We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and good value”
Review of Restaurante Urbe

Restaurante Urbe
Ranked #14 of 18 Restaurants in Derio
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Arrived late at night and received prompt service. Orders a burger and fries, it was tasty and ingredients seemed fresh

price was reasonable. Absolutely no complaints

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank SeemsTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

It is a restaurant under a Ibis budget by the airport so don't look for a fancy restaurant. But if you are looking for a clean place to eat classic Spanish food at an average cost in the middle of a journey, you won't be desapointed. The staff is fast and the kitchen also and that's the most important when you are travelling.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisbtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This place is in the same building but separate from the Holiday Inn Exppress. It is unfortunately the only place to eat in close proximity to the hotel. It is worth the effort to get a cab or drive into town to avoid it. It keeps the same Spanish opening times as everywhere else so don't expect to eat before 8pm.
The staff are not the friendliest but considering there were only 2 looking after a pretty full place they were very harrassed looking.
The menu is uninspiring but varied and expensive for what comes out of the kitchen. The drinks are also expensive.
When our food arrived it was hot but only average in taste, with very chewy meat in, what was essentially a stir fry. That was the last we saw of the staff until we managed to catch one as they rushed by to ask for the bill. This, like the food, was plonked down as they passed by. Needless to say there was no tip. It was not really worth the hassle to try and complain about anything as it would probably not got you anywhere.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MartinandMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Place was packed on a Monday lunch. Didn’t expect much but it was really nice/good 3 course lunch for 12euro. Maybe that is typical for Basque Country (but NOT) for u.s. The only part that didn’t live up to the rest was the ‘home baked’ cheesecake- but having just come from La vina, I don’t think any cheese cake will every measure up:-)

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank dbfact2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

First, I really wonder the people who gave them 4-5 stars!? Have they ever eaten at McD or Burger King? That's how low I go. And if I have to compare McD and Urbe, I will have to give 5 stars to McD.

Urbe is a tourist trap - they operate based on the fact that desperate tourists, especially those arrive late evening staying at the Horrible Inn have no other options to get food and water that are walking distance. Urbe is the ONLY place.

Unfortunately, we were one of the victims. We ordered:
- Jamon Iberico => more like a slice of plastic seasoned with beef bouillon served with bread
- Spaghetti with meat ragu sauce => the taste was so appalling. Imagine, if your grandparents have no teeth, they could eat this. As soon as it hits your mouth, the pasta will disintegrate. I think a $1.50 instant noodle cup tastes 100X better than this $20 crappy pasta.
- Bacchalau (cod fish) => it's more like a stale frozen cod fish that was steamed before serving.

Each order was about 20 Euro. So we spent about 60 - 65 Euro (with a bottle of water). As soon as we had a bite, we were just appalled by the whole experience, getting scammed, paid and left.

We hope others who plan on visiting San Sebastian area via Bilbao airport would learn from our experience.
1. If you really have to stay at the Horrible Inn:
- Bring your own food, snack and drink (water). One can simply bring instant noodle cups, or frozen meals. We did see a microwave at the lobby of the hotel.
- Vending machine selling food and water is available at the lobby, but they will drain your money. 1 can of soda (or water) costs Euro 1.00 - 1.50.

2. Do not dine at Restaurant Urbe.
- Cheetos, Doritos, McD taste way ... way .. better than what they cook.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hendry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Urbe also viewed

Derio, Province of Vizcaya
Derio, Province of Vizcaya
 
Loiu, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Derio, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Restaurante Urbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing