We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,189 results
Traveller rating
1,356
1,151
407
145
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,356
1,151
407
145
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los gigantes sea view la gomera elton john pool bar the salt water pool show cooking evening entertainment plenty of choice relaxing holiday waiter service plenty of sunbeds gala dinner this lovely hotel public areas highland paddy a la carte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 3,189 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2020 via mobile

Had a great holiday here half term week with my 16 year old daughter. The food is great, rooms really clean and the staff can’t do enough for you. Unfortunately on our last day the Canary Islands were hit by a sand storm and the hotel was damaged particularly the pool area. The staff worked tirelessly to clear up and repair the damage. But more importantly the staff really went out of their way to look after its guests and provide a free buffet lunch for everyone as no one could leave the hotel. They could not have been more caring and hospitable and it was really appreciated.
The hotel is in a great position for all the restaurants, bars and shops and it’s a very easy walk to the marina.
Really lovely hotel and staff are a credit to it.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank TrollyDolly185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2020

This was our third visit to this lovely hotel in Los Gigantes.
We arrived on the Wednesday evening, in time for a relaxing drink at the pool bar, enjoying the last of the days sunshine.
On the Thursday we spent our time by the quiet pool, broken up by an enjoyable lunch Sat outside. The staff are very attentive and pleasant.
Friday was interrupted by police driving around telling everyone ,by loudspeakers, that everyone had to stay at home. This was an announcement from the government. Rather scary.
That evening we ate in the a la carte restaurant, a lovely experience, waiter service, no having to keep getting up, as in the normal buffet one. Relaxing.
Saturday morning's sunbathing was interrupted by a helicopter zooming down to the tiny beach, then up and around the hotel.
After that Sun beds were gradually taken away, and pools cordoned off.
Everyone had to stay in their rooms.
The police regularly came to the hotel.
We were very lucky to have a lovely room, with balcony and sea view.
We spent the remainder of our holiday Sat on the balcony.
The tables in the dining room were spaced out, but of course people did mingle, having to get their food.
We felt so sorry for all the staff, since once all the guests had gone, the hotel would close and they would be out of a job. But they carried on very professionally, smiling and being polite, it must of been difficult for them.
The rep said she was stopped by the police on her way to work, and had to show paperwork to prove who she was and where she was going.
The last day and we left in the taxi for the airport. The only traffic on the roads were buses and taxis taking tourists to the airport.
We had come on a Thomsons holiday but with an Easyjet flight.
When we got to the front of the check in desk, the operator said that we had to go to the Easyjet desk, because our ticket was the wrong number. We queried this, not seeing anyone else having to do this. We were only told to go, then come back to the front of the queue.
Having done as we were told, we were confronted by an exceptionally rude women, who told us that our seats were cancelled on the flight we were booked on, to return to Newcastle airport.
She then told us we could fly to Gatwick the next day, 26 hours later! When we tried to find out why, she just said " take it or leave it"
We were flabbergasted at the customer service, it was disgusting. We accepted the Gatwick flight, not knowing how we would get home.
Eventually we found a Thomson rep, and told our story. She was very helpful and managed to get us onto a flight to Birmingham that evening.
When we arrived in Birmingham, still feeling shell shocked by it all, and not understanding how we could of been turned off a plane where we had booked seats, we still had to work out how we'd get home.
Just outside the airport, there was a taxi rank. We didn't think anyone would drive us back to Newcastle airport at 11 pm, but we were lucky.
We arrived back at Newcastle airport at 3 am! We were delighted to be back to our car, even if it did cost us £330!!
So much for customer service. I would not advise anyone to travel with Easyjet, their service was horrendous!

Room tip: Definitely choose a sea view room
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tattykite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

We had a pleasant stay in a nice hotel. The buffet food was superb, the waiters were quite stressful and inattentive, but helpful when they first arrived. The spa was very relaxing and positively good. No complaints whatsoever. Well, a few, slightly dark room lighting, and the sewer smell in the elevators was unpleasant. This seems to be a persistent problem and it is not good. After all, I have read about guests' illnesses for several years. Hope you can solve the problem. The hotel garden is in perfect condition, so clean and beautiful. All honour to the gardeners. Finally, we hope to have an opportunity for a reunion.

Date of stay: March 2020
5  Thank 14julius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Difficult to be truly objective as our stay coincided with Covid 19. Have to say that I can't believe the hotel staff could have done anymore to look after us under very difficult circumstances. We also had a pretty good room with a double aspect which afforded views over the Harbour and also La Gomera. Food was good although we missed out on the Culinarium experience. I'm not a fan of buffets but they did a pretty good job. I did find the waiters a little humourless and very quick to clear but not the end of the world. The biggest issue for me was the decor. Not so much that it was white everywhere but that there was too much style over substance (chairs in bar a good example) and that work had been completed to a very poor standard with many short cuts taken in the renovation (e.g. lifts and bedroom cupboards).

Shame about on going work to swimming pool as well.

Would I go back - probably as never really got a chance to fully explore the area and need another chance to sample the cocktails at TJ's (just outside hotel).

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stil Los Gigantes, Other at Hotel Tui Blue Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2020

Dear RandRI,

First of all, we would like to thank you for selecting Hotel Los Gigantes for your vacation on Tenerife. Your feedback on TripAdvisor is highly important to us.

We are glad you overall had a good stay with us, despite of the complicated circumstances, which are difficult for all of us. Therefore, your kind words about our entire team are very precious and valued, and we will forward them to all our staff members.

We are sorry that you missed out on the Culinarium and apologize for the inconvenience. On the other hand, it is nice to read that you enjoyed the choice of our buffet, even if this is not your preferred style.

Regarding our decor, it is held in a minimalistic and contemporary way that might not suit everybody, but is appreciated by many others.

The work at the pool is given to the damages caused by the sandstorm with high winds that hit the hotel and the entire island a few weeks ago. We were not able to repare everything straight away, as the current situation made things a little complicated.

We hope you had a good journey back home and would love to welcome you again in better times.
Take care of yourself.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Hotel Los Gigantes? Never ever. There are two main reasons why we would never go back to this hotel: it's the unattractive interior design and the staff, especially at the reception, that don't know what good customer service is. The whole hotel looks more than a hospital or care home than a cosy accomodation where you want to spend the best days of the year - your holiday: bright light spots/cold light over the bar, not possible to sit around the bar because there are no seats unless three uncomfortable plastic chairs. The whole room is furnished in the same ugly and cold style: rows of chairs with a view to the little stage. The other choice is, to sit in the hall but this is not at all better. The food is good sometimes very good. But the dining room has the atmosphere of a works canteen, loud and noisy. The waiters are always in a rush, collecting plates in a hectic manner, not interested in the guests. Some other disappointing things: no bathrobes in the room, no bodylotion, no face towels, the hair dryer is old, is getting to hot and stopped working after a while. Old dirty carpet in the elevators. 10 Euro deposit for the beach towels (each), but they change it only every second day. When we were leaving nobody at the reception asked if we enjoyed the holiday, nobody said "have a safe trip back home", Nothing. Pay and piss off, guest. A sad experience. Next time back to Hotel Riu Palace in Adeje. You will pay a bit more but you have the perfect holiday.

Date of stay: March 2020
3  Thank Squirrel_366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stil Los Gigantes, Other at Hotel Tui Blue Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Dear Squirrel_366,

To start with, we would like to thank you for selecting Hotel Los Gigantes for your holiday on Tenerife, as well as for sharing your opinion with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

Reading your review, we are sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your stay in our resort. The decor of our public areas, the bars, the restaurant as well as the rooms are held in a modern and contemporary style, which might not be to anyone's liking.
All bathrooms are equipped with self drying mirror, hairdryer and the most important toiletries, which are topped up every day. It is true that there are no bathrobes in the rooms, but they are available for hire at the reception.

The deposit for the pool towels is exactly what is says, a deposit, which is fully refunded when you hand them back. And it is true that we ask our guests to change them only every other day, because due to our commitment to environmental protection this is one of the ways we try to reduce the impact of the daily laundry on our environment.

We can't understand your comments about our reception team, all of them are very dedicated to their work and always go the extra mile to make our guests comfortable and feeling well attended. We are sad that you did not bring this to our attention during your stay. Seeing that you are from Germany, we might have cleared eventual misunderstandings caused for example by the language barrier straight away.

Again, we regret that you did not have a positive holiday experience, and that our services and facilities did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews