We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect retreat! A heavenly haven with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Murkeysid...
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat! A heavenly haven with everything you need”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked the cottage just over a week before we travelled but Jeanne was quick to respond to any emails and the travel directions were through very quickly which was particularly useful as staying at the cottage was the second part of a holiday.

Jeanne and Richard (who met us on our arrival) have done everything possible to make the cottage the ideal home from home. Everything you need is here: washing machine and airing/drying facilities, big fridge, plenty of utensils and cockery, double sink and an AGA cooker (we worth looking up before you go so you can learn how to get the best out of it), TV, freeview channels, CD/DVD player, books, puzzles and cards. Everything is of a high quality and the there are antiques, artifacts and curios dotted around that add a real character to the cottage.

There is an excellent handbook which includes manuals and instructions for some of the kitchen gadgets, information on local pubs and restaurants as well as local history. There is a bookshelf full of tourist leaflets which is a great way to plan your stay.

The bedrooms are large with plenty of space for your luggage and clothes and the beds got thumbs up all-round. The en-suite bathroom has a walk-in power-shower which works like the experience showers you get at a spa and it is quite easy to find yourself in there for 30 minutes or more. The bathroom was bright and surprisingly cosy with a warm feel to it...the highlight being the big free standing bath. Hot water was always available. There is a basket of towels available but we didn't use many as we had brought our own.

We had mixed weather but when it was nice you really could sit forever in the garden on a warm evening with a glass of your favourite tipple in your hand. There was very little noise in the evening, even from the cows and sheep in nearby fields so it was quite tranquil. During the day there are vehicles coming to and from the nearby farm and the occasional train tip-toes across the other side of the valley but it is not enough to spoil the ambience. When the weather wasn't great I sat in a comfy chair in the bay window of the living room just enjoying the view.

As a base to explore the Dales the cottage is perfectly located, being a short drive from Skipton. I would recommend a visit to the supermarkets there and getting the essentials in for your stay before heading to the cottage. There is a handy co-op nearby but you will be so chilled here that the last thing you will want to do go anywhere for groceries. From the cottage most of the Dales are easy to get to by car and the country roads are largely empty so go slowly and enjoy the views. There are plenty of hamlets and villages within walking distance and there are plenty of public footpaths so you are spoilt for choice if you fancy some hiking. You can set your own challenge and strike across the wilderness or just amble along and dip your toes in the river.

The short road up to the cottage is not ideal for a small car...we were in a Fiesta and it was like being on a theme park ride but next time we plan to stock up, park up and not use the car again until we are leaving. If you intend to use the car regularly prepare for a slow few hundred yards and tactical navigation.

Mobile connectivity is next to zero (I use Orange and EE at the time of writing) which is great if you want to avoid the hubbub of civilisation, but not great in an emergency though Jeanne and Richard are right next door and happy to help at any time.

Internet connection, if required, comes in the form of wi-fi which works well in the kitchen/dining room, reasonably well in the garden but tails off in the living room and bedrooms. Disrupted access to Facebook and Whatsapp meant we had a couple of frustrated lads on our hands though, as my youngest lad sad, this would be a perfect place to hide from a zombie apocalypse!

Next time we hope to be able to stay for longer!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage and sitting down to those views!
Liked least: The road up to the cottage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thanks David, glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We have o2 and vodaphone mobiles,the others work well outside or with forehead pressed against the window using 1 leg as an aerial.:-) We have superfast broadband coming in the autumn so hopefully that will help postpone an apocolypse.People soon get used to the unmetalled lane, we whizz up and down in our sports cars all the time. Good to know that you'll be coming back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eiram23
Affoltern am Albis, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at this cottage with our teenage daughter. And we all loved it very much and wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage is tastefully decorated, spacious, homely and lacks nothing. Is is surrounded by a very beautiful garden. Hikes start directly from the house. Jeanne and Richard were very helpful with information and maps. By car it is easy to reach destinations such as Malham Cove or Skipton.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely kitchen and dining area. Garden.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you here all the way from Switzerland and we hope you enjoyed Cockermouth after you left us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbland8
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, homely cottage perfect for all ages and interests”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to the cottage with 2 young children and our stay was just perfect. Great walks from the door and further a field. Being close to places like Skipton also allowed us to visit busier places. Although we came with young children we'd also love to visit the cottage again with friends and other family as it's a great place to relax and unwind. An absolute pleasure to visit and beautifully kept and furnished by Jeanne.

See you next year!

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Good to know that you enjoyed yourselves and thanks for being perfect guests.
We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy H
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Spacious, quiet, stunning views and lovely owners. Friendly chickens. Our 2 year old girl was feeling absolutely safe throughout the house. Next time we will stay at least for a week.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 May 2014
We would be delighted to have you back again. You were perfect guests, thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy.Absolutely brilliant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyneTrav...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious country comforts in a beautiful, peaceful location.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I booked Granville House for the weekend as we were attending a christening in Skipton. When I stumbled upon it, it seemed too good to be true. It wasn't. Jeanne confirmed our booking swiftly and always responded to contact incredibly swiftly. We arrived on a Friday afternoon in February with our ten month old son Wilf and couldn't wait to look around.
Access to the cottage is through a large boot room, this would have been useful if we'd been doing a lot of walking or outside activities and provided a great seal between outside and inside.
The kitchen was well appointed and the furniture was of a higher quality than I've seen in holiday cottages. A highchair for wilf was already out and ready to go, something we have found isn't always the case.
As it was quite late for our lad we set about setting up his cot as a priority, expecting to have to locate it and work out how to put it up. Again, it was up and ready to go, this makes a huge difference as we've been burnt before with promises of travel cots either missing or unusable.
The bedrooms were all an excellent size, well appointed and with beautiful quality bedding, a real treat!
The bathroom and shower room were both of excellent standard, wilf enjoyed a good swim in the lovely bath and I really enjoyed a long hot shower in the beautiful en suite. There were plenty of towels, toilet rolls and bins in the bathroom, I've stayed in more than my fair share of holiday cottages and have learnt to pack loo roll, so I was pleased to see lots in both rooms. These little things make such a difference.
The lounge had an excellent wood burner and we had a good fire going every evening. A fire guard made this baby friendly. My husband enjoyed playing with the wooden puzzles dotted around and there were plenty of CDs, DVDs, books (a very wide choice!) and games for evenings or days in. A blu-Ray player, free sat and a good size television were excellent touches and the wifi worked well in the kitchen!
The gardens were beautiful and would be lovely to sit in in warmer weather. There were a huge number of birds and wilf enjoyed seeing them on the bird table.
An honesty box was set up for wood, this was great as we didn't have to disturb the owners to get more. We did buy some kindling at the co-op, our fire skills leave something to be desired!
The cottage was perfect for us and could happily have accommodated many more than just the three of us, but we didn't rattle too much as it was so cosy.
The area is stunning, beautifully quiet and rural with nothing to spoil it at all. It's easy to forget you are just a few miles from the bustle of skipton!
The owners were very welcoming, wilf loved stroking the spaniel puppy before we left, I think my husband has designs on one... They have spent a long time making the cottage perfect and the history of the house and area in the welcome pack was great to read.
We will definitely be going back, it was without doubt the best cottage we have stayed in and we have already recommended it to friends, especially those with small children as it was so easy to be there with wilf.

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dales. It's good to know that our efforts are appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.