well cleaned, this hotel could become a nice place to stay for a few nights, but as long as the hygienic standards of the owner and his housekeeper do not change radically, it is a good idea to avoid going here. Oh yes, there are 2 airco units : one stinks like hell, the other one makes noise like hell. But at least you can choose between both ...

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taxidiotis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

I booked this for 2 nights as a break from sightseeing while in Spain. The hotel is lovely. Friendly owners, cute dog and well maintained establishment. The photos are exactly as the hotel is. We had a beautiful room with a patio and huge picture windows overlooking the harbor. It was stunning. Bathroom is spacious. The room itself is generous and quiet. We had twin beds in our room. The bus stop is 75m from the hotel (1st stop in the town) and walking up and down to the beach and cafes is pretty easy. The town is quiet and seems to have mostly Spanish holiday makers in it, but everyone is friendly. The beach is nice and is you are up for exercise many people do laps in the harbor. Safe beach and many areas for small kids to swim safely too.

The only downside is 5€ each extra for breakfast and the slow WIFI. Otherwise we were really happy with our stay here.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Di222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Nice little town close to the sea, great view. Not a lot of tourists, very few things to see or do but good for one stop on the road. Parking in front of the hotel,
Room well equiped and clean.
People are nice

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brouffia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We enjoyed the night we were in Mutriku, it´s the second time we stayed in this hotel and it´s charming. We loved big spacious rooms, comfortable bathroom facilities and a great balcony with marvellous views. The design is calm and very pleasant. Friendly staff and good atmosphere.
Anyway, the hotel is of quite better quality than it is presented by his stars, and they charge you more than in a 3-star hotel (110€ for a double room and breakfast for two). It´s not a disadvantage, but those who want to stay there should just know it.
The location is very good, but the hotel is on a hill, and the nearest parking is down in the port. It´s recommended to leave things in the hotel before parking the car, otherwise you ll have to carry them uphill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kulturnaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutriku
13.3 km away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
219 reviews
14.5 km away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
14 km away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#3 of 5 in Getaria
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Eco Hotel Mundaka
Eco Hotel Mundaka
#2 of 3 in Mundaka
130 reviews
14.4 km away
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
1.1 km away
Haitzalde
Haitzalde
#2 of 4 in Mutriku
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zumalabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zumalabe

Address: Bajada del puerto, 2, 20830 Mutriku, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Mutriku
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mutriku
Price Range: €87 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zumalabe 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel, friendly service, 6 bedrooms all with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zumalabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing