We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
207
188
116
48
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
188
116
48
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great carvery junior suite balcony overlooking buffet breakfast peas sunday carvery fire alarm lovely hotel pudding night porter room was large stayed here for one night enjoyable stay biscuits weekend break lovely room full english
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Me and 3 of my work mates visited the wherry for a Sunday carvery and we were not disappointed. The food and service was excellent. Easily the best carvery I have tasted down south . As I come from up North. I would and can recommend the wherry for a great place to eat.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank neilneil64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Me and amanda went on a boat trip on the broads . Glad we did as the views and area are breath taking. So we decided to have a few drinks and lunch at the werry hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and the carvery was very nice indeed one of the best we have had. We enjoyed our day so much and now is one of our favourite places we have visited and will definitely be back to the area at some point to try your hotel if it's as good as the carvery it will be fantastic look forward to some time soon Amanda Brian

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brianjames62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend at a family wedding and I have to say even though it might not be 5 star we really enjoyed our stay The food is very good staff helpful perfect location excellent value for money and they put on a great day for the wedding

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

My wife and I spent two very enjoyable nights at the Wherry Hotel at the end of August 2018. The staff here are excellent. From the booking in staff, through to waitresses, bar staff and breakfast room staff everyone was so friendly and helpful. Just the lady on reception when we checked out needs to take a few tips from the others! We booked very late and the only room available was 106 which was fully explained to us that it overlooked the kitchen and would be quite noisy. We booked it anyway. The room was large with a decent size bathroom. It was very clean. Sure enough there was quite a lot of noise from the kitchen and some smells too. We couldn't have the window open and the view was terrible. It would be a problem on a hot summer's day but it didn't spoil it for us. However, we would suggest you do not book this room and if we returned we would book earlier and try for a room overlooking Oulton Broad. The view is lovely and the restaurant looks out onto it. The dining areas are typical of a pub but we liked it and booked a table in advance for both nights. We had the carvery one night and a steak meal the other night. Both were excellent. The breakfast selection was very good too. There is ample parking here and it is a great position for the surrounding places to visit. We would certainly return. Would probably have given it 5 stars if we had been lucky not to have room 106 but that wasn't the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Oulton Broad
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan-Hornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We stayed for just one night at the Wherry and found it to be very good. We arrived early but found our room to be ready so we got an early check in. They had very kindly upgraded us to a Suite for the night due to it being our wedding anniversary.
The room was very large with a Queen bed and good sized bathroom with bath and shower over the bath.loads of cupboards and drawers.
The room overlooked the lock into Oulton Broad but also quite close to the draw bridge too, so we did have some traffic noise .
We ate at the hotel for dinner but opted out of the Carvery which appeared to be very good. Our chosen food was excellent and the service that we received was exemplory. The Hotel gets very busy in the restaurant , was specially during the lunch and dinner periods. We had lunch in the Bar area and enjoyed some excellent Baguettes but managed to get a table in the Conservatory overlooking Oulton Broad for Dinner.
Our room rate included breakfast and this again was very good, with a wide range of choices.
Just a couple of small gripes though but nothing serious. The shower head requires tighten up as it doesnt stay in the desired position. Secondly the net curtains in the room appeared to be a bit faded and were just a liitle smelly but a wash would resolve this.
Overall a very pleasant stay in what we would call a tradional older style Hotel with a comfortable room, excellent food and great service. We would recommend the Hotel and if you can get one of the more expensive rooms overlooking Oulton Broad, and with a balcony it would certainly enhance the stay.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank jaykay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews