We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit difficult for muslim like us to take wudhu for prayer as no pipe in the bathroom only shower”
Review of Hotel Emas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Emas
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tawau Division
Reviewed 22 April 2016

The room is big and spacious. Iron board needs to be changed as the cover is torned. A lot of information has being provided in the room for review purposes. TV Programme are limited to few channels only, eventhough ASTRO guide has been provided, but didn't serve any purpose. Controling water temperature was a bit hard. Requested airport transfer but unable due to festive season.

Room Tip: rooms on the north is better .more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AzzalyIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2015

It is a fairly dated hotel. The hotel is in the "old" part of town. To give an idea of how old the hotel was, the old airport was nearby this area before it was shifted 38km out of town. But, overall for a single occupancy rate, it is much better than most other hotels in this price range. I have stayed here many times, and the breakfast menu has not changed. I assure you it is a good spread for a free breakfast. The bedroom is clean and has a firm bed. Being an old building, the bathroom tiles has definitely seen better days. I could not figure out why there is no soap holder in the bath area.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Fairly dated hotel but tried her best to excel
Rooms are comfy and clean. No funny smells
Excellent value for the price
Breakfast could be better
Go for rooms on executive floor.
Halal certified food

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank muhamshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Manager at Hotel Emas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Good day to you muhamshah,

Thank you for your review as its really means a lot to us. All your points of comment will be taken into our customer satisfaction data pool to help us improve in future. Do feel free to drop us an email at emas@teckguan.com or to me at chongyv@teckguan.com for any other comments and recommendations.

Thank you very much for your support.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Emas. I used our company corporate rate which is just cost RM 98.00 per night. Room is a bit old but bathroom is big.
Wifi is not strong in the room.
However breakfast provided is the best in town, lots of foods is made from their own cocoa.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raylim888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the executive room.
Furnitures are obviously old and some of it may need to be changed.
Breakfast choices are plenty with combo of local and western.
Fruits are fresh.
The specialty here is their cocoa drink.
Made from well known sabah beans.
Plenty of products made from cocoa is readily available at the reception.
The absolutely wonderful for me are the spicy chilli chocolate & cocoa shower gel.
Must try item that you can't get anywhere else.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
Thank tinagargopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tawau Division hotels
0.9 km away
Promenade Hotel Tawau
2.1 km away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tawau
70 reviews
2.2 km away
My Inn Hotel
My Inn Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tawau
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Shervinton Executive Boutique Hotel
2 km away
Rooms
Rooms
#1 of 11 in Tawau
16 reviews
83.4 km away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emas

Address: TB 2103, North Road, 91000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tawau Division
Price Range: €31 - €56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Emas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing