We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$235
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Priceline
US$236
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$236
US$180
View deal
SAVE US$56
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
FindHotelUS$236
Expedia.comUS$236
eDreamsUS$235
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
206
199
54
31
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
199
54
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco beach bar private pool on site restaurant astrolabe restaurant grand case orient beach continental breakfast croissants an umbrella just returned from a night stay the air conditioning year after year beautiful beach beach chairs short walk to the beach saint martin gated community
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2020

We stayed for 6 nights after a cruise. Much of the island is stll recovering following Irma. Esmeralda looks pretty much rebuilt other than its beach club which is nearly there. Orient Bay was great for a beach stay though the weather pretty mixed in January. There's a big choice of restaurants in the village which is walkable and safe from the hotel. Breakfast at the Astrolabe was fine though a bit restricted unless you wanted to pay extra. Room was large and very comfortable with AC and a fan. Access to a pool shared with 3 other rooms. They also allow free use of beach chairs and sun umbrellas at 4 of the beach clubs - otherwise these charge 30 euros a day.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSJHGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We had originally planned on trying to stay at Allamanda but of course it is closed having been severely damaged in the hurricane. Esmeralda has made a very strong recovery and most of the property is completely restored. The staff was very helpful and very nice to us. Our room was exceedingly nice. Although quiet, it is a very short walk to the beach. Our room had all of the amenities that we needed. Breakfast was very convenient as it was just across the street at Astrolab. We would stay here again.

Room tip: The buildings contain three units and a pool which is available for just those three units. The beach is easily accessible.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

We just got back from Saint Martin a few days ago. This was our first trip since the hurricane and while so much of the island is under construction, Baie Oriental seems farther along than most other beach areas. The busiest part of the beach is a short walk down a hill from the resort, where there are 3 restaurant/beach bars catering to an international mix of families, couples and groups of friends, mostly French (which is a nice change). The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because, for the price, while the villas are large and clean, the furnishings are in need of updating and grounds could be prettier. Our villa had a large bathroom and it's own kitchen. One dinner suggestion I would make is, instead of restaurants every night, go to the ravioli shop on Avenue Des Plages and bring back dinner to make in the room: boiling the fresh pasta, heating up the sauce, etc. Each villa has its own pool, so they are semi-private, but I didn't see them used often. The restaurant L'Astrolabe was wonderful French food with the nicest servers. Some lighter options would be nice. And the square about a 5-10 minute walk from the resort (La Place?) has a good assortment of restaurants to choose from. Esmeralda itself is a little sleepy and understated, but since the beach bars and La Place restaurants are so close, it's a good combination. Once the new condos are complete and Esmeralda's own beach bar and area is up and running, it will look much better.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank U8453FDmichellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Another 7 day / 6 night stay is just completed. This was our second visit back to the island and the resort, post-Irma, and things continue to improve.

We stayed in villa 43, room #437. It was clear that this villa was very recently renovated as the interior was freshly painted, from floor to ceiling. Also new were plumbing fixtures, room safe, refrigerator, toilet and the patio furniture. We lucked out with having extra peace and quiet, especially in the evenings and overnight, as the only Deluxe Suite in our villa was undergoing its renovation and was empty. We didn't even notice that work was underway until about mid stay when we happened to walk by the pool and see the hurricane shutters up and workmen inside the room. They would start around 8:30-9 AM and finish for the day by 4:00 PM. Parking our rental car was also easy as the 5 space area between villas 42 and 43, never had more than 3 cars at any time.

The vast majority of our interactions with the reception / concierge staff was with two newer faces to us, Nicolas and Rogers. Both were very pleasant, outgoing staff members. Chris, the onsite maintenance man, is still there handling his duties, as well as ever. We prevailed upon him and the reception office staff, on just one occasion. The first full day after we arrived, we noticed the ceiling fan in our room was not working. I spoke to the office, just to make them aware, so they could have someone take a look at it. This was on Saturday afternoon and I believe Chris was off that day (or we just didn't happen to see him). We ran into him on Monday morning, heading to the beach, and he told us that a new ceiling fan would need to be installed as they were aware of the issue. Tuesday, after a long beach day and returning after running around in our rental car, we noticed that repairs were taken care of, sometime earlier that day. The room A/C unit works very well, but we preferred having the ceiling fan circulate the breeze as it is a bit quieter than having the A/C unit on, especially at the end of the day when ready to fall asleep.

No real significant changes to the look of the grounds from our visit in February 2019. Slowly, the property is regaining its look from before Irma, but it will take more time than the two years that have passed. We saw landscape workers trimming, edging and pruning on two of the days during our stay.

Housekeeping services were well up to par, as usual. We had no need to have any of the bedding changed during our stay and chose to have our bath towels, hand towels and floor mat changed out only every other day. Only peculiarity was in the schedule consistency for cleaning.....housekeeping sometimes came as early as 1:00 or as late as 4:00 in the afternoon. Certainly was not a problem for us to work around them. We had no idea how many rooms were being turned over for new guests each day versus just a daily cleaning of a given room for the same guests.

Breakfast and dinner services at L'Astrolabe continue to be excellent! Many familiar staff faces, for both mornings and dinners. On most of our days, we were served by Dennis and Fafi (Fabrice). It's always nice when the staff recognizes return guests, year after year, and we get a chance to get caught up with them on what's going on since our last visit. Breakfast items are long familiar and the same good quality fresh fruits, various juices, coffee, breads and pastries and made to order sides. The dinners continue to be among the best, given the many restaurant options that are within walking distance in Orient Bay Village.

We are always happy when we can find that perfect week of time, usually after the holidays, to book our stay and know that when we come back, everything will be as good as when we last left.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019

The Esmeralda is our favorite place to stay in St. Martin. We go back twice a year, Christmas/New Year and spring break in March. It's perfectly located on the bay for access to beach, bars, restaurants, activities, or privacy. The accommodations are exactly what we need- no more, no less. An ideal vacation resort!

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank billandlynda2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews