We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and so peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Carie Cottage

The cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
The approach to the cottage The cottage seen through the woods
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The cottage
The approach to the cottage
The cottage seen through the woods
The master bedroom
The master bedroom, with wood burning stove
The garden room
The garden room stove, leading to the kitchen
The kitchen/dining room
The garden room & patio
The approach to the cottage
Our pier on the loch
The loch on a beautiful calm day
Sunset on teh loch (winter
The track over to Glen Lyon
View of Loch Rannoch from one of the walks
Sunset on the loch (summer)
The view of Loch Rannoch from the top of nearby Shiehallion (munro)
'The Queen's View', Loch Tummel with Shiehallion in background
The view of Loch Tummel from the top of nearby Shiehallion (munro)
Where we are
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angiew329
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and so peaceful”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

what can we say, such a beautiful cottage, very homely in an area of outstanding beauty, so peaceful next to the black woods of Rannoch, the cottage had everything you need a real home from home, my grand children and our wee westie mac, loved it so much they didn't want to leave, the carie walks are beautiful I would recommend all three, thanks for the lovely bottle of wine and shortbread Hans and Dawn, and the privilege of staying in your gorgeous cottage. The Wells Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the cottage and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkTrout
York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Before arriving we had high expectations of this cottage as it was so well presented on the website and well reviewed here. We are very familiar with the area but had not travelled here for some time.

Having spent several days at the cottage we can only say it hugely exceeds expectations. It really is like staying at your best friends house. The cottage itself is beautifully presented, very tastefully modernised and a good size for a family.

It is the extras, not only are dogs welcome, there is somewhere for them to sleep, towels to dry them down after their morning swim in the loch!

It is details, an iPod dock/player. It comes with a preloaded iPod! Awesome.

There are bikes for use, even free Netflix and wifi in the main room.

Our only reservation about giving it such a good review is that we will have to book early for next time. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb home from home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boydy11
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hans and Dawn have shared a wee gem, truly magnificent.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had the most enjoyable fortnight at the cottage. The location is fantastic if you just want to get away from it all. We have three young children all under eight and the freedom to roam around and find themselves was great.
From building a den that Bear Grylls would be proud of, to cooking open fire in the garden. The back gate out on to the Forestry commission paths are a great advantage too. As previously noted by others you can walk or bike as far and as wide as you like. Wildlife is there, and lots of it... however I am sure they will be welcoming of a little peace since my three and the dog have left! The cottage has as all you would need and more..! From the everlasting I pod and wifi to the log burning stoves, which we had to use once, even though it was the best summer in years! You can tell that the family still use the cottage because it feels like a home and not your average holiday let. So comfy and we spent most of the time outside...So looking forward to coming back here in the cold winter months. Fingers crossed...!!

Thank you Dawn and Hans....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the rope swing!
Liked least: Having to come home...honestly...it was a drag!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Hard Not To Relax”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing cottage, everything you need for a relaxing break.
Log burner, underfloor heating, 2 bathrooms/toilets, sleeps 6.
A 5 star property, clean and spacious with an abundance of board games maps and other info about the area.
You are aprox 4 miles from the nearest shop, ideal for your basic amenities or aprox 20 miles to nearest town Aberfeldy or PitLochery is a little further.
Whilst there we were lucky enough to see red deer, red squirrels woodpecker and loads of other wildlife.
You are practically in the middle of nowhere, very very dark at night, good for great sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 Star accomodation that had everything needed, board games, cards, plaster etc etc
Liked least: Leaving the property to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing