We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
JW Marriott
US$364
View deal
Expedia.com
US$364
View deal
Destinia.com
US$372
US$330
View deal
SAVE US$42
Free cancellation until 27/04/21
Booking.comUS$368
Hotels.comUS$364
Trip.comUS$372
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,208)
Filter reviews
3,208 results
Traveller rating
1,893
774
313
143
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,893
774
313
143
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica asian fusion caravan tour nearest town hacienda pinilla beach club steak restaurant infinity edge kids club pool staff remote location azul grill ocean view tamari beautiful property sushi central america
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 3,208 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

A lovely and exclusive resort without competing neighbors! The property is well laid out offering relative privacy for most rooms and the vistas were exceptional--no other resorts were in sight! Our ocean room was spacious with a deep balcony and couch affording that treasured afternoon nap. Wait staff was exceptional and food choices were so appealing that even after a week, we choose to stay on-site.

Room tip: Upgrade to ocean view. Worth the price
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaisyDiva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

You can come at any time you want. For us is going to be more than a pleasure to be your host again DaisyDiva07. We appreciate your great comments and we are pleased to know that you like your room and the property itself.

Warmest regards;

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights of which I can only say that it was surprising. My bedroom was beach front, with spectacular view of the sunset.

PROS:
Swimming pools
Restaurants
Gym
Beach
Social Experience
Administrative staff

CONS:
A bit far, but it's worth it

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndrewNY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear AndrewNY2015;

Thank you for name this review "Best Resort in Guanacaste" it really means a lot for us. Your satisfaction is the most important to us and reading your comments is easy to know that we meat our goal.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely;

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Marriott Platinum visitor...

Just visited the property for a family event. Property is beautiful, incredibly secluded, very well maintained. Every request was met and dealt with promptly. Rooms were gorgeous and well appointed. Internet worked flawlessly for fun and to work ( yes, sometimes you have to work, even in paradise). Gym was also way above average for a hotel.

Pool is simply fantastic and the food was way above average both poolside and at the restaurants.

Sunsets are amazing from the beach- don't miss them

Special shout out to Rodny ( Bell Captain ). This man loves his job and the guests and it shows every day and with every interaction. Every Marriott could use a Rodny! Also, wanted to recognize Brayan at the Heladeria. Guys works tirelessly and always with a smile - and the gelato is excellent!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michaelmQ1507TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Michael M;

Create a unique experience is our goal and I am pleased to know that you spend a wonderful time with us.

Rodney and Bryan are both great persons and they are going to be very happy to see their names here.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Kindest regards;

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The JW Marriott in Guanacaste, Costa Rica was wonderful in all regards. The pool was exquisite, and it was right on the Pacific, offering a great view of sunsets. This hotel would be a great place to hold a business meeting! All Costa Ricans encountered were very friendly and courteous; we never felt threatened while in Costa Rica.

Room tip: All rooms have a balcony with pull down screens.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Is good to know that you really enjoyed the hotel and everything what we offer.

I hope that you have spend a wonderful time during your Tour in Costa Rica.

Thank you U6849ZXSteveP for your visit and for this excellent review.

Sincerely;

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of my company’s annual sales reward program. There were twenty couple with us. The hotel was fantastic! The room, service, food, and pool were all first class. The sunsets are spectacular and are a daily event that everyone comes down to the beach to enjoy. The property is very secluded, and offers a very private and safe feeling environment. We also loved visiting the town of Tamarindo for shopping, dining and hanging out by the beach. Lots of activity in Tamarindo when you are looking for more to do. We had never been to Costa Rica before and were very surprised and impressed with how clean, safe and friendly the country is. The majority of staff at the Marriott and just about everyone in Tamarindo speak English. I highly recommend the JW Marriott in Guanacaste for a couples or a family visit, even if it isn’t part of a company event.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 883vicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_JWGuanacaste, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Guanacaste Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you sooo much Vic P for this wonderful comments! We truly appreciate it.

We are glad to know that you had a great time here and had the opportunity to go to Tamarindo. As you mentioned in Tamarindo you can find a lot of stores and restaurants and also activities to do with you family.

Inside the Resort there are companies that provide different tour and activities too.

We hope to have a second visit.

Kindest regards,

Jose Miguel Belloni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews