We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
80
15
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat captain dive instructor dutch owner five days fantastic stay fun dives great dive ferdinand murphy meals reef sites board sharks equipment
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This place is perfect for your dive stay in Bunaken - basic room, delicious food, very lovely owners and staff! You have all-around-service with tranfers, accomodation, meals, diving experience (equipment rental, boat etc).

We were a group of six ppl, all with different diving experience but Murphy, our guide, showed us sites which everybody enjoyed!

Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Cakalang Bungalows in Bunaken in May for 6 nights. After looking at several other places in Bunaken we decided Cakalang was the best place for us based on the price, recently renovated bungalows and very friendly, welcoming staff.

We were fortunate enough to be able to stay in the bungalow closest the the waters edge which made it very easy to swim out past the mangroves to the coral reef.

The helpful staff made us three delicious meals a day and we were able to get soft drinks and Bintang beers out of the fridge ourselves and write it on our own tab.

Ferdinand the owner was also very friendly and helpful. We were impressed with his efforts to recycle plastic on the island and turn it into bricks. He also helped me fix my camera one day, something I was very grateful for.

Overall we loved staying at Cakalang Bungalows and would highly recommend others to stay here too.

Keep up the great work and environmentally friendly attitude. We'll be back next time we're in Sulawesi

Marc & Ben from Melbourne, Australia.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sparkyaustralia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The staff is very friendly and helpful and takes all your worries away. Food is all included and the meal together gives a nice chance to exchange experiences with other guests. Awesome scenery around the resort, nice trips to see dolphins, go snorkelling, diving. And this all for a low budget. Rooms without air conditioning or TV, but who needs that on an island like that?

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 23Albin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Cakalang resort is an amazing place for relaxing and diving!

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a lovely time. The staff is really nice and speaks English very well! The resort is owned by a Dutch man and his Indonesian wife what was for us Dutchies very nice!

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is all included. You can't choose what you get but they ask for allergies and stuff you don't like! When we had pancakes I always got pineapple instead of banana (because i just don't like banana). Water, tea and coffee available 24/7.

Electricity was available from around 16.30 pm to 08.00 am and the wifi was really connection is really good (specially in the restaurant)

The diving is amazing as well. They never take more then 4 people in a group. So 5 divers means an extra guide! Snorkeling is also possible at almost every dive site so you can go with the boat just for snorkeling if you want.

Would love to come back some day as if the owner had a lot of great ideas for improving his resort and the island as well!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank susanne_opmeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We stay at Cakalang Resort for 4 great days of diving. We were 6 pax and we took over the first floor of the big house which has 3 rooms. Accommodation is basic but perfect for a diving get away. Included in the price for the room are 3 meals per day, and they were all fantastic. When you come back from your dives the table is ready and full of delicious dishes. (we were asked the first day for any allergy, special request, etc). Diving in Bunaken is top class and the service they provide as the best dive resort in the Maldives. We had our private boat and guide (Murphy) for the 4 days and he was really good spotting things. I would strongly recommend staying in Cakalang and enjoy the underwater wonders of Bunaken.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio_Palazuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews