We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
130
45
23
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
45
23
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique furniture west cork the ground floor freshly squeezed orange juice breakfast and dinner great nights sleep country house old fashioned charm rack of lamb gougane barra tea coffee making facilities porridge friendly hotel open fire first floor stunning location very pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My family and I really enjoyed a two night stay at this lovely old Irish country hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is well positioned to explore West Cork during the day - and very relaxing to return to in the evening, especially the open fire in the bar area. We had a very nice room on the top floor with large windows overlooking the gardens and a nice bathroom with a bath/shower. The breakfast was excellent, especially the oven baked Irish ham, which was a nice touch. I had a great massage with a very entertaining and interesting therapist, which was a very unique experience. I also tried the outdoor sauna, which was very nice.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a very unique Irish experience. It is an old country house full of antique furniture, so there are no lifts and wifi is limited upstairs - but if you want to get away from it all, this is the place to stay. My only slight criticism is that the dinner menu is too expensive, which means that we didnt dine here - but having sampled a desert, the food is good. I would definitely return if holidaying in this stunning part of Ireland again. We drove to Baltimore, caught a boat to Cape Clear and treked around the island, which was a magnificent day out. We also caught a boat from Glengarrif out to Garnish Island, which is another stunning location to visit. Bantry and Skibereen are also a short drive. There is a lot to do and see in this beautiful part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UnaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

The two key points of this lovely place are the friendly staff and the nice food. Dinner was very tasty and good quality served by the most delightful staff, perhaps a tad expensive compared to other venues but good quality. Nice room - perhaps a little dated, - there is almost too much antique furniture everywhere but perhaps that adds to the charm. It is certainly a good place to "get off the grid" and whilst the lack of wifi and phone signal can be a nuisance, its not a bad thing sometimes! Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrightcutOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This hotel is a hidden Gem in Ballylickey just outside Bantry. Its food is top quality and plenty of variety. Our breakfast was excellent plenty of choice. The New Spa was delightful we tried out the Mud bath which was an experience, you felt amazing after the treatment. There is an outside sauna and hot pool which we didn't try as the weather was to warm, it would be delightful in the winter so looking to pay a visit later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms excellent
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LLELED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROSULL001, Owner at Seaview House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear LLELED,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay at Seaview House Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back and looking after you also in Our Seaweed Bath House and Treatment rooms. Best wishes from all the Team at Seaview House Hotel.

Ronan- Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

There are lots of positive things about this hotel, as others have noted. The grounds are nice, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is good, our bed was comfortable and there are lots of antiques dotted around.
However, luxurious it isn't. Our first floor room was actually pretty basic. The curtains were thin and let the light in, the tv was the sort of small wall-mounted affair that you expect to see in a cheap B&B, and the blanket on the bed had a hole in it. When we arrived one of the light bulbs wasn't working, and you only get things like tea making facilities in the room if you make a special request. There were not enough electric sockets (one was hidden behind the wardrobe) and we ended up crawling around on the floor to plug in chargers, hairdryer etc. We also had to boil the kettle on the floor. The website said that free wifi was available, and we assumed that this included the rooms. In fact the wifi only worked in a small area on the ground floor and it was also difficult to get a mobile signal. These are things that the hotel really needs to address.
We ate two of our evening meals in the dining room, and although the food was good, it felt slightly overpriced. The website gives a sample menu where the cost of a two-course evening meal is 30 euros, but actually it had been increased to 37 euros - a rise of almost 25%. We ate better for less cost at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ox0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROSULL001, Owner at Seaview House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Ox0nian,

Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the Hotel and its charm.
We are 1 year into our refurb programme, with 7 rooms, a new Seaweed Bathhouse with Treatment rooms and a new look Library and will continue to upgrade and improve.

With regards to you points raised we will look to address these, there are adequate plug points in all the rooms at an appropriate level, Tea and coffee facilities have always been on request and is outlined on our website due the nature of the antiquities in all the rooms.

Thank you for pointing out the restaurant pricing, If you could email us direct we where you saw the pricing for the restaurant you suggested as that pricing structure is not on our website. We have not raised our price point for the last 2 years and our set menu includes a coffee selection or traditional loose/herbal teas, it maybe a third party website which is inaccurate.
Our menu is priced based on the choice selection of quality cuts of meats and fresh prime fish/shellfish. (e.g. Crab, Monkfish, Turbot, Rack of Lamb, Local Duck & Steaks etc..) 2 course €37/ 3Course €43 including Tea or Coffee

Our Wifi works in the public areas, we hope to improve this once we are connected to the fibre optic cable network as you are in rural Ireland this maybe the case not just in our location. On behalf of the Team we wish you well and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland.

Kind Regards
Ronan O'Sullivan.
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Very charming manor house with wonderful staff, well apportioned rooms, and pretty grounds. You will be a bit off the grid re internet access in your room, but no problems on first floor near reception.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LikeItActive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROSULL001, Owner at Seaview House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

LikeItActive- Many thanks for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Seaview House Hotel & Bath House. On behalf of the Team at Seaview we wish you well and hopefully see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ronan O'Sullivan Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews