We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
10
5
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
5
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We chose this hotel because it was convenient for the first night of our journey from the UK down to Austria. Perfect for this purpose. We had a very friendly welcome from the English-speaking owner and the hotel was typically German clean and the room had everything one needed. Very nice meal outside in the garden on a lovely warm evening. Although very close to the Motorway, there was no intruding noise to speak of and, indeed, after the meal, we were able to wander for an hour and a half in the meadows and woods next to the hotel. All completed by an excellent breakfast to get us underway the next morning. We'll use this hotel again on our route South.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Had to stay in this hilly town for an official work. The experience was great. Delicious breakfast, not a wide variety but definitely not less too. The caretaker and employees are pleasant and have a genuine attitude which made my stay there great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromthetwilightzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel 4 days over Christmas. A family visit, 10 of us in total covering 3 generations. The hotel exceded all of our expectations with service, consideration,care and attention to detail. Rooms comfortable, smoke free and very quiet, despite our initial concerns. Free parking and WiFi. Bus stop with in 100mtrs. Food very good with catering for young children. Our host was most welcoming, helpful and made himself readily available. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Parking_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is without doubt a fabulous, friendly,family run hotel.Owners and all personnel are very - spontaneously - friendly. Brilliant value and very accommodating. Free parking with a lot of space. This is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in for many years and a credit to the owners.Breakfast is buffet but brilliant. Souper in the nice restaurant was very good and not expensive. We stayed for 3days while visiting Siegen, Dortmund and the forests in the region. The hotel is in a beautiful area and easy to find, The gardens are wonderful. We can only suggest if you stay in this area this is the only place to stay, Great value for money and highy recommended. Also this: verify your bill because I didn't (always confident about other people) and hadn't seen that I payed only for my apartment, not for the room of my parents in law.....I assure you: red cheeks when the owner comes behind you...Sorry again.

Room Tip: Watch out for the mistake we made: we booked an apartment assuming that we would have a kitchen, but this is apparently not the case in Germany.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Roland887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed at Walhotel overnght on our way across Germany to break the journey. We did not know the area and just wanted to have something to we eat sleep and move on. The room was very good with two beds ready for my boys and a cot for the baby. The room was spacious, clean and fresh even with the childrens beds. It had a terrace too. We ate in the hotel and enjoyed some very enjoyable food not sure what the names were. Half portions were prepared for our children. After a good nights sleep breakfast was excellent a good variety of buffet style food catering for all tastes.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ewtbml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews