We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
84
118
88
45
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
118
88
45
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts play golf pulse bar leisure facilities golf break gym and swimming pool steam room round of golf bar menu a bit tired pleasant stay two night stay wedding venue stayed here for one night following morning essex spa
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

The venue is beautiful, really lovely surroundings and ample parking.
A whole group of us attended the 80's evening. The food was impressive, cooked well and really great flavours. The waiter staff were friendly and attentive and continuously topped up our water jug etc. There was tea, coffee and mince pies served afterwards, too.
The band, Total 80's were incredible! The music was so good, sounding just like the hits I remember from my teens. The DJ was also fantastic. We danced all evening.
I will now make a point on keeping an eye on the forthcoming events here and will return.
Well done to the events team.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nadia17051070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Many Thanks for your review, as it's a pleasure to read.

Our staff work really hard to make sure all guests have a wonderful time so we really appreciate you taking the time to review us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

This is a 3* hotel. Good clean accommodation, comfy bed, great shower and bath, very helpful staff, brilliant facilities! I mean where do you get a pool, spa, sauna and golf course for £60-70!! Seriously!! If you complain your being completely unreasonable!! It’s not a 4 Star plus. It’s a very good value 3. Ps: satnav takes you to the wrong place. Use actual address.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jc3cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for this lovely review, We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed for a friday night only in room 12 which is on the ground floor close to the entrance. Room size is fine but looks out on to a walk-way for golfers a metre or so from the window, so can see right inside the room if the blind isn't pulled down !
Also - the noise from the room above is a problem (2nd time we have had this) so be sure to ask for a first floor room unless you need ground floor access.
Tea / coffee facilities provided but only tea cups (no mugs) and free wifi - loads of storage space as well.Tiny TV on wall.
Proper double bed (not 2 singles squashed together) - shame the duvet cover had a hole in it. The room is getting a bit tired and could do with a splash of paint to tidy it up.

Shower over bath but no hand shower so have to stand up to rinse hair if having a bath. Shampoo / shower gel / soap - no body lotion or conditioner.
Big bath towels / hand towels - no face cloth.
Take care when getting out of bath as the door stop is right where you get out of the bath.

Lovely warm swimming pool (not full size), warm jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, lockers and a few beds round the pool (not many though). Towels provided free if you are a guest at the hotel - ask at reception, token for lockers

We also used the driving range on saturday morning without needing to book.
There are also tennis courts which we didn't use.
We didn't eat in or have breakfast, but Halstead is only 5 miles aways with plenty of restuarants, shops etc.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caulifl0wercheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We really appreciate all feedback with a view to improve where ever we can, with your reference to painting, we are in the process of re-painting all rooms and hope to see you in the future.

Many thanks once again.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

A one night stay here. Stopped in the lodge which was fine. Clean room, comfy bed and a great powerful shower. However the issues here revolve around food.
I had to wait a fair while for my evening meal, which when delivered was the wrong meal...ok it was similar but that's not the point. Worse though was a non existent breakfast as the chef hadn't turned in. Other staff didn't seem to care and I was told no one else could cook due to "health and safety". Hmmmm

Would I return? Yes I would. I have stayed here a couple of times in the past and never had issues before. Let's hope it was just a glitch

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Hello there Sowie

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and I'm so glad to hear you were happy with your room , I do hope you managed to make use of the great facilities also.

I am sorry to hear about your issues with your meal, and the missing breakfast, unfortunately it is the case that the chefs are the only ones who can cook on our premises but again I am sorry that you had to miss breakfast on that morning.

I do hope you decide to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The facilities for the hotel are pretty basic. It seems to be aimed at golfers staying overnight rather than operating as a regular hotel. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Staff are very friendly and helpful and friendly. Catering for our breakfast was very poor. Food was undercooked and pòor quality. It was also cold. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so only useful if you only want the sporting facilities on offer.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank M3165AQdebbieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and the rooms to be clean.

I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your breakfast, our staff are always happy to rectify any issues brought to their attention during breakfast service.

Our hotel is part of our golf and country club so you are quite right in saying that it is aimed at golfers, however, we do try to cater for all guests that come to stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews