We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,341)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveller rating
438
521
234
87
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
521
234
87
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the main hotel groupon deal newton abbot overlooking the estuary leisure facilities sauna and steam room cooked breakfast lovely location both mornings south devon sat nav lovely weekend main road two night stay relaxing stay poached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Lovely hotel in a great location. Staff were very helpful especially Amanda. After some confusion with the room we booked not being available she showed us round a superior room in the South Lodge & also the Swift Suite which we opted for in the end. Excellent facilities, this suite would be great for a family so as there was only 2 of us we had plenty of room with everything we needed in there & more!! We also had this had a very good rate & will definitely be visiting again, we loved it!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank SJP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear SJP1970,

Happy New Year!!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will look forward to sharing your feedback with our team

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a deluxe room at a cost of 150 for the night, with hopes to having a chilled out new years eve.. how wrong were we!

Arrived and wanted to book a table at the restaurant but were told it was fully booked due to a dinner and dance, obviously we expected it to be busy but this was not advertised anywere when we booked( not of any social media, there website or notication from hotel) so advised that we couldnt eat there but could go to pub... googled pub for number which brought up that the pub had been taken to court recently over poor food hygiene standards so we thought we'd that a miss!!

Got into 'deluxe' room which was nicely decorated and a nice new bathroom, however we sat on the bed and instantly knew the mattress was no good! It was sloped on one side and we could feel the divan base under us- after a restless and uncomfortable nights sleep ( the worst night sleep we have ever had in a hotel)and children running up and down the corridors, we decided to head down for breakfast.

Breakfast was average- cheap quality sausages and hard pouched eggs.

This is our 4th stay at this hotel and we have loved coming here previously but we certainly wont be back for a while and for price per night you can get value for money else were......

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sfcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear sfcoles,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you weren't able to book in our restaurant on New Year's Eve, but this is one of our biggest nights of the year so prebooking is essential.

Our beds are known as 'zip and link' beds, where two singles join together to make a Kingsize bed. This allows us to offer our guests more options when they stay with us.

Did you notify a member of the team that you weren't satisfied with your room, or there were children making noises in the corridor?

Our sausages are not of cheap quality, our sausages are sourced from our local butchers.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me on 07725481518

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We stayed for 6 nights over the Christmas period. Best bits first - The children loved the swimming pool, location was good (Exeter/Torbay close by), nice clean towels and bedding, friendly staff. However - the rooms were very dated and family room not suitable for 3 beds. None of the electrical items had PAC test labels on. The condensation on the window meant puddles of water flowing from the window on to my Son's bed. Window right next to parking area and someones car. No replenishment of hand soap or shower soap dispensers so none available (although poor quality anyway). Breakfast staff friendly but unable to cope on several mornings so had to wait to be seated, to order, to receive food. Overall food was good though but not massive choices (good if you like fish but children would have liked porridge or pancakes). We paid £70 with breakfast. Probably similar price to Travelodge or Premier Inn. We would stay again because of the pool but it needs serious work.

Room Tip: Not car park view on ground floor. Not three beds in a family room
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoTJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear JoTJ2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you had notified a member of our team during your stay regarding how dissatisfied you were, we would have been able to rectify it and provide you with the high level of service that we aim to achieve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights to visit the city and surroundings.
In general everyone was friendly but Georgi is a very caring person, thank you.
Just one thing to add, breakfast wasn't what we expected, we came to the restaurant and there was no one around to greet us, we looked for a table and after 5m decided to sit in a unclear table, waited for 15m for someone to come and serve us which didn't happen even when we had a few waiters passing by us, was hard to catch their eye!!!
We saw one waiter clear a table across the room so I decided to ask if we could sit seeing that we were waiting so long which he said no because he had people waiting as well. After 2m came to clear ours and we wait more 10m for someone to come to take our order.l which never happened. We decided just to go and check out.
You should Improve your breakfast system.

I will return but never have the breakfast there as in town are placed with better service.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maria_Cavaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Maria_Cavaco,

Thank you for your review, and your feedback about Georgie, I will look forward to sharing it with her.

I will be using your feedback regarding breakfast service and will discuss it with the team immediately, as we do not wish for our guests to feel as you did.

I do hope that you will visit our hotel again, so we can provide you with the high level of service that we aim to achieve.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Parking conveniently outside the Hotel, checked in, & Room 107 was the next stop.
We chose to Upgrade our room, so pleased we did. The view from our window was scenic. River, Trees Plants, Swans & other wildlife.
A very efficient heater, a Queen sized bed, & usual Tea/Coffee supplied.
Breakfast had a large choice, from Full English to Smoked Haddock etc etc.
Polite & swift service from waiting staff, in the comfortable restaurant. Option to sit outside, but best left till the Summer!
Towels changed daily. No Toiletries supplied, apart from the dispensers on Basin & Bath wall. Fan wasn't working, but not a problem.
A lovely break, worth the £15 a night upgrade, & £15 surcharge for a Saturday.
I would return here again, very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 107, great views of the river etc. Ground floor.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maldonian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Maldonian_9,

Thank you for your review, I will look forward to sharing it with the team

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews