We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$419
View Deal
Booking.com
US$415
View Deal
eDreams
US$415
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$419
JW MarriottUS$419
Trip.comUS$418
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,205)
Filter reviews
3,205 results
Traveller rating
1,890
775
313
142
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,890
775
313
142
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica asian fusion nearest town hacienda pinilla caravan tour beach club steak restaurant infinity edge kids club pool staff remote location turn down service azul grill ocean view beautiful property tamari sushi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 3,205 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We were on a tour of Costa Rica with Caravan and this was one of the stops. We only stayed at this property 2 nights but wished we could've stayed longer! The pool was relaxing, and we enjoyed the entertainment offered - dancers and a singer. The beach was limited however - you couldn't walk too far in either direction because of rocks and we were not allowed to swim in ocean because of rough current.

Room tip: We had a room on 3rd floor facing the pool. It was quiet. We enjoyed the screened in balcony.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juleebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stayed for five nights and the service throughout the property was excellent. It is a pretty hotel and grounds. There are numerous restaurant choices. The food was good for the most part and we particularly enjoyed the ceviche by the pool bars and had a very nice meal in their "steakhouse".
The only drawback is the location, it takes about 30 minutes to get to the closest town. There were numerous activities available from the hotel itself.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 79JimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Jim W;

I have to say that I love the ceviche too. The sunsets here are spectacular I hope you have enjoy them.

We appreciate your time sharing your experience with all of us. It feels great to know that you truly spend a great time.

Kindest regards,

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful resort for a week, and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations, friendly staff, and peacefulness of the property. It more than exceeded our expectations, and we'll definitely be back! Also, there's a very nice variety of restaurants with great food and excellent staff! The pool here is amazing, and we never had an issue getting loungers and an umbrella to relax and read our books. If there's one drawback, this property may be a little more remote than others in the area, but there's scheduled transportation to Tamarindo which is the closest town of any size with good restaurants and shopping. Cost to town is $20/PP RT. (30 minutes one way). Enjoy this property, as it's really a diamond in the ruff!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank anthonyvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

WOW Thank you Anthonyvs for this excellent review!

Is gratifying read your comments knowing that you had a wonderful time.

Tamarindo is a good place to go shopping and there is also night clubs if you like to go dance or something like that or just to try a different restaurant.

We will be waiting for your return.

Kindest regards,

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

A lovely and exclusive resort without competing neighbors! The property is well laid out offering relative privacy for most rooms and the vistas were exceptional--no other resorts were in sight! Our ocean room was spacious with a deep balcony and couch affording that treasured afternoon nap. Wait staff was exceptional and food choices were so appealing that even after a week, we choose to stay on-site.

Room tip: Upgrade to ocean view. Worth the price
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaisyDiva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

You can come at any time you want. For us is going to be more than a pleasure to be your host again DaisyDiva07. We appreciate your great comments and we are pleased to know that you like your room and the property itself.

Warmest regards;

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights of which I can only say that it was surprising. My bedroom was beach front, with spectacular view of the sunset.

PROS:
Swimming pools
Restaurants
Gym
Beach
Social Experience
Administrative staff

CONS:
A bit far, but it's worth it

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndrewNY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear AndrewNY2015;

Thank you for name this review "Best Resort in Guanacaste" it really means a lot for us. Your satisfaction is the most important to us and reading your comments is easy to know that we meat our goal.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely;

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews