We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Golf & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colchester Feering(Feering)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$98
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel(Braintree)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Braintree)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
80
114
83
43
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
114
83
43
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtscontinental breakfastleisure centrepulse barpool facilitiessauna and steam roomgolf breakground floorchristmas partythree course mealcar parkpleasant staytwo night staystayed here for one nightgreat golf coursefollowing morningcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed last night. Let’s start on a positive- the staff were all exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Our bedroom was tired though. It had old furniture and a tiny shower room (which was surprising as the room was very big).

Our room was near the entrance to the room block and we were repeatedly disturbed until the early hours (around 3am) by people coming and going (and possibly smokers outside?) being noisy. It isn’t the hotels fault that people were inconsiderate but the room didn’t feel even remotely sound proofed/sound dampened.

The pool area could do with an update too. It is a big pool for a hotel and very practical for swimming but a little utilitarian. If I went to swim as a golf member I wouldn’t mind but if I’d booked expecting for a ‘spa’ I would have been disappointed.

To end on a positive note the scampi and chips in the bar was very good!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank ieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate any feedback to help improve our guest's experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We were here for a big party and stayed over night.
The 3 course meal + cheese course was good. The choice of wine was also good.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and the breakfast on Sunday morning was good
The service- food- value boxes below still not working so here is my opinion
Service good Food good Value acceptable

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank AidGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

From the onset you know it’s not going to be great but you get what you pay for.

The entrance is more like going to a leisure Centre as opposed to a hotel. The staff are pleasant and welcoming and you do have access to the gym and swimming pool.

The rooms are another thing... very tired very basic and in need of a makeover.

The room service menu is limited and of poor quality and the same applies to the breakfast.

Would I stay here again possibly... but there are better alternatives...

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Durano69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Many thanks for your review.

Apologies that the entrance was not quite what you had in mind but we appreciate your feedback that our staff welcomed you well, We hope you had a chance to use the wonderful facilities complimentary with your room.

We do take our feedback seriously and are in the process of refreshing our rooms.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night while attending a function here. The club is great as a member as it has a good gym, lovely pool and great classes. We did not use these facilities during our visit. The check in was fast and the welcome was warm and friendly. The room is basic and a little tired. It had a connecting door through which we could hear conversations and noise from the other room’s occupants. The room was mainly clean although a half empty shower gel was found in the bath. There are tea making facilities in the room and you can buy breakfast as an extra although we felt it was pricey for what it was, a lukewarm self service English. We would stay again however as it’s so convenient.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for your review.

We do receive all feedback gratefully, and use it to try and improve where possible, I do apologise for the half empty shower gel, I assure you this is not a recurring issue unfortunately was just missed on this day but again please accept our apologies.

We do hope to see you again soon, and hopefully you will be able to enjoy our wonderful facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

The venue is beautiful, really lovely surroundings and ample parking.
A whole group of us attended the 80's evening. The food was impressive, cooked well and really great flavours. The waiter staff were friendly and attentive and continuously topped up our water jug etc. There was tea, coffee and mince pies served afterwards, too.
The band, Total 80's were incredible! The music was so good, sounding just like the hits I remember from my teens. The DJ was also fantastic. We danced all evening.
I will now make a point on keeping an eye on the forthcoming events here and will return.
Well done to the events team.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank nadia17051070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Many Thanks for your review, as it's a pleasure to read.

Our staff work really hard to make sure all guests have a wonderful time so we really appreciate you taking the time to review us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews