We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a late Valentine's break at this hotel and we had a great time. We arrived early and our room was not ready but the receptionist took our number and called us as soon as our room was ready for us. We had a room with a view over looking the estuary and castle, which was beautiful. Our room was large and clean (we had an executive room). We had a massage in the spa and used the facilities which were good, but the sauna etc were quite small. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, the restaurant environment was gorgeous as was the food. The staff are great, very friendly. We were especially grateful to the woman working in the restaurant on the morning we left as my boyfriend was feeling too ill to make it down to breakfast so she helped me to prepare a tray of food and then carried to back to the room for us. She was lovely and could not have done more to help.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerChelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Many thanks for your generous comments and delighted to know how much you enjoyed your Valentine's Break. Great to know how appreciative you were of our stunning location, spa, room and restaurant. I have passed on your thanks to my Breakfast Supervisor who was more than happy to assist.

We look forward to welcoming you both back on a future occasion.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    551
    217
    92
    55
See reviews for
315
1,292
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

What a lovely hotel to celebrate my birthday. From the moment we arrived to our departure the following day, we were looked after very well by courteous and caring staff.
We were given a lovely room with a superb aspect; looking towards Conwy castle, mountains and the estuary. It was a pity the weather was not a little better, otherwise we could have experienced one of the famous sunsets we see on the local postcards. However, the comfort and ambience made up for this. We were very pleased with our evening meal and wer looked after very well by attentive bar and dining room staff. Our breakfast was excellent, very filling with a large choice for all tastes ( as I observed The Welsh U 16 soccer team " tucking in " ).
I made use of the gym and swimming pool , adequate for a short stay, but could get crowded when the hotel is busy.
Nothing but praise for staff and comfort of the hotel. I would recommend a stay, especially in a room with a view of the castle and river.

Room Tip: Ask for a river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryncregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your Valentine Birthday celebration at the Quay Hotel and my team looked after you from the moment you arrived until departure. Good to know our Restaurant offered an excellent evening meal and breakfast for you.

Apoloiges that the weather did not score as many points - do visit us later in the Spring and really see for yourselves one of our spectacular sunsets! Many thanks for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards


Simon Ogden
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Lovely setting, although would have been even better to have had one of the rooms with a view over the estuary. Didn't get a chance to use the spa, due to my late arrival, but did make it in time for an evening meal. An enjoyable meal with manageable portions and very helpful and entertaining characters on duty in the restaurant to make it a memorable experience. Breakfast was pretty good too. Only issue was with directions to the hotel. When I rang, I was advised that it was "right next" to the railway station so I didn't bother to print out a map. It isn't. There are no signs at the tiny station, or taxis, and I was lucky to find a passer-by who thought I needed to head right and right again. It was a long walk in the rain with a suitcase!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the full experience and book a room overlooking the estuary and the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for kind comments on your recent stay at the Quay. I was delighted to read of your enjoyment of your dining experience in our Restaurant and our stunning location - do request an Estuary view room on your next visit to fully appreciate our breath taking setting.

Sorry to note that your walk from the station was not good, due to the weather at that time, On a nice day, this 10 minute walk can be very pleasant.

Look forward to welcoming you back - perhaps a leisure break on your next visit, giving you time to relax and enjoy our Spa facilities as well.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel in mid January 2012 for our anniversary and loved it so much we decided to take our kids to stay. Whilst we were disappointed with our room this time (suite on ground floor in comparison to executive room on second floor) it was clean and comfortable, however it is the staff that make this hotel memorable - very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, although on this visit not enough of them on duty at breakfast. We recommend the restaurant for dinner as the food is excellent and make sure you book a room with a view, not the ground floor as wall obscures some of the fantastic view.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms on estuary side as views are spectacular. Only book a suite if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, delighted to know you brought the family back for another visit to the Quay. Glad to know my team were just as friendly and welcoming as your first stay with us and your recommendation of my restaurant staff is very much appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you again on your third visit.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a great two night stay in a lovely room with patio doors opening up onto the marina and a fabulous view of Conwy castle.
Throughout our stay the staff were, without exception, outstanding: friendly, courteous and helpful in every department. This started at check where our room was ready on arrival. The service we received was excellent - couldn't have been better!
We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant where again the service couldn't be faulted . The menu provided good variety and the food was of a high quality.
The room we had was well equipped and furnished to a high standard; both comfortable and immaculately clean. My only small issue was the quality of the pillows - I do like a choice! The toiletries were lovely and the complementary bottled water most welcome.
Overall we had an excellent stay and will certainly stay in the hotel again if we are visiting the area in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the marina and balconies or patio doors are worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your kind observations following your recent visit to the Quay hotel. Delighted to hear of your appreciation of the views, my oustandingly friendly team and excellent service offered.

Your generous comments in respect of your room are very welcome, only sorry we were not able to offer the choice of pillows wished for, however, do please request on your next stay and I am sure my Housekeeper will be only too pleased to source your needs.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to the Quay and North Wales.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
1.8 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
33.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.1 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
21.8 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
39.9 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: The Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel And Spa
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing