We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$104
Expedia.comUS$104
PricelineUS$115
Agoda.comUS$104
eDreamsUS$104
CheapTicketsUS$104
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
41
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten path delicious smoothies natural elements beds are super comfortable free beach avellanas beach the entire staff kon tiki costa rica yoga classes pollo short drive boogie boards a great stay low tide beautiful property pura vida
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2020

We had a great time here, even in the middle of a pandemic! Great rooms, nice pool, excelent breakfast and fantastic service.
Really close to the beach and to nice restaurants.
They take all the correct measures recomended for COVID prevention.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cinthya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager Drift Away Eco Lodge, General Manager at Drift Away Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Thank you Cinthya for this review. Yes, health and safety is important so we are happy you noticed. Thank you for visiting our eco-lodge and we hope you can return! Gracias and pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2020

This is a tropical paradise! There is everything you need and more. Lisa and Paul are very helpful and accommodating, great hosts! The rooms are great and the beds are super comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and a good start to the day. They let the guests use the surf boards, boogie boards, and bikes which is a huge plus! We have stayed here twice now and plan on going back! The beach is a 5 minute walk and there are great restaurants close as well. Loved staying here and we’ll definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager Drift Away Eco Lodge, General Manager at Drift Away Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2020

Sorry for the slow response, Margaret - thanks so much for taking the time to give us such a great review! It was a pleasure meeting you and Alejandro and we hope you return. Good luck on the boat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2020

This past February my gym brought a fitness group of 20 people down to Costa Rica to stay at DriftAway. From the first contact right up to the end of the trip and after I can honestly say I have never had such an enjoyable and personalized experiences ever.
Lisa, Paul and the staff at DriftAway blew us all away from their welcome to the service, the food that was catered, the fresh squeezed juice from the trees each morning, the serenity of the resort, the surrounding restaurants and beaches....I really can't express how every little detail was truly thought of and wowed us on a daily basis.
They do not advertise this but Paul is also a fantastic musician and if you have the opportunity to have him play for you it only makes the experience that much better.
I will 1000% be going back and running this trip again and likely will visit on my own as well. Of all my trips I have had the opportunity to go on I can honestly say that this was by far the most memorable
Thank you to everyone at DriftAway, I can't say enough good things about them!

Room tip: I saw all the rooms and truly you cannot go wrong!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDriftAway, Manager at Drift Away Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2020

Thanks for the great review, Aaron.
You, John and your Basement Fitness group were awesome and we are so happy you had a great retreat. It was the first one in our brand new studio and so it is great to get such positive feedback. We hope you visit Costa Rica again and continue to spread the word about your perfect retreat at the Drift Away Eco-Lodge and Retreat Centre! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020

We managed to get away from our own place and have a lovely night here at the lodge. The gardens and pool are gorgeous, the rooms are very nicely presented with natural elements throughout. Lisa and Paul do an amazing job of hosting and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a fantastic place if you are looking to host a retreat with the most amazing yoga hall or are a keen surfer and the wonderful avellanas beach just down the road. You won't regret your stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Libelulalounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDriftAway, General Manager at Drift Away Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2020

Thank you for lovely review and is was wonderful seeing you both at our eco-lodge. Stay healthy and know that you're welcome here any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020

Please accept my apologies for such a late review - we visited in May 2019 but life has gotten in the way!

Drift Away was our second stop around Costa Rica for my surprise 30th birthday getaway.

Don't be put off by the beaten track that leads towards Drift Away like I was - after the first few trips out in the car, we got used to the lumps and bumps in the road. Saying that, we did visit at the beginning of rainy season, so every time it rained, the road was different each time! Would recommend a 4x4 car if visiting during this season. Can't say what the roads are like during summertime.

Drift Away was great; tucked away with its own little beach at the end of a lane. Great to go to during the day and also during sunset with a beer!

Our hosts at Drift Away were very welcoming and accommodating; they provide free beach essentials such as surfboards, umbrellas, chairs etc for your day. Our room was compact but came with a fridge (stocked with kombucha!), tea and coffee, a sink and table and chairs. I love that Drift Away is eco-friendly; we all had a metal water bottle which we were encouraged to take everywhere with us. We certainly did :)

The breakfast was always good - choices such as yoghurt, fresh fruit, pancakes, locally-sourced sausages, eggs etc. Coffee was always great :D

Drift Away was mostly quiet when we were there as it was rainy season (early May). This suited us fine as we had the place to ourselves most of the time. Loved the pool and reading/rest area. The bar is also great, with great smoothies. Loved the free smoothie for my birthday :)

All of the staff from the owners to the bar staff, groundsmen/women and cleaners and The Cat (see photo!) were very friendly!

There are a few small shops nearby as well as some bars/restaurants. These seem further away the more bumpy the road is! The road can vary day to day during rainy season. We did venture out to Tamarindo but this is a drive and not recommended as a walk! Tamarindo is also more commercialised.

I think the only downside for us was that Drift Away did not offer food aside from breakfast and bar snacks. There are a few restaurants close by but during the heavy rain, some evenings we were unable (or too nervous) to drive out in the rain to get food. If Drift Away had offered food, we'd have probably eaten here more often than not. However, during our stay, the owners did tell us that they were contemplating offeringlunch and/or dinner. So who knows, as I'm so late typing this review, they may offer lunch and/or dinner now :)

In short, Drift Away is a great place to go if you're after some down-time and we would definitely recommend.

All the best to all at Drift Away :)

Kayleigh & Shaun x

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrumpiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDriftAway, General Manager at Drift Away Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

Thanks so much for another great review Kayleigh & Shaun - we are so happy you had a great 30th birthday - and yes - we offer lunch and onsite dinner now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews