We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply wonderful surprise tucked away in...”
other travellers have booked this property
The front with terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front with terrace
The pool more pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The front with terrace
The pool
more pool
En-suite bedroom with balcony
Bedroom 2 with terrace
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Piazza in Village - a good place for a coffee to watch world go by
Main bathroom
Shower 1
Shower 2
Lounge
Local countryside
Dining room
Local Ski resort at Passo Lanciano
Hammock - perfect for a lazy afternoon
Pool at dusk
Fruit found in garden
View
View of the 'mother Maiella'
Local countryside
New kitchen
More new kitchen
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Guardiagrele, Province of Chieti, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
BenandBex
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful surprise tucked away in authentic Abruzzo, restored for relaxation!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful villa, tastefully restored as a versatile holiday property for groups or extended families. A true home from home experience made it very easy to get straight on with enjoying yourself, with a starter selection of essentials to welcome you to Villa Paulo.

Great choice of accommodation with large bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms for big groups. Air conditioning units in every bedroom were essential for the unexpectedly hot weather in early June.

We really enjoyed the variety on offer in the unspoilt region, whether it was a day spent relaxing by the pool with kids having water fights in the safe and secure garden or visiting one of a choice of beaches all within easy commute. Or there is a wealth of exploring to do in the mountain villages and historic sites, with a handy guide book to help search them out.

Evenings could be spent outside with a BBQ, upstairs in the handsome dining room and retiring to the lounge to watch the huge collection of DVDs!

Paul the owner was really helpful with providing local recommendations for things to do and places to eat and Lilliana was on hand to look after us on location.

I would thoroughly recommend this property for a family group or groups of friends and wouldn't hesitate to go back if I have the opportunity.

Thanks Paul for sharing your second home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing location and a true 'home from home' feel only possible through dealing directly with the owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michellei...
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored Authentic Italian Farmhouse in heart of Abruzzo”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Paolo was a wonderful experience for us. The farmhouse has been redone beautifully and was extremely comfortable and spacious. We had everything we needed plus the pool was great for the kids. We were able to make some wonderful meals for just us as well as guests and family who came..but the best part was the views Just gorgeous. The house was well appointed and had all the comforts we were looking for. We stayed a month and accomodated relatives and friends who came for a week at a time...the house has plenty of space and all five bedrooms were comfortable for the various ages of our family and friends.
Eventhough the Guardiagrele area may seem very remote, there was plenty to do for all of us. My kids especially enjoyed the white water rafting and the adventure climbing at Piana de Mele. There were grottos and wolf sanctuaries on offer too, plus beekeepers..but with the beach on hand in August, we saved those for the next visit! We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the various “Sagras” . It seems each town has a special festival of something they are known for…we went to the Cinghiale (Wild Boar), Peperocino Piccante (Hot Pepper), Polenta, and Polpette (Meatball) Festivals, just to name a few!! We couldn’t have asked for a lovelier time. Thanks Paul..and Villa Paolo, for making it so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views! It was extremely relaxing and comfortable
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbogpjoel...
Assens, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything exceeded our high expectations”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Indeed we had at fantastic week in your house. Normally when you buy a product that you have only seen on pictures, you expect a little less than what you saw - but this is not the case with Villa Paola and San Martino. The beauty of the place can only be fully experienced with a 360 deg. view, and by the means of all 5 senses.

The house itself must be the incarnation of the ideal pastoral Italian idyll - beautifully restored with respect to the original spirit of the place and proper quality materials. Importantly the beds are equipped with good matrasses, and we all slept perfectly well during the whole week in the house.

We were spending one week in Villa Paola, 2 grand parents, 3 adults and 4 kids (11,8,6 and 3 y.o.)
For the kids the house has a perfect lay-out, with all possibilities of safely playing and having fun, within both the house and the fenced garden - and then of course the cozy swimming pool is a sure winner for the kids.

As for the local community in San Martino, the village is very picturesque with its town square in the shades of its old trees, it’s narrow alleys and old houses. The local inhabitants are extremely kind, helpful and engaged which makes you feel very welcome in this small community. Another thing that suited us very well, was that we only saw a few other tourists in the area around San Martino and Guardiagrele - it really provides the feeling of getting away, and experiencing the peacefulness.

We had been dreaming about how fantastic a setting Villa Paola could be for this summer holiday, and we had immense expectations. Such high expectations are rarely met, but in this case reality actually exceeded them.

If you are planning for a vacation to relax and recover we highly recommend this place, no matter if the vacation is planned to be about intensely experiencing, pure relaxation or a holiday with lots of time and space together with a band of kids.

When we arrived in San Martino we didn't manage to find the house, as it was getting dark. When driving by a random house a man was about to leave it, and we asked him if he knew the way. He didn't speak one word english (or german or french for that matter), but he gather the whole family, that got into their car and drove ahead of us to the house. This was incredibly kind, and as it turned out, the way that most people we met were treating us. Arrived in front of the house, nobody was there to hand over the key (We were approx. 1 hour late, so as such it could be expected). I told our helpful local guide, that we should be meeting with Lilliana at the house, he immediately nodded and said "Aah Lilliana", found his phone and called her. 5 minutes later she arrived and we were let into the house. Lilliana also was extremely kind and engaged the times she came to the house, it was really an experience to meet people that where so honestly interested and helpful towards a bunch of strangers from Denmark.

/ Jakob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place is great
Liked least: Hence nothing is to dislike...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabex333
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My best holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

“I would rate my vacation to Italy as the greatest holiday I have ever had (11/10). The house is huge with plenty of land to play on. There is a beautiful view, when I went there not only did I go skiing but I also went to the beach and a wolf sanctuary, where you can look at wolves.

If you just want to explore there are plenty of places to go from wonderful secluded spots to beautiful open areas.

And if you want to relax after a hard day there’s a huge television.
There is also a fireplace with plenty of logs to burn and matches, with
2 dogs that normally come every day and sometimes a cat.” Alex, London

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana01...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic Holiday in Italy, Abruzzo”
Reviewed 16 May 2011 for a stay in December 2010

“Me and my family had an unforgettable holiday at Villa di Paola. The biggest attraction for me was the seclusion and tranquility. We liked the rare combination of the proximity of the mountains and sea and managed to ski and swim on the same day, although in April the sea was still a bit fresh! The skiing was relaxing and not expensive, we paid 2 euros for a glass of Prosecco in Apres ski. We found the house spacious and yet still cosy, it had all we needed and I enjoyed picking fresh herbs from the garden! The local produce was extremely tasty and not expensive. The wine was not bad either! I was pleasantly shocked as to how good the local restaurants were, the highlight of our eating out was eating wild boar! And we are definitely coming back.” - Tatiana, England.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$196
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing