We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
127
57
17
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
57
17
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pond trout nice bathroom waterfall trail savegre hotel cloud forest two nights meals bird lodge possibilities quetzal feet vegetables lodging network trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2020

Our room was great. The hiking trails were great. The breakfasts were outstanding. Our only issue was the one dinner we had. Dinner is a set 3 course meal. The soup to start was okay, The trout was overcooked and was served with some vegetables which were tasty. The dessert was a tasteless cake you might buy cheaply at a supermarket. Maybe the issue was we were the only diners. Loved it here, but would not have dinner again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019

The location is about 7 miles deep down into a canyon. It's high in the mountains and deep in the cloud forest.

We were in Room #7 and it had 2 beds and nice bathroom. Offered a small balcony to see the small pond where you can use there small boats to use. Negatives/recommendations about the room : (1) tiny chairs...they were very tiny and uncomfortable. (2) the location of TV box needs to be raised higher & shelf corners need to be rounded off (husband hit head & cut it. (3) add a handing bar on wall to hang clothes (4) add extra hooks to back bathroom door to hand things.

Jessica M. Alvarado (waitress) and Luis (waiter) provided FIRST CLASS SERVICE and very friendly! Lester (cook) cooking was magnificent..highly recommend the hamburger "best I have ever eaten"! The rest of the staff was very friendly.

We took almost 3 hour easy hike from the lodge. We didn't get to see the Quetzal but saw lots of other birds around the area.

The grounds are amazing to walk around and Max (dog) was very friendly! Highly recommend this place and look forward to going back & hope to see the Quetzal.

Room tip: Room # 7 was good ---I believe all the rooms are great
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

Granted, this is a relatively modest establishment - the wooden cabins are charming, but in need of a little bit of TLC. However, the staff at this Hotel were the warmest, friendliest, and most accommodating of any we had encountered during our time in Costa Rica (and that is quite an accolade given that everyone we met in Costa Rica was very warm and friendly), and they will bend themselves over backwards to accommodate you, and make your stay enjoyable. In particular I have to give high praise to Ami, who was delightful and a credit to the place. The coffee and the food was the best we had during our time in Costa Rica - the breakfasts were divine, and the dinners would not be out of place in a fine dining restaurant! Their chef is a genius. The grounds are beautiful, and the mountain scenery splendid. Be aware that the Hotel is located at the end of a long winding road that descends steeply down neck-breaking hairpin bends so, if you are driving, I would recommend arriving during daylight hours. There are a number of hiking trails in the area, of varying degrees of difficulty. I am not sure that there are enough activities to keep you occupied for more than a couple of days, but, if you are visiting Costa Rica, I would definitely recommend making San Gerardo de Dota a pit stop on your itinerary, and if you do, choosing Suenos Del Bosque.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019

I went with my parents 2 weeks ago to this Hotel. Our experience was the best: the beautiful infrastructure, the amazing little lagoon, the good dishes at the restaurant, the hanging bridge, and the souvenirs shop. Also, the hotel provides an excelent customer service, we felt comfortable and absolutely satisfied.
One tip if you come to this Hotel: very close from the hotel (400 meters) there's an amazing river & waterfall: it's named Rio Saveegre. It is the cleanest river in Costa Rica :)

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank vivian_CR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2019 via mobile

Directed to a dead end with a heavy bag! Had to find my own room.
Cabins freezing cold. No heating.
Shower so weak it’s hard to get wet.
Free WiFi never worked once.
No TV - some rooms for my colleagues did have one. Wire and bracket were there.
Resturant not open for dinner.
“Breakfast starts at 7am” is not true. Waited outside until 7:10 for them to even let me in the resturant. No apology or even acknowledgment.
Other than location and the lovely gardens, not much I can say was positive above this place.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank sim0nPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews