We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
134
231
63
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
231
63
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel bread car park comfortable bed needed somewhere portsmouth ferry first floor yogurt value for money continental breakfast would stay again other hotels ring road an industrial estate stop pillows caen
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself was standard for a two star, breakfast didn’t have a good variety of items however would this hotel have friendly staff the rating would have been much better!
The lady at reception didn’t smile once, behaved all the way through our check in as if she was making us a big big favour! Regretted loads my stay in here considering Balladin is just next door and much more pleasant for a small difference in price!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Liliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovic B, Directeur général at Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you for your commentReceive our apologies for these inconveniences we take note of.
Hoping to welcome you again to enjoy a pleasant stay as all our customers.
cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

An older type of accomadation , rooms bland and in my case smelling of sewage from the toilet due to poor ventilation. Popular with coach parties , on this occation 80 teenagers so the noise level at night can be high

Room Tip: open the windows to get some fresh air if you can
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovic B, Directeur général at Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hello,
The opinion of our customers is a source of constant improvement.
Hope to see you again soon.
cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

The height of opulence it is not, but then you shouldn't be expecting that from a <£40 hotel! We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were friendly, rooms clean, bed comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, and I have had much worse in more expensive hotels.
The amenities: There was an open wardrobe in the room, with plenty of space. There was a TV with plenty of channels. There are desks in the rooms too. Shower gel in bathroom. That's about it, but that's fine for a budget hotel.

A few things that wouldn't stop me from returning, but worth mentioning. The automated booking system would not accept a number of our card. We rang the 'emergency number' and there was luckily a very friendly lady who checked us in. I'm guessing this is always possible, but was a bit worrying in the middle of the night!
The pillows are tiny. Better pillows required I think.
The noise from adjoining rooms was fine, but the noise from the corridor was intrusive.
The breakfast included good orange juice and coffee, and bread and yoghurt, but that's it. No cold meats or cheeses, cereals etc. But then, us Brits do seem to have an obsession with breakfast that Europe isn't completely on board with yet!

Overall though, a good choice for a stay, offering good value for money.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank James19941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovic B, Directeur général at Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Customer,
Your return as a customer allows us every day to improve.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Having arrived on an afternoon ferry from Portsmouth we found the hotel easily. It is situated on an industrial estate close to the ring road so could be prone to early morning traffic noise but we didn't experience any from a room on the first floor at the back of the building. It is a perfectly functional place to stay and provides a decent buffet breakfast. The staff are friendly and the rooms comfortable enough, the place seems almost brand new. Good deals available but the standard room rate seems to vary quite a bit depending on the season.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoresway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovic B, Directeur général at Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Customer,
I thank you for making a return on your stay, hoping to see you again soon.
cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We booked the hotel for a late arrival on the ferry and a week later for an early morning departure. We couldn't get the cumbersome automated booking system on the first visit and had to book into another hotel nearby. There is a number to call if you get stuck but I read this as "call reception" which was shut. Apparently it is an emergency number. Anyhow we did book in the next week and got what I suppose you could expect for the money. Basic, basic, basic. Won't be returning any time soon

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovic B, Directeur général at Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we are sorry for the discomfort caused by this situation.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews