We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
37
10
1
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
10
1
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We spent a lovely week in early January, weather was perfect. My son found this place on booksurfcamp.com, it was perfect for us since it included the villa, daily surf lessons and board rental. The beach is just a few minutes by car or 15 minute walk. Our son was able to take a daily surf lesson and then surf for a few hours. The Avellanas surf school is on the beach and Mauricio and his team are great instructors. My husband and I enjoyed long walks on the beach and short day trips (Playa Negra, a hike at the National Park in Santa Cruz and Tamarindo). The Villa has a great design and a cute little kitchen that allowed us to make breakfast and a few dinners that we enjoyed on the front patio. Efie was a great host and very helpful in getting settled in and throughout our stay. Since the villa is quite secluded, I recommend a car to get around and get food, drinks and water. We drove 25 mins to Tamarindo for our shopping, you will find an outdoor market with a nice selection of fruit and vegetables and a grocery store called MegaSuper.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Manon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Do note this is not a beachfront property but there are great restaurants nearby, very easy access to beach w short drive, clean rooms w a contemporary atmosphere and an excellent host Robert to help you sort out details. We were surprised how much we got for the price during our "offseason" adventure. The beach on this stretch of the coast is delightfully private and these are the perfect little evening getaway villas especially if you just want to cool off (in AC) and enjoy a good internet connection. Meaningful little kitchenette can help you save costs...this is little gem in playa avellanas region. Be sure to check it out!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 228blakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We travelled as a family with 2 little children. The villa was perfect for us, a complete house with kitchen, comfortably designed and decorated. Great location and a really nice beach nearby. A warm welcome, very nice atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We were there for 4 days and nothing was missing ... For the price we paid ! Fully equipped bungalows and very clean ! 800 mts from the beach and Lola's beach restaurant ... If you like to stay in a local place and live with the locals .... That's the place !
Robert, the owner is very cool and will give you a special price for several days of stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank McFly198000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

This place falls way below expectations set by the posted photos, posted description, and the review in Lonely Planet. Overall the place in appearance was far below the beautiful photos and the detailed reservation information. The property is a reclaimed farm field with landscaping is far from attractive or quaint. The placement of the Villas does not add the the situation as they are all next to each other and in a row. It would have helped to spread them out and have trees between them. Inside the villas was another shock. The main bed we saw had several large brown stains on the white comforter (and no they were not sand stains). Then the couch or sitting place was nothing more than a wooden box with fabric on top. Very uncomfortable and not a place to sit for any amount of time. Overall the interiors looked much more worn and unattractive than the photos. We were also looking forward to a nice tree-lined walk to the beach. Unfortunately the dry season (not mentioned during reservation) meant that we had the pleasure of walking along a dusty road. Overall it was way below the expectations set by your website and Lonely Planet.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank b3gorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews