We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and comforting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovey staff made our stay all the better; food also tasty with good choice and a wine list to match; rooms comfortable waking up to mist over the malverns - then a superlative breakfast to start the day - recommended

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageTeam, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Charles,
Thank you for staying with us at The Cottage in the Wood. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the food, the views and of course the breakfast! I have passed on your comments to the staff and chefs.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm wishes,
Julia and all the team here at The Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

From the moment you walked through the door of this hotel you were aware that you had arrived at something very special.
The way my wife was welcomed whilst I locked the car and followed her in,to the immediate attention to make us comfortable in the bar area was superb.
A very welcoming bar staff attended to us,made sure we had menus to peruse.
The quality of the lunch menu was superb and for a couple like ourselves who have travelled throughout the world at our expense and in business at other people’s expense this was a meal we will not forget.
Thank you and please thank your staff for a great lunch on New Years Eve in a location it will be hard to better.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the view flrom the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pmsbroadheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageTeam, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for your glowing review of you experience for New Year's Eve lunch. I have passed on your comments to the front of house team as well as the chefs. We love to welcome guests and make everyone feel at home so they can enjoy their experience with us and it is wonderful to have such positive feedback.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm wishes
Julia and all the team here at The Cottage in the Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Booked this hotel for a short stay in Malvern to visit the Morgan Motor Car Factory, ideally situated for this and the many other attractions that the area had to offer. Some earlier reviews has said the rooms were dated and poorly decorated but this was not our experience, we had a very comfortable stay and were met with friendliness and welcome by the staff. The restaurant offered a limited menu but the meals were exceptional. Although there was no dedicated Electric Vehicle charging point at the hotel the Manager made arrangements for me to access an outlet where I could charge my car. They could have said no sorry and left it that but went out of their way to find a solution to my request. Happily stay there again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank subarusam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageTeam, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage in the Wood. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm wishes,
Julia and all The Cottage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Booked the 2night New Year package, our second time of visiting. Accommodation in the Coach House good, food without fault for all meals we had, staff very helpful and friendly. However the entertainment on the New Year Gala meal was very poor. Scruffy resident band, played for about half hour then went for a break! There was no background music or disco replacement, just silence which dampened the evening. Heard several guests complaining, not what we would have expected for the price paid and the event. Would dine here anytime but would not return for New Year.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageTeam, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage for your New Year celebration. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your rooms, the food and service. I am sorry to hear your comments about the entertainment. We were equally disappointed with the band. The resident band had always been a hit with guests but unfortunately this year due to a change is some key members of the band standards have slipped. We are currently assessing bands so I can assure you that the New Year's Eve to bring in 2019 will be a fantastic event. Some of the bands that have shown interest in playing are brilliant! Obviously this is of little comfort to you and we would have much preferred you to have enjoyed the entertainment you received but I hope this helps to show that we take feedback very seriously and use feedback to improve the quality and service we provide.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warm wishes,
Julia and all The Cottage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

My wife and I, along with my brother and sister in-law stayed here between Xmas and the New Year and thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel is in a splendid position nestled in the side of the hill and the views are absolutely stunning! The staff were all very friendly and the food in the restaurant, both at breakfast and dinner, was superb. We also liked the extra personal touches that you don't get at the big chain hotels, like little bottles of fresh milk on each floor for tea and coffee making! We will definitely be coming back at our first opportunity!!

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room in the Coach House for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottageTeam, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi David,
Thank you for visiting The Cottage and taking the time to write this glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your compliments about the service and the food you enjoyed to the teams. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm wishes,
Julia and all the team at The Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
3.7 km away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
1.5 km away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#3 of 10 in Malvern
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
49 reviews
2.4 km away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
485 reviews
10.2 km away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Malvern Wells Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range: €99 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing