We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Absorb the history

Not too much to see, but simply standing in these ancient rooms absorbing the past and appreciating... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
Nigel P
,
Exeter, United Kingdom
A walk in the medieval city

We did in the late afternoon a walk in the medieval city of Nérac from the river towards the Castle... read more

Reviewed 26 November 2016
Václav V
via mobile
Read all 113 reviews
  
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
31
47
31
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
47
31
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street well worth a visit rooms wing museum history chateau
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Nerac's claim to fame is as birthplace of France's favourite king and here we have a wing of his original chateau. Looks great from the outside but frankly there's not much happening inside. Reminded me of the the type of museum curatorship we had in the sixties - worthy, dusty and best left to the historians...however the good news is you are just across the street from a nice restaurant serving drinks....aaah!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Lifeandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We did in the late afternoon a walk in the medieval city of Nérac from the river towards the Castle area. It used to be a rectangular fortress with four towers, but there french revolution caused a demolition and only one tower remained till today. The castle tour is relatively short but still interesting.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Václav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Great museum in the last remaining wing of the Chateau of King Henry IV. Beautiful and with lots of detail over medieval life. A good morning visit.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank EWB1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

This wasn't a large attraction, but it was well done with great staff. We did the tour while waiting for our table at the terrific restaurant across the street and were all pleased we'd gone.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank 292jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I utterly enjoyed wandering through the Chateau Musee Henri IV. I don't see a lot of 16th century buildings in Australia, so it was a novelty for me. It is fairly small, only 5 or 6 rooms, and fairly basic but very evocative. There is a lot of information there. And the square outside is a perfect spot for lunch, breakfast or dinner. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank TF936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews