We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
212
204
51
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
204
51
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kakao beach presidential suite few steps every morning bars and restaurants small hotel pinel island complimentary breakfast visiting st beautiful beach le piment small refrigerator chairs and umbrellas staff was very friendly and helpful low key an umbrella village
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Large and clean studio with fridge and microwave so you can have a quick meal at your balcony if not willing to go out. Breakfast is very basic and mid quality, served by the pool which is nice. The pool is big and you are few steps from the beach. They provide beach towels and also complementary service in one of the lidos so you can use the chairs and umbrella. Service is very good and 24 hour reception and free parking are a plus. WiFi is regular and it works better at the lobby.

Room Tip: Top floor bedrooms and far away from the pool are a good option for less noise and better views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FtLauTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Alamanda Resort is away from the main city, and capital of French Saint Martin. It is located in an area which is a mix of hotels and gated villas and apartments. The hotel is across the street from the Kakao Beach, one of the five beaches that line up the stretch of beaches on the Orient Bay. The beaches are named after the restaurants on the beach.

The room was large, with a kitchenette, and a very nice bath, but given the location of the hotel, we had unwelcome critters and gecos. Each room, whether on the first, or second floor, had a balcony.

Complimentary breakfast at Alamanda, is very basic, coffee, juice and croissant and breads with served on the patio, or under the outdoor umbrellas.
There is no 24 hour room service, or a restaurant attached to the hotel.

To avail oneself of the beach chairs for free, one has to go to Kakao restaurant. Relative to other parts of the island, the Kakao beach is relatively quiet and clean. Beach towels are arranged for at the front desk.

Right next to the Alamanda, is a restaurant arcade, which primarily caters to dinner. French, Italian and Asian fusion restaurants line up in a U shaped development.

A one-way ride to Marigot, the capital city is either $15 or $20 fixed depending on the cab driver. One should to be prepared to buy junk food or supplemental items to satisfy one's late-late night hunger pangs as Orient Bay area is rather isolated from urban conveniences.

Room Tip: Avail of rooms on the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Our first time staying at the Alamanda Resort at Orient Bay in St. Maarten What a nice place. We go to St. Maarten every year and decided to try this place based on a friends recommendation. We will definitely go back. It is small, quaint and you never have to use your car if you don't want. It is 50 feet , or so, from the beach, includes a continental breakfast each day, has a nice pool, the price of the beach chaises and umbrella is included , there is daily housekeeping and the entire staff is friendly, smiling and eager to help. If you want to cook in, there is a mini fridge, a 2 burner cooktop and a microwave . The grocery store is a 2 minute walk and is well stocked. There are several good restaurants within 2 minutes as well. The only downer ( and it is minor) is the sporadic wifi but.....you are on vacation. It is a great French getaway.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed for 7 nights at the Alamanda resort and had a great time. It was close to the beach with towels, chairs and umbrellas provided free of charge. The continental breakfast that was included was always good and the extras that you can order were good too and not real expensive. The rooms could use a little updating but they were clean and we actually ended up with a 2 bedroom, 2 bath which we didn't pay extra for. My husband used the pool several times and said it was very nice. Internet had a few issues while we were there but nothing serious. The gals at the front desk were always helpful and went out of their way to accommodate any requests that we had and also made reservations for us at a restaurant. We liked that it was close to the beach and many delicious restaurants. We did rent a car so that we could tour around the island. There was a small store across the street where you could buy soda and many other basic items. We had a great time and would love to visit St Martin again in the future. We liked the French side of the island.

Stayed: August 2016
3  Thank LovetotravelDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The perfect choice for our honeymoon. The location is on the best part of Orient Beach, in the middle of all the beach bars and an easy stroll to the clothing-optional section. We could have easily spent the whole 2 weeks in Orient Village and not having a car was no problem - plenty to do. It's also a great base to explore as the island isn't that big anyway.

We splurged for the Presidential suite and were glad we did. Simple, spacious, and very comfortable. The huge balcony was the best part! The bathroom was a little cramped and the bed a bit hard, but these were minor points and didn't detract from our trip.

All of the front desk staff (Laurent, Franklin, Geraldine) were excellent and very helpful in giving us recommendations, getting us transportation, reservation, and taking care of a whole variety of needs from beach towels to AC adapters. The included breakfast in the morning was basic but very enjoyable, and a big part of that was Muriel who always brightened the day. As did the friendly local cats :)

It's certainly not a luxury place but so pleasant, relaxing, and just what we were looking for. We will definitely be back and miss it already!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews