We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as our 1st visit! Always excellent food & service!”
Review of The Tilbury

The Tilbury
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tilbury is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Datchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Tilbury is owned & run by brothers Tom & James Bainbridge. The beautiful building sits in the heart of Datchworth, a picturesque village in the Hertfordshire countryside. With several areas to dine in The Tilbury can offer private dining for various occasions, with a cosy snug with fireplace for colder months & a beautiful terrace & garden for the summer. The brothers aim to deliver British cuisine, focusing on classic dishes with a modern twist. With new creations weekly the menu can offer light lunches as well as a full A La Carte Menu & those relaxed Sunday lunches with the family. You can also expect an impressive & exciting wine list & premium spirits to get your evening started. You'll find something for all tastes on the menu and little ones aren't forgotten as a child's menu is available along with smaller portions of the 'big menu' available too.
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Since our first visit, 2 & a half years ago, this place has certainly become our favourite local go-to gastropub. The service is always very friendly and welcoming and the place has a great cosy & homely atmosphere. Over the years we have taken parents, friends and family here and also hosted my Dad's 70th birthday. The menu is constantly evolving and changing to include seasonal produce which means you could eat here every month and try a new dish each time, even though they only have about 7 a la carte options. They also always have their pub staples like a burger, fish & chips, steak and halloumi & chips for those that don't find something on the a la carte menu. The roasts on Sundays are also brilliant - great sized portions. We always find the food to be cooked really well, presented immaculately and seasoned to perfection. Particular favourites at the moment are the rabbit & carrot cake starter, the soft shell crab burger & the onion veggie main. The wine list is extensive & has some really great wines - plus if you're ever unsure then the staff are also really good with pairing recommendations to whatever food you have chosen. The price is definitely more than your average pub but the quality is absolutely worth every penny. We can't give enough praise to this place, and are constantly recommending them to people. Keep up the great work!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sus86london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, General Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you so much for such a great review! It's a delight to hear that we've impressed you over the years to be hailed as your favourite local - we strive to constantly improve our service & food to ensure you have every excuse to come back & visit us. We look forward to you popping in again soon.

Kind regards,

Iain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017

We had a lovely meal this week, we chose the set menu and had the Pork sharing platter, this was lovely, then the Hake with pea puree and mash absolutely loved it and want the recipe for the puree! Dessert was pana cotta with flapjack ice cream, very tasty and all for £20. Great deal, lovely restaurant, nice atmosphere and well worth a visit!!!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dawna368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, General Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review! Our new weekly set menu is available for lunch & dinner every day (excluding Friday/Saturday evenings & Sunday lunch). It offers great value for money, and is constantly changing due to the seasonal produce we receive from our local suppliers - it's a great excuse to come & visit us again!

Kind regards,

Iain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Visited with friends on a warm sunny weekend. Pub however was cold - far too cold to take our coats off. Service was poor right from the start. No one to acknowledge our arrival and it took an absolute age to take our order. The starters arrived way ahead of our drinks. Appetiser of bread and vinegar/oil was horrible. Stale bread and cheap/tasteless oil (vinegar was lurking somewhere at the bottom but couldn't be tasted). Burgers were good but huge - this is the UK not USA! Took most of it home for the dog. Thankfully our waitress vanished and we then had much better service from a guy. Choc icecream was delicious but I wouldn't return - there is better service and food very nearby. Shame.....

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Jules0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, General Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

I am very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your most recent visit to the Tilbury - All feedback is well received, & it would be greatly appreciated if you could contact me on 01438 815550 or info@thetilbury.co.uk to discuss your experience, and I can ensure you are well looked after on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Iain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Couldn't ask for more for a special sunday lunch. The roasts are the perfect size and the pork belly was beautiful. The veg are not over cooked and were full of flavour. Very cool decor , family friendly and the staff were very nice and helpful. Not over priced for the standard of food which is very , very good. Desserts are a pretty but a little small .

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, General Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us! Our roast dinners are a firm favourite with our guests! The stuffed & rolled pork fillet is a great cure for that those craving a big roast on a lazy Sunday or even for those that need help recovering from the previous night! We hope you visit us again to try our a la carte!

kind regards,

Iain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Returned with friends and food as good as on previous occasions. However, on this occasion service was below par. Warm welcome but thereafter slow service, had to ask for sauce to go with fish and chips et al.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robinhbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BainandBridges, General Manager at The Tilbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

I am very disappointed to hear our service did not match up to the food we produced - we strive to offer the very best service & food around, however it seems on this occasion we have missed the mark. Please contact me on info@thetilbury.co.uk to discuss your experience & I can upon your next visit you are well looked after.

Kind regards,

Iain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tilbury also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Tilbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing