We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Save
Review Highlights
Christmas Visit👍👍👍

We visited Lyme Park for the second time, however this was the first time to experience it for... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
kevind215
,
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lyme Park

Ala Pemberley!!!! we visited during December and experienced a Regency Christmas with the house... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kbjb20
,
Glazebury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,501 reviews
  
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
897
441
120
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
441
120
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr darcy national trust timber yard adventure playground beautiful house the main house stately home pride prejudice peak district formal gardens rose garden red deer colin firth lovely grounds room guides hunting lodge play area
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Well what can I say about our disastrous day. We were staying in Chester and looked for a National Trust as we had done a lot of walking the previous day. Nearly 50 miles later we arrived parked up and walked to the house. We were a bit travelled so we stopped for a coffee at the first tea room (servants area) they only had filter coffee and to be fair it was disgusting. Only drank due to the sheer desperation.
We then went to ticket office only to find out the House wasn`t open only the gardens. Wife told them that it said 6pm closing on internet but was told she must have had the wrong site and it often happens. Our fault.
After wandering around the gardens where mostly replanting is underway (no flowers) The main cafe was closed we made for the Timber Yard cafe to try and get a Cappuccino. Things were looking up as i ordered my Cap but then the machine went wrong and after a while it was obvious I wasn`t going to be lucky. A coke had to suffice.
Never got to see the House gardens average nothing spectacular as far as I could see. Wouldn`t make the effort again.
Did notice lots of dogs around car park area having their walkies and doo doos obviously a place for some locals to take them for their business.
Wouldn`t let my kids run around the grassy areas.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank StephenH2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Truly amazing place, got to watch pride and prejudice as filmed here ,was in awe going from room to room ,very attentive and informative volunteers , was great see visitors dressed in regency style , as part of the things able to do , brilliant concept . Took two leisurely hours to look around the house ,amazing carvings and great history ,very well concepted for people of all ages , the theme of severed arm and banner a great history. . had coffee in old beer cellar ,friendly staff quick service ,the food looked well presented ,after visited orangey ,wow the plants fantastic ! Best orangery seen ,banana tree huge gardens immaculate , Italian garden beautiful and full of colour walked rounds rest of grounds ,then up to the tower brilliant views ,one of the best national trust places been !!! All are different and exceptional but well worth two hour drive thank you all at Lyme park

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank derek h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Loved our time at Lyme Park. Massive P & P fan and it was really special to wander the grounds and tour through the house. Unlike some of the other major historical homes we have visited, Lyme Park was not particularly busy so we could visit at our leisure.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank deegeurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

I love everything about Lyme Park, you can have a fun filled and educational day out with all the family for a very reasonable price and in beautiful wild surroundings. Even walking the dog and stopping for coffee at the cafe is a joy.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank GillyTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Visiting on what was a very dreary day in October did not put a dampener on our visit. The staff were all very engaging and knowledgeable. Some interesting items in the house such as the clock that hangs over the front entrance. The gardens are beautiful and worth allocating a good chunk of time.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Stickermansister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews