We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Golf & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colchester Feering(Feering)(Great Value!)
US$70
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$85
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel(Braintree)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
82
114
83
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
114
83
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtscontinental breakfastleisure centrepulse barpool facilitiessauna and steam roomgolf breakground floorchristmas partythree course mealcar parkpleasant staytwo night staystayed here for one nightgreat golf coursefollowing morningcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Stayed here for one night during a local business trip, I travel a lot and try to look for something other than the Travelodge/Premier Inn style as long as it fits within my company budget - this place fit the budget and maintained the standard you normally find in those generic hotels, it was clean, quiet, the bed was good, the shower was strong and hot, nothing to complain about at all with the room although it was "generic travelers room", but thats fine.

Its always the staff that make a difference and I met with three reception staff and two bar staff, all were very friendly, very welcoming and both the evening meal and breakfast were served quickly, both meals of good quality and not over-priced, the breakfast in particular was very good.

The surroundings are beautiful, the country club gym and swimming pool are complimentary (didn't use either) and all in all its a good choice for business travelers, the wi-fi was strong across all the buildings although I was surprised at how weak the mobile phone signal was but this applied to the whole area rather than just the hotel, at my clients 10 miles away the signal was poor too, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view or face the car park !
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryKitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that our rooms are just what you need whilst you are away on business and that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming!

It's a shame you didn’t get to use our facilities while you stayed, hopefully you will get a chance to relax here in the future.

We certainly hope to welcome you to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Booked a 2 ball to check the course out to see if it was worth booking a 12 man golf break next spring. The website stated that the cost for a 2 ball was £45. I booked by phone because we wanted a buggy as well. When we arrived we were told the cost was £60 for a 2 ball. The buggy was £30 which is the same as Woburn charge!
The course layout is not bad and a reasonable test of golf at 6600 yds off the yellows. However the greens were appalling. They were bumpy, bare in patches, diseased and covered in worm casts. In mid-september all golf courses should have good greens but these were no better than temporary winter greens. There was very little definition between fairway and green. For tees read greens, as the same problems existed on those in terms of condition and it was difficult to find a flat area on any of them. If the course is in this condition in September, goodness knows what it will be like in a couple of months. The other issue we had was the fact that Tuesdays is ladies day which we were not told about at the time of booking otherwise we would have booked a later time but as the course was busy with the ladies we waited on every hole from the 6th. There are far better maintained courses within a half hour drive of this course and what they charge is simply not worth the money. Needless to say we will not be going for a golf break there

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
Thank loughtonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear about your recent visit to the club and the condition of the course when you played. A couple of weeks ago we had our winter green programme completed and with the recent cold weather it has effected the growth on the course.
All year round the course has had some very positive feedback which we are all proud of, so hearing these comments are very rare and something we would like you to have a fresh experience again.
I will be happy to discuss your points further with you so please do contact me at the club on 01787 22 44 66

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Lovely golf course and very decent overnight accommodation in The Lodge. Bed very comfortable and the shower excellent. Buffet breakfast was excellent for £10 on an all you could eat and drink basis. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. The only sour note is the evening meal. Starters good. Quite a few of our party chose the cod and chips for mains and this was awful. the fish was a slim piece of crumb ( not batter ) which I cut off and pushed to one side. The fish was just about big enough to cover 4/5 teaspoons and was tasteless. The chips and peas not much better. If you cannot do it properly get it off the menu!!

Room Tip: The lodge was fine for a night or two. Rooms looking out at the golf course.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amb4342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our golf course and found the room to be comfortable.

I do apologise that you were a little disappointed with part of the evening meal, I will certainly pass this on to our chef.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future!

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Pretty good stay here for a family wedding but room for improvement. Wld have given 3.5 if possible
Pros: On-site ceremony was really good with view of the course.
View of the course from our room (no.38) was pleasant.
Buffet breakfast/fry-up was good with all the options and for a change pint glasses rather than those tiny ones which mean you spend most of breakfast walking to and from the OJ dispenser
Friendly service
Facilities
£80 for double incl breakfast
CONS: Room a bit tired (1980's feel)
Bath enamel had come off in places and looked rusty in bath
Dirty marks on bed sheets
Location is on a business park

Room Tip: no.38 overlooked the golf course
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank felineluckypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your family wedding here, the views out over the course do make a fantastic backdrop!

Our team strive to give our guests the best possible experience during their stay, so it's great to hear you found our staff to be friendly and that you were pleased with your breakfast.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My wife and I attended a family wedding this weekend which was well organised and all enjoyed. However, the room service was somewhat different.

Booking in was OK although signing in through the Golf Pro Shop was a little odd. Our room was overlooking the car park and the weather was hot. One of the Window frames had a broken arm, so we made do with one window. The light as you entered the room was not working and the remote for the TV could not to be found. After trying reception several times without answer, I walked down and asked for a remote to be sent to the room. I did think the attitude of both the girl on reception and a chap which I assumed was the service chap was odd as they seemed to find it hard to believe the remote was missing, however, after a short conversation they promised to send up a remote. It did not happen.

The room was comfortable and the beds, twin, were of a good standard, but the noise early on Sunday morning from golfers was annoying.

Room Tip: go for room overlooking golf course
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that your family wedding was a success and that you enjoyed yourself!

Our Reception here incorporates Golf, Leisure, and our Hotel Reservations Desk which we find works well and enables us to help all of our guests in one place.

We do have fans available for our guests comfort which are available upon request from the Hotel Reception.

Please accept our apologies that the TV remote was missing and that a replacement wasn’t received, we will certainly look into this.

Unfortunately we are a Golf & Country Club so golfers can tee off from early in the morning.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews