We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th lunch”
Review of The Tilbury

The Tilbury
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tilbury is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Datchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Tilbury is owned & run by brothers Tom & James Bainbridge. The beautiful building sits in the heart of Datchworth, a picturesque village in the Hertfordshire countryside. With several areas to dine in The Tilbury can offer private dining for various occasions, with a cosy snug with fireplace for colder months & a beautiful terrace & garden for the summer. The brothers aim to deliver British cuisine, focusing on classic dishes with a modern twist. With new creations weekly the menu can offer light lunches as well as a full A La Carte Menu & those relaxed Sunday lunches with the family. You can also expect an impressive & exciting wine list & premium spirits to get your evening started. You'll find something for all tastes on the menu and little ones aren't forgotten as a child's menu is available along with smaller portions of the 'big menu' available too.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped over for Sunday lunch. The welcome was friendly, the service very good and although the menu was limited, the food was excellent.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, Restaurant Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Gary for your nice words. Our Sunday lunch menu offer is kept short & sweet, but you should try us again during the week where we offer our A la carte menu with a few more options to choose from. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Ashima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

It is not cheap but the food is beautiful, the service is attentive and lovely, the decor is great. It is just a great pub with great food. We went for the tasting menu but the portions were not small at all. The tasting menu needs to be ordered in advance. However, it meant that food was fresh, greatly presented and gorgeous.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank KatsK0rner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, Restaurant Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're thrilled to hear that you all enjoyed our tasting menu. We're constantly evolving our tasting menu each month with new seasonal flavour combinations, so be sure to come back for another in the new year!

Kind regards,

Ashima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to when we left, aka 3 hours later, the service was exceptional. Olives/bread board nibbles, prawn cocktail, roast beef, pumpkin pie ..... simply delicious!! What a gem in the beautiful village of Datchworth in Hertfordshire. Will certainly be back for more.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Garyfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, Restaurant Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks Gary! Lovely to hear you enjoyed your experience with us on Sunday. It was the first day of the Pumpkin pie, so thrilled to hear it was a hit! A few more Autumnal dishes have since come on the menu so you must come back to try them!

Kind regards,

Ashima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

I checked their website before visiting and was not disappointed by what I found. The menu for a Sunday lunchtime offered something for everyone but not too much choice which is a sign that the food will be fresh and properly cooked. We were looked after very well by the young staff, they got the balance just right in terms of service, friendliness and being helpful without being intrusive. The starters, main course and desert were all very good. The only blot on their copybook is the cheese option on the desert menu. Charging a £2 supplement for a serving of 3 thumbnail sized portions of unusual cheese is a bit of a liberty, avoid that mistake and you are sure to enjoy a good meal at a fair price in a nice environment with excellent service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dominicmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, Restaurant Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Dominic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We're pleased to hear that we had dishes suiting to the tastes of your party members and that you were well looked after by our team. Indeed everything on our menu is fresh and always seasonal.

With regards to our cheese offering, they are from a local premium supplier, whereby we feel the price is accurate and reflects
quality over quantity.

We hope that you'll be back to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ashima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

I’ve been here again and again and I’ve never been disappointed. Exclent service, delicious and interesting food, served by people who are clearly engaged and passionate about what they do, all set in a cosy space. Bloody lovely!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank FrequentFlier544867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, Restaurant Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words, it's very much appreciated!.

It's lovely to hear that what we do is appreciated and that we manage to keep guests like yourself coming back to us!

We'll see you again soon no doubt.

Kind regards,

Ashima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tilbury also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Tilbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing