We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on, spoil yourselves”
Review of Estbek House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estbek House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Estbek House makes an excellent base if you wish to explore this part of north east Yorkshire. We stayed in the Alum room for three nights and found it to be extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and quite big enough for the two of us. There is a lovely sea view and, although on a fairly busy road, the traffic dies down at night so noise is not a problem when drifting off to sleep. Parking is easy as there are plenty of spaces reserved for Estbek House a few yards away.

The staff are lovely; unfailingly attentive, courteous and friendly and we felt very welcome.

The food is superb from start to finish. We particularly liked the fact that you can choose two or three exquisite small desserts. The Aus/NZ wine is wonderful too and far superior to the average supermarket fare. I can recommend the Tasmanian pink sparkling wine which, for me, made a wonderful aperitif. At breakfast, the scrambled eggs (from their own hens) were always cooked to perfection.

We would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FineHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

At first glance the slightly austere Georgian façade of Estbek House could seem foreboding; but the flower-filled garden promises otherwise. Despite the building's imposing appearance, the interior space is not massive; but it has been thoughtfully maximised and there is no sense of constriction.

My wife and I spent three nights here earlier this week, because we wanted to stay somewhere comparatively quiet on a popular stretch of coast. We settled on Estbek because its website suggests that it takes food seriously. It was the right choice.

We had the Alum room, which was very comfortable and, though not massive, more than adequate for a couple of holiday makers. It had a view of the sea.

The co-owners, Tim and David, clearly know exactly the kind of atmosphere they want in their hotel, and have created it to perfection. Friendly and informal but not boringly talkative when you want some peace and quiet; on the other hand, always there and pleased to help when needed. The impression is of a well-motivated and supportive team, and this is borne out by the folder of information in the room, in which each member of staff is introduced. Service, in fact, in both the accommodation and the restaurant, was spot-on. We didn't meet them all, but Jeanette in particular is a huge asset to the place.

The cooking is simply excellent. This is not exactly a fish restaurant (other tastes are well catered for), but we had fish every night because it was so fresh and so well prepared: it was allowed to speak for itself, and its flavour not submerged under supposed enhancements. A varied and tempting range of desserts could be chosen in small portions, two or three at a time, which allowed us to have a go at everything and offered some interesting contrasts without over-facing us.

The wine list had an Australian / New Zealand focus, which I thought at first might be limiting. But I was wrong: there was something on it to complement every meal, and at prices no higher than less interesting restaurants charge for marked-up supermarket wines.

We shall return to Estbek with pleasure if our travels take us to that part of the country again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Arrived earlier than check in, directed to car park, bags stored then went to explore the area after a few tips from David. Returned a few hours later shown to our room 'eva' a compact double at the back of the house overlooking the gardens. High end toiletries, beautiful fluffy towels and robes, comfortable bed and pillows. Eat in the restaurant in the evening, best food we've eaten in a long while from starter to pudding could not fault, breakfast also delicious with excellent choice of cooked dishes. I would say this was more restaurant with rooms, rather than hotel, food and service outstanding, would strongly recommend.
If I was been picky I would say ditch the silk accessory bed pillows they looked worn when everything else was pristine.
Lovely hotel would visit again.

Unfortunately the trip advisor app will not allow me to uploads photos.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank val-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Went for one night for wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked in to when we left every staff member was friendly and warm. Nice room with huge bed, nice bathroom and sky tv. Lovely evening meal, as you'd expect on the coast the seafood was fantastic as was dessert and a great breakfast (wish I'd asked which butcher they used) definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Friends had recommended Estbek as rather a special place to eat (and to stay) and they weren't wrong. A delightful old house, painstakingly restored by David and Tim over the past 13 years (you can read the story in the information pack in each bedroom), and a really top-quality restaurant - so clearly worth its 2 AA rosettes. Lots of attractive touches to make you feel looked after, starting with David's warm welcome as the front of house, including the chance to sit and have a pre-dinner drink in the attractively-renovated sunken courtyard at the front surrounded by plants and with blankets to keep you warm if there's a chill to eat the evening, followed by having our drinks carried into the dining room for us on a tray when the food was ready. Little amuse-bouches arrived at the start of the meal (shot glasses of a delicious chilled soup) and the meal carried on in that vein. I loved the walnut and roast garlic pate to start, and the chipotle quinoa and black bean main to follow (I was glad of the sour cream accompaniment too - it's a delicious but also punchy dish!), and Jenny was equally delighted with her pate starter (like mine, quite beautifully presented with home-made melba toast) and then the whole baked crab that followed. I had space for a modest dessert to finish - just two rather than three of the mini-desserts, which were mouthwatering. There's a fine wine list though we restricted ourselves to just a large glass each - two different whites, each characterful and great accompaniments. The rooms are comfortable and we slept like logs, and breakfast the next morning was another set of culinary pleasures, with the creamy scrambled eggs a stand-out feature - we've never had such perfect eggs.... Estbek isn't cheap but it is special: you can feel the love and care that's been poured into it (enjoy the open-plan kitchen as you come into the ground-floor bar and dining area, the sign of a really confident chef - and delight as we did in the sight of all those gorgeous old copper pans hanging in two neat rows on the far wall of the kitchen, a marble one at that). Very highly recommended and so definitely a place to come back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room below the top floor - those have quirky but rather small floor level windows under th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
1.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
1.4 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
3.8 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
4 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,246 reviews
2.9 km away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 19 in Whitby
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estbek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estbek House

Address: Estbeck House East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Price Range: €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estbek House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Estbek House Hotel Sandsend
Estbek Hotel Sandsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing