We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
84
117
86
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
117
86
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsleisure centrepulse bargolf breakgym and swimming poolsteam roomground floorround of golfcar parka bit tiredpleasant staywedding venuetwo night staystayed here for one nightfollowing morningcomfy bedessex
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My wife and I attended a family wedding this weekend which was well organised and all enjoyed. However, the room service was somewhat different.

Booking in was OK although signing in through the Golf Pro Shop was a little odd. Our room was overlooking the car park and the weather was hot. One of the Window frames had a broken arm, so we made do with one window. The light as you entered the room was not working and the remote for the TV could not to be found. After trying reception several times without answer, I walked down and asked for a remote to be sent to the room. I did think the attitude of both the girl on reception and a chap which I assumed was the service chap was odd as they seemed to find it hard to believe the remote was missing, however, after a short conversation they promised to send up a remote. It did not happen.

The room was comfortable and the beds, twin, were of a good standard, but the noise early on Sunday morning from golfers was annoying.

Room Tip: go for room overlooking golf course
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that your family wedding was a success and that you enjoyed yourself!

Our Reception here incorporates Golf, Leisure, and our Hotel Reservations Desk which we find works well and enables us to help all of our guests in one place.

We do have fans available for our guests comfort which are available upon request from the Hotel Reception.

Please accept our apologies that the TV remote was missing and that a replacement wasn’t received, we will certainly look into this.

Unfortunately we are a Golf & Country Club so golfers can tee off from early in the morning.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Myself, mum and 1 year old daughter came to stay for two nights as a spa type break earlier this month. My mum is a full time wheelchair user and could not find any information on the website for wheelchair accessible rooms or facilities. We found a bit of information on booking.com but ended up emailing to find out about a fully accessible room. The room was basic but perfectly fine, even overlooked the golf course. The parking outside is very wheelchair friendly and entrance to the 'lodge'. We were also very happy to find the pool, changing rooms and restaurant for breakfast was also easily accessible. There are full steps down to the pool from the pool edge instead of the metal ladder type. This made it possible for my mum to access the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna with little difficultly.
The Essex needs to shout about these facilities and make it clear that the rooms are available. We are looking forward to coming back soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank travelswith4wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our facilities here, and that you found them to be wheelchair friendly.

We certainly hope to welcome you and your family back in the future!

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I spent few days at this hotel last week as I was attending a training course. The conference facilities were great, all the staff was very friendly and accommodating, the food included on our training was fantastic and service was spot on. I didn't play golf but the course look beautiful from my room ,we didn't have much time to explore around but would have love to use the pool. Overall good value for money

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Its great to hear that you found our conference facilities to be everything you required for your training course.

We know how important it is to stay fuelled for a hard day of training, so it's great to hear that the food hit the spot!

Its a shame to hear you were not able to use the pool, but that's a great excuse to come back for another visit for relaxing next time.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel as I was attending a family relatives wedding. It is everything I'd expect from a 3 star hotel and the complimentary facilities (pool, spa and gym) and customer service was brilliant! Reception staff and bar staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank miketravp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Good Evening Mike

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we have on offer to our guests.

Our staff always strive to go the extra mile for our guests, so its fantastic to hear that this was the case during your stay.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Visited for a wedding, with high hopes.
When we arrived we were told there were no family rooms available, despite the fact we'd booked one more than six months ago and had recently called to confirm. We were told it had been given to another family that came in that day and because they'd already checked in there was nothing they could do. They said there were no other rooms available but when I started crying out of anger / sadness the receptionist told me there was a room available, but only for one night. So first night two rooms and had to be separated....not what we wanted. And as one of us was a Bridesmaid last minute duties ran into late night meaning having to move one child in their sleep for the other room! The receptionist said the second night of our stay at the hotel was fully booked and she can only give us (like as if we hadn't requested a family room for two nights) a twin room for four people and no z beds available and that "we would have to manage the room yourselves with the children". However we were lucky; same thing happened to another family in our wedding party and they could only be given a twin room for two nights and one of the adults had to sleep on the floor! At night the shower temperature kept changing and scolded the kids, in the morning there was no hot water at all! When it came to checking out, the reception staff were rude, sarcastic and showed no appreciation for the poor experience. In all honesty, the worst example of customer service I've seen in a long time. No thanks, won't be staying here again, you're better off at a low budget alternative down the road.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank AEB1980a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good Afternoon,

I'm sorry that you felt the need to post this review after we did everything we possibly could to resolve the issues that occurred during your stay with us, please allow me to address each point you have made.

When you arrived, you did tell our receptionist that you had a family room booked.
The receptionist found your reservation on the system, but you had been placed into one of our double rooms, not the one family room that we have here.

After you showed an email sent from us which confirmed that you had in fact booked a family room, our receptionist apologised profusely for the error with the booking and began to see what options were available to best accommodate you.
You were not told that it was given to another family and you were certainly not told that there was nothing else we could do.

You were told that we had no rooms large enough to accommodate you and no extra beds available that night that could be put into your room as other than one double room left, the hotel was fully booked with two wedding parties of which you were a guest of one.
The only option we had for the first night of your stay was to give you our last room complimentary as we accepted that the problem with the booking was our fault, meaning that you would indeed have two rooms for the first night of your stay.
I appreciate that this is not what you wanted, but it was the only solution we could offer and it would at least have meant that everyone could have a bed.

You were then told that for the second night of your stay, we could put two extra beds into the one room for you which would mean you and your family could stay in one room which is what you wanted.
The reason we couldn’t put the extra beds into one room on the first night was that all 9 of our extra beds were already booked out.
You were certainly never told that you would have to manage the room yourself with the children.

As you are aware, you were part of a large wedding group.

The procedure for booking rooms here for such a large group is that the bride and groom will reserve a certain amount of rooms, their guests will then be asked by them to call the hotel direct and allocate themselves to one of those reserved rooms.

When the bride and groom book those rooms, they are shown the rooms that we have available here and also made aware that we have 9 temporary beds.

Those temporary beds, or z beds as we call them are suitable for children up to the age of 16 years old.
Due to the size of the rooms, we can only put up to 2 of these beds in a room.

Unfortunately, out of the 20 rooms booked within the group you were apart of, each person told reception that they had booked the family room or that they had booked extra beds when in fact this would have been impossible.

During check out, when our receptionist's told you your final bill, you and two other members of your group became incredibly aggressive to our staff which actually resulted in one member of staff refusing to serve you any further.

It was also then that you threatened us with Trip Advisor.

Our staff truly care about giving our guests the best possible experience and we have apologised for the error with your room type.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us here.

Kind Regards
The Essex Golf & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews