We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
199
132
39
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
132
39
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club activity pool mountain bikes large resort games room family resort main restaurant very nice stay friendly hotel relax pool reception staff tennis sports pools german croatia sporty
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Stated for 9 nights in the "luxury villas". The villas are an integral part of a very big and spacious resort, which, even during the peak of the season doesn't feel overcrowdied. The resort included the hotel, apartments and the villas. The guests in the villas can enjoy all the services and facilities of the hotel (pools, animations, etc). The beaches are stony, pebble as well as small strip of sandy beach. The sea on the beaches facing Novigrad was not the cleanest. I recommend to walk on the other side of the peninsula for a much cleaner water. Pitty the retaurants are all managed by the hotel, so the choices were quite uniform and the food accordingly overpriced. I also missed beach bars: there was only one, operated by a third party provider, but overpriced just like all the other restaurants.
The villas are not really villas: they are apartments in a few of rows of houses. They are spacious, clean, well equipped and well serviced, but quite old. The AC is located only in the living space, making cooling of the bedrooms difficult if not impossible.
To sum it up: for the price you pay for the "luxury villas" (accomodation only) and the funds you spend on food and drinks, you would get a decent stay in an 4-5star all inclusive resort in the eastern med. But then there are reasons why the people dont travell there... Both are okay holidays.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Granko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_Club_Tamaris, General Manager at Valamar Tamaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Granko,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Valamar Tamaris Resort and for choosing to spend your holidays with us.
We are happy to hear your comments , comments like your motive us to keep up the good work and we always welcome our guests’ feedback and use it to constantly improve our service.
We hope that we have earned your trust to stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Denis Terlević, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

family of 4, kids 8 & 5 and bigger kids 40ish. We had a lovely holiday, the resort is very large and we felt very safe as it takes up the end of a whole peninsular with gates and guards separating it from the rest of the area. we were fortunate to stay in one of the 'vip villas' which was amazing, 3 bedrooms, kitchen, dinning, living room and amazing outdoor space which was a private terrace, private pool and really private outlook down to the sea (through the trees). The resort offered loads, we only ate in the big buffet restaurant and it had loads of choice, it's not gordon Ramsey but the food was nice. There is loads of choices of things to do, 4 pools, good beaches (not sandy but good for lounging about, swimming in the sea, catching jelly fish, exploring along the rocks), we played mini-golf, boule, I went running a few times which was great. Kids did kids club stuff which they loved (we didn't want them going much but once they went they didn't want to spend any time with us!) and they took them to the little horse riding place which they enjoyed. also there was a little kids disco every night, doing the Hokey Cokey and stuff, they loved that....... a great resort. It's basically visited by German and Austrian families, which probably means some of the concepts are a bit aged, it also means you don't get drunk English people scuming the place up, which we enjoyed. Would be 5 star if it wasn't for this and although they tried very hard, some of the service isn't exactly 5 star, just a cultural thing. Also, although the entertainment finished at 11, it was pretty loud, I imagine if you were in the main hotel block you wouldn't be getting to sleep while it was going on..... the villas are a little way away and once we shut the doors we couldn't hear a thing, worth considering if you like to be in bed early. I booked direct with Valamar who are an impressive brand in Croatia and I was incredibly happy with the whole experience!

Room Tip: the villas were great.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_Club_Tamaris, General Manager at Valamar Tamaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Terry,
Thank you for your amazing review! It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback about your stay with us. It always gives us great pleasure to hear our guests are happy and taking home nice memories.
We strive to make our guests’ experiences memorable and we are delighted to learn we are succeeding at that.

It will be our pleasure to see you again at Valamar Tamaris Resort.

Warm regards,
Denis Terlević, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

The food was really good and delicious , the workers there are really nice with many languages Capabilities and there is a lot of beach activities and parties with a nice open bar outside there but I recommend it for families more than couples

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Somar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_Club_Tamaris, General Manager at Valamar Tamaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Somar,
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback about your stay with us. We do our best to exceed guest expectations and we look forward to the pleasure welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Denis Terlević, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This resort is huge and there is loads to do. The rooms however were very pokey and personally a very poor use of space. They tried to design them like apartments but the doors are too big and there is so much wasted space so you feel like the rooms are a series of tiny boxes in an apartment.

They have buffet which was packed everytime and did have lots of nice options but personally the fun of all that choice wears off when you realise that everyday you have to wait in long queues for a pancake or an egg.

Felt like a cruise on dry land. Not sure I'd return. We did enjoy it but didn't love it.

There was a kids club which was useful for young kids and the staff there were fantastic. The games room is a big fail however. It was never supervised and the games didn't have controllers that worked and no staff onhand to ask questions to or guide the kids.

The theatre area had a games area also but lacked airconditioning and a bar.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_Club_Tamaris, General Manager at Valamar Tamaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you staying at Valamar Tamaris Resort and for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay overall.
Also thank you for all your comments and Feedbacks, we always welcome our guests’ feedback and use it to constantly improve our service.
We hope that we have earned your trust to stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Denis Terlević, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We spent a couple of days with our 1,5 years old son at Tamaris. Highly recommend this hotel for families with small kids/babies. First of all there is a white sandy beach,right in front of the hotel! (No one mentioned earlier here in comments)
There is an inside playground (there is 2 different one,the other is outside the hotel,in a different building) called Maro Club. Here you get everything (I mean totaly everything!!)you need to have fun with your child, before or after mealtime or if the weather is too hot outside.
The playground in the hotel garden looks like brand new, super safe with small kids.
At the hotel restaurant they also have a kid’s corner, great idea!
Amazing food, great variety, fresh grilled fish&meat everyday also at lunch&dinner,of course.
Rooms are super clean with big balcony!
We didn’t bring a baby bathtub, the hotel gave us one immediately.
The stuff was super kind.
We will definately come back!
Thank you Valamar to made our first family vacation this wonderful!

Negative : mealtimes could be earlier! Lunch from 11.30 would be better with small kids & dinner from 17.30 or 18.00 !
Tired kids couldn’t behave themselves, so in a family hotel it is a mistake to take dinner at such a late time!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank 154dalmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_Club_Tamaris, General Manager at Valamar Tamaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear guest,
On behalf of all our team, I would like to thank you for staying at Valamar Tamaris Resort and for taking the time to write this lovely review.
We are happy to hear you had such a great time and to hear you enjoyed our Valamar Tamaris Resort so much. It always gives us great pleasure to hear our guests are happy and taking home nice memories.

It will be our pleasure to see you again at Valamar Tamaris Resort.

Warm regards, Denis Terlević, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews