We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Booking.com
US$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
FindHotel
US$232
US$177
View deal
SAVE US$55
Hotels.comUS$232
eDreamsUS$232
Trip.comUS$191
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
206
199
54
31
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
199
54
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco beach bar private pool on site restaurant astrolabe restaurant grand case orient beach continental breakfast croissants an umbrella just returned from a night stay the air conditioning year after year beautiful beach beach chairs short walk to the beach saint martin gated community
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2020

We cruised to the island of St. Martin 18 years ago. Then decided to go back for an extended vaca. 3/2020 was the time for us. We chose Esmeralda Resort for its proximity to Orient Beach and for the layout of there property. Small separated buildings with private pools intrigued us. When we arrived it was dark in part because we drove right past the entrance to the gated community Esmeralda was in. It was not clearly seen coming down from the north heading south. Which is another story. Once we got turned around headed back north from the outskirts of Philipsburg. The resort sign was seen. This is my biggest complaint for the resort, better signage. The next has nothing to do with the resort. Since the hurricane Irma. All the street signs have vanished. Driving around is problematic with out GPS phones. In our case another cost to driving around the island. All that being said.
Esmeralda resort is an emerald in the Caribbean albeit a little more pricey compared to what we found after the fact. The resort still met our expectation. Quaint semi-private accommodations, separate pool to each unit only sharing with those connected to the building. Our room was in the middle of, what I call a plantations workers home, with a decidedly modern sophisticated feel. It was larger than we needed but much more airy than the two room to either side. The two opposite rooms connect to the middle making it possible for a larger group to share the facilities. The kitchen in the unit could accommodate several cooks. Our building overlooked the roofs of the complex and most of the village Is where the lion share of restaurants reside. There one would find just about anything to eat. Most of them met or exceeded our hopes of having a good meal each day. The resort also has a restaurant L’Astrolabe. Each morning we would have a complementary breakfast of bread, fruit, coffee or tea and juice. Most days one or both of us would order something extra, eggs, pancakes, etc, etc. Being an American I am use to “breakfast”. What I mean is continental breakfast are fine and adding to that is ok too. Unlike our eatery’s back home L’Astrolabe is Spartan, nothing fancy, don’t expect your eggs and hash browns to come garnished or over flowing with mixed up string potatoes. Prefab potato slab and two eggs your way. What you get for your 6€ is a nice light meal to start the day with. We didn’t venture to the village for anything but dinner. Our days on the beach we’re taking advantage of the agreement Esmeralda has with a hand full of bars/restaurants along the shore. They provide free second row lounges (first row cost 10 to 15 $ per chair) and partook of their menus. The Kon Tiki was our favorite, Bryce and Tony took good care of us.

Esmeralda being at the far North end of Orient Beach and our room towards the back of the complex. We had a long walk to the beach, which of course is good for us and we didn’t mind. We didn’t figure it out until later all though the walk did us good taking our snorkel equipment and a bag for each of us and down to the Kon Tiki was a long walk. So we drove the mile or so to hold our toys for the day and made available to rush back to the room if need be. Parking here or in the village is not overly organized by American standards. Neither is the driving anywhere on the island. Yes, there are the appropriate signage, stop, turn here and stuff. But beware it is not America and good manners and caution gets you safely from point to point. We found the locals to be gracious and accommodating. Though some come across as being slightly rude or short with conversation. It’s really just their way to get to the point. Once you get to talking with them they open up just like anybody else.
For instance the staff at the resort always greeted us with smiles and jovial conversation. A nice touch and always welcomed.

This is a long winded way to say. Despite the small short comings once at the Esmerelda Resort you will feel relaxed. It felt so comfortable and easy for us. Also allowing us to discover the island as a whole and meeting people from all walks of life and destinations. Our one regret of our own doing is we didn’t get out and party or get to know other people. We where so relaxed at the end of the day. We just liked to sit on the porch, watch the sun set, have a cocktail/wine with cheese. Then get dressed for dinner and down to the village where people watching is it’s own entertainment. We highly recommend the Esmerelda. Not everything has recovered from Irma but the resort and the island are slowly returning to normalcy. We look forward to one day returning. Hopefully we can convince some friends to join us.

Room tip: Rooms on the hill are more scenic.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rtresselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

We just returned from a 6 night stay. The resort is lovely. Our room was huge, clean and well maintained. We did not find the furnishings (deck furniture, chairs, beds) to be comfortable but that is a matter of personal preference.
The staff were great. Every person we encountered was helpful and responsive. Thank you!
We did not rent a car this trip. Beach access is easy. Orient Village was an easy walk, just be careful of traffic. They drive fast and don’t seem interested in watching out for pedestrians.
Overall a nice stay. We had no water issues.
We did have to cut our trip short by 4 days due to Corona Virus related travel restrictions. Luckily we sere able to get a flight home.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Discover55799006914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Water for showers including toilets are limited to a few hours per day, sometimes less. Toilets cannot be flushed except when the water is turned back on

It’s very unsanitary. Staff are lovely however can offer no help with this issue as it is a problem extending to Orient Bay in general.
No date given as to when the water pipe repairs will be completed.

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank SShow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudie Nannini, General Manager at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

we are sorry about the situation the property do not have any control of water production
the city fix the problem after few days
we hope to welcome you again
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

The cathedral ceiling is exquisite and the bathroom is very lovely. The shower is modern and it functions excellently and the green tile is just beautiful. Each villa has it’s own private pool which is such a delight and each room has push button shutters for security and an in room safe. There is also a large flat screen tv with dozens of English channels. Free Wi-fi. What’s more, the bed is new, extremely comfortable and simply heavenly!! All of the staff and the services they provide at Esmeralda Resort have been impeccable. They are all extremely friendly and highly professional.

We found the food at The Astrolabe disappointing. It’s okay but not great, particularly for the prices they charge. The service is outstanding however.

There is also a problem with cats here. There are cats everywhere, even in the restaurant and they kept trying to get into our room.

The garbage/recycling truck came between 3am-4am every morning beside our room. It scared the living hell out of us!!! It was so loud that we thought there was another hurricane.

Esmerelda Resort is a very lovely resort, but there is room for improvement with respect to the food, the cat issue, and the 3am garbage truck.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 200kittr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

We stayed here three nights in mid-January 2020 and found our stay to be a very pleasant three days. As with most or all of the buildings here (ours had three units) we had our own swimming pool and were a very short walk from the beautiful beach on Orient Bay. Our room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly and efficient. There are beachside restaurants very close by.

The restaurant, L'Astrolabe was only a few steps from our room and we had dinner there twice because we enjoyed it so much.

Room tip: Some rooms are closer to the beach but none are very far away.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews