We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal”
Review of Meson El Pilar

Meson El Pilar
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Colmenar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Just perfect for a special occasion, excellent food, real good service and very warm and friendly welcome. They try anything to please you and answer your needs.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helene_Gilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

We visited this restaurant a couple of times once we had found it (actually on the main road at the top and to the left of Pasaje Pilar)
There is always a chef's special amuse-bouche to enjoy as an extra course, and complimentary liqueurs afterwards, so don't over-order on the food. Service was good and the dishes all went down well.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Phju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We visited here as a group of 7 midweek. We were the only diners so the service was especially attentive. We had three courses, but could have managed with just 2 as we had an amazing "amuse-bouche" which was a starter in itself.

One really nice touch was that the waiter suggested we tried a different white wine as he only had one chilled bottle of the type we wanted and knew he couldn't get a second bottle to the correct temperature if we wanted it.

The pig cheeks were fabulous, the lamb chops a little on the thin side, but everything was very tasty. If you only go to one restaurant in Colmenar, I would recommend this one.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewfenner1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Good food but be aware the portions are generous. Particularly good in winter when many places are closed.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank JW109327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Last night Fri 24th I made a reservation at Meson El Pilar to confirm a previous opinion that the food presented at this restaurant is up there with the best in Axarquia. The menu del dia is just as well presented and of a very good quality but the a la carte menue has a fine selection of seasonally available dishes all cooked and presented in a commendable fashion. I urge others to visit and taste the fare, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Meson El Pilar. Nos vemos!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meson El Pilar also viewed

Colmenar, Province of Malaga
Colmenar, Province of Malaga
 
Colmenar, Province of Malaga
Colmenar, Province of Malaga
 
Colmenar, Province of Malaga
Riogordo, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Meson El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing