We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
25
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread croissants cheese france rooms breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

When entering the rooms, it immediately becomes clear that a lot of time and effort was spent in this place. Rooms are very large, and spotless. The property is very close to a highway, and a quite busy road is next to it, but sound isolation is quite good. You do hear cars passing by, but it doesn't affect sleep quality.
Owners are friendly, although there is more a hotel feeling then a B&B.
We had dinner in the restaurant one night, and really liked it.
One (big) disadvantage though: breakfast is really, really below par. One croissant each and, I kid you not, about 15cm of bread for each person. In a country where every bakery sells a full baguette for less than one euro. Cutting the bread in half and serving it like that only makes it drier, it does not increase the quantity.
No cheese, ham, fruit,... no dairy, ... The second night we asked if we could have some cheese or ham. Got low quality ham, and (we suppose) pre-packaged cheddar. In France... With, when we checked out, the comment "the chef prepared a ham and cheese platter for you"... Come on.
We have done quite a few B&Bs and hotels in France, and this was by far the most disappointing breakfast we had. To charge 12 euros extra per person for this, is simply not acceptable. We had to stop by the local bakery after breakfast... (which sells excellent vienoiserie btw :-)
Also, there is no-one present (staff or owners) at breakfast. First morning someone briefly (10 seconds) passed by, second night we didn't see anyone. Strange...
To the owners: please fix this. You have an amazing property, excellent rooms, a real gem, but the experience is so much degraded with this type of breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fideba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Whilst the room was ok - it was expensive.
Breakfast - you felt was a hindrance to those who were serving it. The evening meal was ok - at best, service slack and food unremarkable but also expensive! One of those places you wished you hadn't bothered with....head south!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Analyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilles p, Propriétaire at Manoir'hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017
Google Translation

Sois disant venus en Mars .....Il vous a fallu attendre Juillet 2017 pour réfléchir a ce que vous alliez déposer comme commentaire ......

Bravo ou est la sincérité de votre commentaire !!!!!!

je pense que vous vous êtes trompés d établissement ou si c est vraiment chez nous pourquoi ne pas avoir demander a parler a la direction ....

Tripadvisor .........tellement plus facile de taper sur un clavier !!!
Au moins personne ne vous répond.
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Having stayed in Ouistreham area for a number of years prior to catching the morning ferry, we have despaired of ever finding somewhere to stay and eat which matches the quality elsewhere in France. Having stayed for the first time last week at the Manoir, we've found the perfect place! The whole experience was perfect, a beautifully renovated hotel, tastefully and thoughtfully designed with every comfort, fantastic food with a range of menus and prices, our dinner was a culinary delight. But most of all the very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel extremely welcome. I truly wish the new owners every success and they really deserve it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We have been overnighting taking 2 rooms in Manoir Hastings. They were both very charming and comfortable. Fully refurbished, the welcome is warm and new owners really helpful . This is most probably the best place to sleep in the area close to Caen .
RECOMMENDED .

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EricGdeMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

After a week in Bordeaux, [16 chateaux visited, 4 dinners and 4 lunches], 19 of us in a coach enjoyed our last pre-ferry dinner. Perfect private room, excellent food and very friendly service. And real value, all three courses. Thanks. See you again in 2018. Robin Weller. Hon Sec, Commanderie de Bordeaux à Bristol.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Robinmweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews