We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
182
273
76
49
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
273
76
49
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar st martin rum punch reception desk perfect beach beachfront restaurant bug spray nude beach grande case open air water sports katy steps umbrellas island vacation euro
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Even by Caribbean standards this hotel is at best a two star. The outside is nice but the rooms are worn and dated and the bed is hard like a rock. The beach access is excellent. The hotel goes by several different names. Maybe to avoid the bad reviews

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barann36937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

La playa is a beach bar and restaurant on Orient Beach. We rented chairs and umbrellas for the day. They have music and waitress service for drinks and food. The chairs and umbrellas are rather expensive at $15 a person. If you buy food, they should cut you a break. However the waitress worked hard. We had simple cheeseburgers that were delicious and served hot (not easy when you are have to take the food out to the beach). All in all, a really nice day.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel, we spent the day at their beach
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

First time staying on the French side of the island! I have always visited Orient beach during my stays. Perfect location! Very friendly staff! I was fortunate to book before high season rates started!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skycup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the first week of December. A major plus for this resort is the location. It is situated directly on the beautiful Orient Bay beach, and chairs and umbrellas are plentiful and always available. There are several beach bars offering varied lunch menus within a short walk, and more upscale yet casual dinner choices are available in the town square just a 2 minute walk from the resort.
The units are roomy and clean, and Katy and her staff were friendly and extremely helpful.
If you are looking for a relaxing beach vacation, you can easily stay here without renting a car, but cabs and car rentals are easily available for exploring the island.
At the time we visited the exchange rate was pretty much equal, and although we brought Euros, this was essentially unnecessary.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TheJukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

This used to be a modest and relaxed hotel with the typical french/caribean atmosphere. Well, sorry to say this but the hotel sold its soul to the devil. Meaning: invester took over and it's turning now into a mass tourism exploited hotel and beach. So if you want a peaceful and authentic caribbean feeling don't come here. What to expect?
- mass tourism touroperators from Europe (Tui) and cruise operators from the USA
- at 10:00 the hotel prepares its mid beachsection for cruisepassengers so the hotelbeach gets really overcrowded
- this type of guest wants to be fully entertained so loud teenage music is played eveywhere and the place looks like a springbreak circus with same type of tourists.
- circus goes on untill 17:00 and no peaceful moment anymore because the beachclub Waikiki (nextdoo) is putting on its blast, sometimes even untill 02:00 or 03:00 am. So take your earplugs
- when you are finally ready for breakfast, you will find a poor breakfast buffet with horrible coffee. No cappucino or latte not even a french noisette but the old big steely coffee pot. Incroyable!
- the only positive aspect is that the rooms are spacious, but a little outdated with poor bathroom design.
For sure Not returning to this hotel anymore.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank giseladagmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews