We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat but not cheap”
Review of A Flatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Flatta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calenzana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed four nights in Iris room. The room had an excellent and very large bed. Decor slightly New Age. Huge TV which we didn't use, no fridge. There is a good collection of books to read in various languages. Free wifi, no phones in the rooms.

A Flatta is not really a full scale hotel, more a B&B or restaurant with rooms. It is superbly located at the end of a road up the mountains, well signed. There is a lovely terrace and a good pool, both with a fantastic view down to the coast. Wonderful walks start at the back door.

We found all the staff/owners friendly, competent and professional.

The food is very good to excellent. The menu is not long and does not change much so after four days we felt that was enough.

We would certainly go back. A couple of comments though. The bedrooms do not have AC and are under the eaves, so they might get hot in summer. I was slightly underwhelmed by breakfast. And while I did not begrudge the cost of our stay, it was not cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for A Flatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2009

The A Flatta is found at the end of a 3km track from the nearest village, Calenzana. It is a small hotel with only 5 bedrooms. On arrival we were shown up to our room and the air conditioning was explained to us. The room was compact, with a King bed, nicely decorated. There was only one bedside table so it made reading difficult for one of us. There was a large wardrobe, but nothing else and we had to ask for a chair to put things on, there was no space for anything else. There was no information in the room on what to do in emergancy fire or medical and no telephone to call for help if needed. (Although I'm sure most people have mobiles). There was no staff in at night, although some lived across the car park near the gate. The hair drier was kept in a drawer on the landing amd wasn't always there. No teamaking facilities or tv in the room (the latter would have perhaps spoiled the ambience of the place and there would only have been room for a wall hung one). The bathroom was unusual in that when you entered the room through back to back double doors you walked through it into the bedroom. On the 3rd day other English guests told us where the information file was.
Having said all that, A Flatta is in a delightful situation surrounded by mounains. The breakfast was very good, everything that could be home-made was. The rooms were very clean and the swimming pool was available to guests, towels and robes provided.
The evening meals wre typically Corsican and quite pricey, as were fast food cafes down in Calvi, partly due to the Euro exchange rate.
The proprietors could have been more friendly, the friendliest person was the man in charge of the breakfast, plus the lady manageress and cleaner.
To sum up, we enjoyed our holiday. The Calvi area is great for a good number of activities, but we would not stay at A Flatta again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jethornber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Very nice "boutique" B&B luxury little hotel, about 3 km out of calenzana, at the end of a track.

Only 5 rooms, all with bath and A/C and very nicely decorated. Pool, great buffet breakfast, very quiet, in the countryside, with very nice views to the countryside, the mountains and the gulf of Calvi, all in one!

And last but not least, very good restaurant. I advice the "demi-
pension" deal: 50 euros per person and it includes dinner (without beverages) and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
1  Thank fredfromspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cedric63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzana
10.4 km away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
504 reviews
9.1 km away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
262 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Mare e Monti
Hotel Mare e Monti
#1 of 2 in Feliceto
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
465 reviews
8.4 km away
Cesario
Cesario
#10 of 30 in Calvi
165 reviews
17.6 km away
Auberge de Ferayola
Auberge de Ferayola
#1 of 3 in Galeria
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Flatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Flatta

Address: Calenzana, 20214 Calenzana, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calenzana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calenzana
Price Range: €117 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Flatta 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel restaurant A Flatta a CALENZANA , Hôtel Corse de charme surplombant le golfe de Calvi avec son exceptionnelle vue sur la mer en Balagne, un des plus beaux sites de corse classé naturel.Avec sa vue mer et ces plages a proximité, le restaurant A Flatta en Corse à Calenzana vous fera voyager dans ses saveurs gustatives, à travers un séjour de charme inoubliable pour vos vacances dans un hôtel près de Calvi et vous transportera aux plaisirs des sens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Flatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing