We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Save
Review Highlights
Made things easy

We used this company to rent a canoe to travel down the river. They were very good, spoke english... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2018
lubelle4
,
ohio
Not cheap but a great day out

We booked the 4 hour (you do it in your own time, just an advisory time) trip from Carsac to... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2018
Matt P
,
London, England
Read all 77 reviews
  
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
50
19
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
19
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river la roque gageac leisurely pace slow pace start point great fun fantastic views beynac canoe company container towns euros route dordogne scenery base
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Our 10:30 pickup in Beynac was almost 40 minutes late and the seven of us waiting almost gave it up. Glad we had the patience because the experience was extraordinary. The trip from Vitrac took us about 4 hours, including a nice stop for a late lunch in Castelnaud. We saw views of the various chateaux and villages we'd already visited but the perspective from the river made them all look even better.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The explanations on paddling for novices was clear; the canoe easy to manage, the river was a dream to transverse. Even the tiny rapids were not a problem. The villages on the river banks a dream to visit. All in all an entirely fantastic day.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Laraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

A brilliant way to spend the day in Dordogne. The company was great in providing gear, helping us get in. Plus unlike the other companies it has a pull-out agreement with Beynac, so you can visit that stunning jewel of a castle when you are done. The scenery is fantastic with lots of places to pull out and swim, or lunch. Plus you can make stops at several bastilles (fortified towns) along the way. The river is mellow - moves enough so you don't have to paddle too much.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Bodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We tried this company as our second canoeing trip on the Dordogne, the first being two years ago. It is easy to get confused by all the different companies doing canoe trips in the area. We liked this one because they had a midday trip from Carsac to Beynac. You arrive and park in the shady carpark and then go and pay for your trip and get the equipment. There were four of us and because it is a long canoe 22km we hired two of the barrels to take our stuff in, including our picnic lunch and copious amounts of water as it was 34 degrees.
The booking and equipment was fine. The bus journey to Carsac was a little disorganised, we were told to wait and some one would call us. The family next to us were told to get on a bus that arrived, we were left waiting. I went and asked the female driver in one of the buses and she looked surprised and then realised a mistake had been made and our canoes etc should have been loaded on this bus. It was quickly sorted out but i did wonder what would have happened had we not gone and spoken to the driver. We also ended up being split up as a family. There is quite a presumption that you know what the form is. It is mostly students on summer jobs who staff the site with a couple of french staff who know what is going on. English is spoken should you need.
Anyhow, the rest of the day went off smoothly and was great fun. We came back here because it is such a great location for a family canoe. No difficulty involved, beautiful scenery, lots of great places to stop and eat a picnic.
On reflection we should have done Vitrac to Beynac as it was a bit too long, our teenagers were seriosuly flagging by the last hour or so and it was very hot sun. We ended up towing the cayaks they were in! Bus back not a problem. All in all a great day.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank laplandbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We stayed in Sarlat and drove to Vitrac to start our canoe adventure. The site was very easy to find. We checked in, got our canoe and were on our way.
The river is very calm and the we paddled leisurely enjoying the scenery. There were many opportunities to pull over and swim or stop in s town to site see, have s drink, etc.
Once we reached Beynac, we signed up for a time to catch the bus to back to Vitrac then went and explored Beynac.
We had a fantastic time and I would recommend an afternoon canoe trip to anyone visiting the Dordogne area.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank 22KimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews