We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House, Amazing Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Irvinestown, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Megan C
1 review
“Amazing House, Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The station house is such a hidden treasure, Jane and Floyd have done such an amazing job restoring the old Irvinestown station into a modern house but with a lot of the original features kept intact.

They couldn't have made our stay any better, they had thought of everything we could possibly need during our stay, we were greeted to the house with Floyd's homemade biscuits and a full tour of the house. They helped us with dinner reservations and booking taxi's and then left us to enjoy the house ourselves.

Will most defiantly be back !

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Megan, thank-you for taking time to post your kind comments. Floyd & I loved meeting you and your friends, and we're glad you enjoyed your time in Station House. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Very best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardsulste...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superbly Appointed and Stylish accommodation in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's fair to say that we didn't exactly constitute the typical house guests, when our extended family landed at the old Station House in Irvinestown.

My grandfather had in fact been the Station Master many years ago and we were there to celebrate the birthday of an Aunt who had been born there. Included in the party were two family members who had clear memories of the years they had lived there and the characters in the local community.

Clearly, the house had a lot to live up to - but it easily surpassed expectations. The spacious dwelling has been sympathetically restored - to the extent that the former residents were delighted to rediscover their old haunts - but always with an eye on modern comforts. The result is an incredibly spacious and luxurious setting, which easily swallowed what amounted to around four distinct family groups. The bedrooms are cosy and comfortable with stylish en suite bathrooms. The kitchen and dining area is vast and well equipped - whether you want to cook full meals for a crowd, or simply devour the fish and chips from the local chippy! There is a selection of living/sitting rooms with plenty of space for large groups to sit and chat or for more intimate groups to chinwag.

The decommissioning of the Station is now a matter of history, but the platform edges survive (with the area between them filled and grassed over) and the far platform waiting area and signal box are still evident and speak to generations past. All in all, it is an evocative mix of days past and modern comfort.

Irvinestown itself is a small town, with the basics well catered for, although it would be tempting to simply stay in the comfort of the Station House! For those who prefer to venture out, Enniskillen is not far away, and the local countryside would probably suit cyclists or walkers.

Overall, there is nothing bad to say about the Station House. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Hello Keith,
thank-you for taking time to leave this detailed and complimentary description of your visit to Station House. It was an absolute pleasure for us to meet your lovely family.
I was born in Station House. My father had bought the house after the Railway Service was discontinued. In August this year, it will be 60 years since the trains stopped running in this area.
It was a great surprise and delight to me to talk with the members of your family who still vividly remembered their childhood experiences in and around the house, such as the excitement of being held up to the window of the room that was their parents’ bedroom, to be shown a train in the station with passengers disembarking and boarding.
Hearing your family’s stories has made me extra conscious of the history of the house, and the role that it played in the lives of so many people, since it began as a Railway Station in 1866. We are pleased to be continuing that tradition in the house’s present format.
Very best wishes, Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treens186...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super place to stay for big family occasions”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. House is fabulous has all facilities. Jane and Floyd were great. Delicious scones on arrival.Super kitchen
Fits 13 adults comfortably. Four living rooms an extra bonus.
Locals were very friendly esp Central Bar!
Loved the fact they have kept all the old signage and rooms.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thanks for taking time to give this kind review. We loved meeting you, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes, Jane & Floyd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daltondei...
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - all mod cons in lovely setting.”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We rented this property for the Christmas week along with grandmother and a family of friends - 12 in total. From the outset, all went smoothly - Jane was wonderfully straightforward from the booking stage, helped us with logistics (sourcing the turkey, local walks...) and, along with Floyd, was the perfect hostess 'sur place'. The location was excellent for what we wanted - nature in abundance, good easy walking trails, access to Eire, local bars and shops (even for last minute christmas presents !). We felt really welcome wherever we went.
The house itself is superb - plenty of space on both floors. Beautifully decorated throughout with comfy sofas for watching a film or playing games, fully fitted and kitted out kitchen (the Aga makes for perfect cooked breakfasts), very comfy beds and the best quilts I have had for ages. Like another reviewer, I would like to keep this house as "our little secret", but Jane and Floyd's work in the wonderful stylish renovation deserves recognition.
For winter months, a coat rack of some sort would be a useful addition but I hope to come back in the summer for long evenings enjoying the outside space and barbecue - Diane?
Many thanks Jane and Floyd - au revoir !

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank-you Simon for taking time to leave this detailed and positive review. We loved meeting you and your family and friends, and are glad you had a lovely Christmas and such a positive experience of Station House, and of Irvinestown. Since you enjoy walking, it would be great if next time you come in summer. We have access to great walking opportunities: lakeside paths, forest trails, beach walks and mountain hikes. Co Donegal and Co Sligo make for lovely days out. National Geographic Traveller has named Donegal 'coolest place on the planet.' And the countryside of Sligo, celebrated in the poetry of W.B Yeats, is another must see.
Very best wishes, Jane & Floyd. - à bientôt !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandragee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Hi David, thank-you so much for taking time to leave such a positive review. I'm glad that your special family occasion went as well as it did. I hope you find another opportunity to revisit Station House in the future.
Very best wishes, Jane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.