We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart shaped pancakes & bare breasts - mmmm!”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Heart shaped pancakes & bare breasts - mmmm!”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Lovely proprietress, comfy & clean rooms, great privacy.
Easy walk to beach and shops/restaurants.
Island is only 5 miles x 5 miles so easy by rental car. Be careful parking in Phillipsburg - we got our car towed but police very polite.
Take insect repellent as we got more itchy bites here than multiple other Caribbean vacations.
We took US dollars and Canadian credit card - no need for Euros.
If you like airplanes then definitely spend an hour at Maho beach in front of the runway - unbelievable site to see a 747 come right at your head for landing but beware the jet blasts!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    94
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
220
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at Palm Court right after Thanksgiving (then when on to St Barts for 4 more nights) and generally agree with most of the reviews posted here. Spacious room, quiet, secure, and a short 2-5 minute walk to Orient Beach. We showed up at Waikiki Beach and enjoyed the morning before heading over to Maho to watch the planes fly over our heads on our only full day on the island (big jets land from about 1 to 4P). Staff at Waikiki brought over a table, opened the umbrella etc...but didn't take our privilege card..and wasn't until a week later did we realize "oh, they knew we were from Palm Court because of the towel color!" But I digress.... Finding the place was a bit of a challenge (ended up over at Club Orient and taking the "back road") but from the reviews we sort of expected that and chalked it up to the whole experience. Wifi did not work in the room but it did by the pool and in the lobby. Stocked up on beer, wine, rum, cheese, meats etc. at the US Market not far from Orient Village, and stuffed much of it into a soft-sided cooler for the beach (staff at Waikiki appeared to care less). Ate both nights at the Lolo's in Grand Case (planned to do a Lolo one night and a nicer dinner in Grand Case or in the Village the following, but we enjoyed the casual and cheap atmosphere of the Lolo's so we ate there both nights). The one surprise was both my wife and I were underwhelmed with Orient Beach - much more "touristy" than we expected, I guess. We likened it to Panama City Beach less the highrises and French influenced swimwear (to put it into perspective we *like* PCB and the North Walton beaches...and since those are driveable from where we live, we'll go there for a family beach fix).. St Barts was a 10 minute flight and a completely different atmosphere and story, but that's a seperate review......

If you are a big "hotel service" person or "Las Vegas Mega-Pool" type person Palm Court is not for you. If you tend to be more self-sufficient and want a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay in Orient Village near (but not on) the beach and only a 5 minute drive or so from Grand Case it probably is. Also, have to throw a shout-out to Unity Car Rental - great rates, the car was nice, and no problems on pickup or dropoff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay that provides easy access to Orient Beach, I recommend Palm court, If the need for full hotel amenties are required, then look elsewhere. One of the best features were the beds, which I found to be some of the most comfortable in all the places I have stayed. They include free access to Waikiki beach and all charges are transferred back to the hotel so no need to have cash at the beach unless you plan on venturing to other beach bars. The hotel is about a 2 minute walk to the beach which we found to be perfect since Orient Bay sits on the Carribbean sea and the wind in Dec is pretty intense. It's about a 25 minute ride from the airport but with only one main road, you have to give yourself additional time. We found in Dec we were heading to Grand Case and Simpson Bay for dinner as it varied on which places were open in and around Orient Bay. Overall, if sitting at the beach and partaking in kitesurfing, parasailing, etc... are what you are looking for, then Palm Court Hotel offers a great value in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 14-21 group are away from the pool and provide more privacy, especially if on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intelectual en el mundo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed there from December 16th to December 20th, 2011, with my son. The room was clean and well furnished, air-conditioned, with a view to the garden, on the first floor. Service was prompt and courteous. Breakfast by the pool was included with baguette, croissants, fresh fruit and juice, hard-boiled or poached eggs, cereal, milk, coffee or tea. This hotel is not on the beach, you walk five minutes through a pleasant neighborhood and get to the beach. This time of the year it could get quite windy and the waves were high. My son went parasailing. The restaurants nearby are very good, they offer French and Italian food. You can eat lunch or dinner at a restaurant or heat up something in the room for it has a microwave and refrigerator, and kitchen utensils. We chose to go out in the evening and try the different restaurants nearby. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you do not like climbing stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clotilde024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Went to St Martin for SCUBA with wife and dive buddy. Afternoons on the beach. Evening dinners (all on the French side of the island). Dive shop on northwest of island, but hotel northeast. Island only 10 miles by 10, so a 12 minute drive. Currency is EURO. Take credit cards most places, but often put through as cash advances, meaning either fees by bank or interest clockstarts immediately..

Palm Court was clean. Rooms spacious - 2 queens; bathroom; small fridge; coffee maker. Ground floor patio with walking access to pool. Everything in working order. French electrical plugs and 220 voltage. Took one converted and plugged in a power strip. Pool was nice. Continental-plus breakfast served poolside. Staff was very helpful with directions and meal suggestions.

Room Tip: Ask for a picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koalatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
4.0 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,799 reviews
0.2 km away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
597 reviews
0.3 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
446 reviews
4.3 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
4.4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, West Indies, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing