We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
68
18
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
18
5
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2020

So glad we found this little treasure after the beach. Made us feel like long friends. Atmosphere was enchanting, relaxing, magical beautiful, fun, and made the experience. Waiter was the best and handled all our high maintenance needs. We even did some fun shopping. Totally recommend and will be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaloaCR, Propietario at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

Thank you so much, esa a pleasure to have you here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We wanted to stay at the hotel but we couldn't cancel our existing booking so we gave up. The place was nice and clean and the pool looked just gorgeous. We also went to the restaurant for a nice cozy dinner on our first night in Costa Rica, it felt great and the owners have good credit for it. The pizza was delicious too. The owners shared with us few useful tips that we used during our stay in Playa Avellanas.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 191eugeniar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauna l, Gerente at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2019

thank you to share your experience with others travellers. Was our pleasure to have you here, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week in this lovely place and couldn’t have had a better experience. We rented the bungalow with the kitchen as we intended on cooking most of our meals but after eating dinner the first night at the restaurant, we were blown away. The hotel/restaurant is run by this wonderful Italian family, Debora, Michael and their boy Oliver. The food in the restaurant was fresh, authentic Italian cuisine and was unbelievably fantastic.

They made us feel at home and towards the end of our stay, we started to feel like family.

The place was clean, quiet and wonderful.

The beach is a short walk away and is such a fantastic beach. It’s long and beautiful and has great surf.

We had an excellent time and will definitely be going back.

Thank you Debora and Michael for such a fantastic time.

Guy and Barbara

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 940guyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauna l, Propietario at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

Thank you for your beautiful review! We had a great time with you, it was time i didn't see Debora enjoyin' so much talking with somebody and laughing so loud. People like you make us feel so good, it was a pleasure to have you here, we already miss you! See you soon, thanks for everything
Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The hotel was in poor maintenance state, hot water pipes not working, the water in the pool was green, polluted by all kinds of algae; it scared us from trying the restaurant. The beach is almost 2km from the hotel and not worth the trouble. Found lovely places to stay for better price in beautiful locations just some 15km away.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PaoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

My friends and I traveled to Costa Rica for 5 Days. The first night we had googled a place to eat in the Hacienda Pinilla / Playa Avellanas area of where we were staying. This Hotel/Restaurant was the cutest location we ate at the entire 5 days we were there hands down. It may seem like I am bragging a bit too much about this place but it DESERVES it 100%. I am in the Culinary/Hospitality industry in the U.S. and I was BLOWN away.
The location firstly, is yes completely off the beaten path, you will drive down a dirt path way to get to Mauna Loa, but do not let this make you decide differently. It is very bumpy and not lit well at all till you arrive to the location on your left if you are coming from Hacienda Pinilla, Right if from Playa Avellanas area.
When you drive up there is plenty of parking. You will feel like you have discovered a hidden gem and I promise you, you have. It is cozy, quiet and outdoors (as far as the restaurant part goes) (we only ate here, we didn't stay the night). It has a hippie, relaxing vibe with a KILLER Italian Menu with fresh fish offerings as well as pizzas.
Secondly, the staff is warm and inviting, they speak both Spanish and English and are some of the most hospitable people we came across (as every other local was during our time in CR). Our server Beetoo was all to kind and everything he recommended from the homemade lasagna to the fresh ceviche...it was all so delicious and flavorful. We were speechless.. The kitchen is a small building that will make you REALLY respect the amazing food they serve you, they are a very talented group of people here.
If you want to feel the Pura Vida of Costa Rica, visit our new friends at Mauna Loa.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauna l, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with others travellers. Guests like you make us feeling so good and push us to keep doing our best trying to be better and better. Love you, hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews