We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
37
10
1
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
10
1
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We spent three nights in the apartment and everything was amazing. Avellanas is an incredible beach, with white sand and very quiet. Around the apartments grow a lot of trees upon which we could see monkeys and other animals from up close.

Inside, the apartment offers a fully equipped kitchen, a nicely sized bathroom, a bedroom with AC, WiFi and a private wooden deck furnished with hammocks. All was very neat and tidy. The property also offers plenty of parking spots. The owner, Isabel, recommended we visit Playa Negra (a sight you cannot miss if you are in the area) and several restaurants. We will definitely stay again at Las Avellanas Villas during our next visit to what has become our new favorite beach in Costa Rica.

An inclusive establishment for families of any kind!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We spent a lovely week in early January, weather was perfect. My son found this place on booksurfcamp.com, it was perfect for us since it included the villa, daily surf lessons and board rental. The beach is just a few minutes by car or 15 minute walk. Our son was able to take a daily surf lesson and then surf for a few hours. The Avellanas surf school is on the beach and Mauricio and his team are great instructors. My husband and I enjoyed long walks on the beach and short day trips (Playa Negra, a hike at the National Park in Santa Cruz and Tamarindo). The Villa has a great design and a cute little kitchen that allowed us to make breakfast and a few dinners that we enjoyed on the front patio. Efie was a great host and very helpful in getting settled in and throughout our stay. Since the villa is quite secluded, I recommend a car to get around and get food, drinks and water. We drove 25 mins to Tamarindo for our shopping, you will find an outdoor market with a nice selection of fruit and vegetables and a grocery store called MegaSuper.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Manon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Do note this is not a beachfront property but there are great restaurants nearby, very easy access to beach w short drive, clean rooms w a contemporary atmosphere and an excellent host Robert to help you sort out details. We were surprised how much we got for the price during our "offseason" adventure. The beach on this stretch of the coast is delightfully private and these are the perfect little evening getaway villas especially if you just want to cool off (in AC) and enjoy a good internet connection. Meaningful little kitchenette can help you save costs...this is little gem in playa avellanas region. Be sure to check it out!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 228blakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We travelled as a family with 2 little children. The villa was perfect for us, a complete house with kitchen, comfortably designed and decorated. Great location and a really nice beach nearby. A warm welcome, very nice atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We were there for 4 days and nothing was missing ... For the price we paid ! Fully equipped bungalows and very clean ! 800 mts from the beach and Lola's beach restaurant ... If you like to stay in a local place and live with the locals .... That's the place !
Robert, the owner is very cool and will give you a special price for several days of stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank McFly198000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews