We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb slice of magical France!”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Manoir de Champfreau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Manoir de Champfreau
Champfreau's gatehouse Private Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Le Manoir de Champfreau
Champfreau's gatehouse
Private Swimming Pool
Lavish ntrance to Manoir
Dining at the Manoir
Champfreau's gate house and court yard
Wedding hall at Champfreau
Entrance Hall
One of 3 bedrooms
Gatehouse and Manoir
One of 3 bedrooms with chapel
The gardens of Champfreau
Living room and dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Varennes sur Loire, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb slice of magical France!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Step within the magical entrance to Champfreau and you'll be captivated. We stayed for a week and it wasn't long enough. Champfreau is everything you'd expect from the website description but it really is so much more. We're a busy family, 2 adults, 3 kids (7,10 and 11) so our holidays usually consist of greek island, luxury villa - everybody is happy. Champfreau was my husbands idea of a "cheeky week at Easter" - this is now firmly in our holiday annual itinerary, so much so that we've booked the Manoir and the Maison for 2018. The hosts, Steven and Bruce, are not only wonderful hosts, giving you very opportunity to ask questions, make arrangements, but equally, unlike some owners who live on the property (separate house to Champfreau and Maison) they keep themselves tucked away. That said, we enjoyed dinner with them on our son's birthday, which Steven made extra special with the arrangement of balloons in the garden - a complete surprise and and made it even more special.

In terms of logistics it's super easy to find, it's within a short walk (or use a bike FOC) of a supermarket, butcher and patissier, a few minutes drive to a Carrefour Express and a further 15 minute drive to a larger hypermarket. Champfreau sits amongst 55 acres of well tended lawns and pastures - meaning birds and insects are in abundance - Bruce is proud that they've haven't used pesticides the land for 15 years! You'll also be greeted by Zeb, the most well behaved dog I've ever met. The kids loved him, but similarly he'll give you as much attention as you invite, or none at all - we loved him. But in our entire week not once did he step foot into Champfreau - he's incredibly well behaved.

So the property itself is AMAZING. You'll be greeted by a beautiful table adorned with chinese vases, stuffed full of fresh flowers. Beyond the hallway which is home to further antiquities is a dining room and lounge fit for a king! The kids were in awe of the place and having stayed in some very nice properties on our travels, Champfreau is unlike anything we've stayed in before. It's beautifully appointed and quirky in parts, even despite the chapel off the flour-de-lys bedrooms, it has a level warm feeling, that just makes it all so magical. The outside area is breathtaking, the kids had hours of fun playing in the front garden but equally enjoyed playing amongst the acres of beautiful meadows, all completely safe. The pool is a welcome addition for anybody who loves a G&T in this sunshine, it's kept immaculately! Champfreau is a real labour of love for Steven and Bruce, it's a real gem. For anybody looking for a slice of France on a plate then Champfreau will definitely sate your appetite.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asiafan20...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unimaginable splendor”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Manoir de Champfreau consists of two properties, one a turreted 15th-century manor house, an exquisitely decorated small chateau with three bedrooms, elegant salon, spacious, well-equipped kitchen, and charming bathrooms, situated in a sumptuous garden surrounded by vast fields and trees. Each room is full of character, peaceful, and wonderfully appointed. A beautifully maintained pool with comfortable chaises longues beckons. The drive through the entrance leads into the breathtaking estate, and you are greeted by the scent of flowers everywhere: tulips, roses, lilies, irises, poppies... It is so peaceful, all you will hear is the chirping of cicadas and the warbling of song birds.

Next door to the manor house, you can also stay in the equally gracious one-bedroom 14th/15th century Maison Louis Richard, which consists of a spacious bedroom and ensuite bath, a majestic salon, (replete with well-tuned baby grand piano) dining room, and well-appointed kitchen (fully stocked spice & condiment cabinet, all manner of pots, pans, utensils, excellent stove, dishwasher, large fridge, washing machine, etc.) In both properties medieval tapestries, antique Oriental rugs, hundreds of books (literature, art books, travel guides,) Chinese porcelain, have all been carefully and lovingly collected over the years by the warm, tirelessly hard-working, and charming owners, who take pains to fulfill any wish you may have. Exquisite meals paired with delicious local wines prepared on request. The hospitality knows no bounds at this unique hideaway in the lovely Loire Valley. We return for several weeks every two years and look forward with renewed joy to each stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and spirit of the property
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't love
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapperjay
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best part of our trip!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We knew we wanted to stay in a historical building and weren't finding too many places accommodating. Champfreau was perfect in every aspect of our trip. Steven even went out of his way to secretly purchase a cake for one of our friend's birthday and give us a few balloons to celebrate with as well. It really made the evening perfect!

The manor house is well stocked with all the kitchen supplies you might imagine you'd need and a little more. It's warm and cozy (it was cold when we were there), and there's even a fireplace. There's a ton of great art work on the walls, and books and music. Talk to Steve and Bruce about your plans and they can help you out. We got tips on which chateaus to visit as well as checking out the local market for food. Bruce even made a reservation at a local restaurant for us!

If you're only planning on staying a day or two, I'd suggest planning on a week--there's just so much to do in the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The insider information from our hosts: Where to eat, what to see, etc.
Liked least: leaving. Man, that was hard to do.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEC6
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have stayed at this property several times, in both the Chateau and the Manoir. Both are amazing, but only the Chateau has access to the pool. Steven and Bruce are the most gracious hosts, giving you all of the privacy or all of the help and support you need or could want. They make everyone, young or old, feel so comfortable and welcome, it is magic. You could not ask for a better holiday in a wonderful area of France that has tons to do but is still unspoiled, welcoming and authentic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LottieTom...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday, fantastic venue and hosts!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a week at Le Manoir de Champfreau. Wow, what a place! We had a lovely time, staying with extended family plus 3 under 6yr olds. The place was nice and spacious and beautiful. Everything you could need was there and Steven and Bruce were definitely the hosts with the most, nothing was too much trouble! The bedrooms were well equipped and we all slept well. The enormous living room made us want to light the fire in the huge fireplace, even though it was plenty warm enough! The gardens and pool are beautiful and we spent most of the week pottering around the manoir.

Practicalities - the manoir is within walking distance of a small village which has a boulangerie, post office, pharmacy and small grocery shop. It has two tiny bars which have a very local feel to them - we didn't end up having a drink in either to be honest. The manoir is not the most toddler proof - lots of ornaments within reach and no cot provided, that said, our toddler loved the space and the gardens and a highchair was provided and was a baby bicycle seat. Steven and Bruce have bikes we were able to use. The pool was amazing however only solar heated so was far too cold for the youngest two children (1 and 3yrs). This was a shame as it was all they wanted to do, so we bought a paddling pool to put by the main pool which solved the problem!

Overall we would love to come here again... and we would definitely recommend to friends. A beautiful way to spend a weeks holiday. Thanks Steven and Bruce!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful manoir, fabulous hosts and the pool
Liked least: Ornaments placed at toddler grabbing height!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing