We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
18
12
11
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
12
11
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living colours fish cold water instruments nets mangroves reef island turtles meals vegetables huts boat diving power
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed at Lorenso's for a full month while doing our Dive Master training on the Island. The location is very peaceful and the mangrove forest by the beach is beautiful.

The cottages at Lorenso are basic but have all the necessities for a Island stay. The beds are equipped with mosquito nets and the rooms have a fan for comfort. Electricity is provided during night time only as it needs to be provided by generators.

It is recommended to keep a flashlight/torch with you as power cuts on the island and at Lorenso's are somewhat common as all electricity comes from generators on the property.

Food is provided on a full board basis and consists mainly of rice, veggies, egg and fish in local style dishes. Breakfast often consists of pancakes, fresh fruits, tea and coffee.

Lorenso's house reef (just in front of the mangroves) is one of the best snorkeling sites on the island and he can also arrange snorkeling day trips by boat if you wish to venture further. Diving is possible with the dive centre next door (Living Colours Dive Centre).

Towels, fresh bedsheets etc. are provided on a as needed basis and we asked the staff when ever we felt they needed changing.

The staff at Lorenso's are wonderful and all smiles. We will miss them and all their help during our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The people is absolutely sweet but it is a difficult place to really enjoy your holiday.
For me the view is always something that I care for, enjoy the blue kind of feeling, but the mangrove is thick on the foreshore and it's blocking the opening even for the breezes. This also means Mosquitos are at ease there and a little over populated. There is another side effect to this lack of wind witch is a damp sensation all over the mattresses and the belongings after few hours.
The bathroom is dark during the day, this is a real pity since it's not hard to realize that sunlight is a light if you let it in...
I have to say that the cleaning is not at best but the main problem is that when you are coming from the beach you have to walk trough the bedroom to get to the bathroom, the floor is always sorts of wet in the room and oily for some reason and then you have sand all over, including in your bed. No towel provided and the mozi net is just there for fun it's not a net if it is full of holes, I did patch it with my clothes all over.
Sorry guys for the review but it's my experience.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank luluontheroad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

This serene compound has 10-12 cottages. It is very basic and affordable rates between €12-24 full board depending on the room you get.
There are not frills here: everything is a bit run down but I guess that is what adds to its charm. The is no hot water, no flush toilets so you use a jug to pour water. All the water in the compound for washing is from the sea, which can be quite a challenge as it sticks on your body. There is no electricity during the day but the generator comes on at night so you can recharge your devices. Living Colours, next door offers paid WiFi at €5 for the duration of your stay. Simple but tasty meals are served here. You can always count on a great tuna or some lovely local fish for lunch or dinner. For breakfast you can count on pancakes with chunks of tropical fruits and for lunch and dinner, local Indonesian meals with fish, of course. On some nights there is great entertainment as Lorenzo and his band play some Indonesian and other popular tunes. If you play any instrument, you just join in and have a great time.
The owner, Lorenso, is very friendly and is always around for any questions.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Dotts0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The location is nice and the personnel even nicer. You can walk out of your bungalow and go through the mangrove an do some snorkling. A relative of the owner had his birthday, so we were all transported by scooter to have our dinner there.
The bungalows were nice, but could have a little upgrade/update. The owner has his own 1 string contrabass which was nice to jam with. At the time we were ther there was 1 other couple, so atmosphere was a bit slow... Can recommend, though the other accomodations seem nice as well.

Room Tip: Take a look at the different rooms before making your choice.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The staff at Lorenso's were great, especially Aso. The food was good, though it's not always so easy to eat when you're being stared at by a bunch of skeleton like dogs that swarm the dining area.
The rooms are very basic but spacious. They're open to the elements (e.g. no glass in the windows), salt water showers and electricity for only a few hours in the evening. If you don't mind insects then you'll be fine.
We loved the location, beach, mangroves and snorkelling. In fact the common areas were so chilled that it almost made up for the state of the rooms.
Wifi is now available.
Unfortunately our stay was ruined by the appearance of the Owner, Lorenso. Within seconds of meeting him he began lecturing all his guests on his life story, then followed on to boast about how well he has managed to rip off other westerners on the island that have started businesses... sadly with him. He's merely a con-man, not the fun, banjo playing host that other reviews make him out to be.

Love the location, but I think other neighbouring places are much better value for money.
If you do stay at Lorenso's, make sure to bargain! The price is by no means set!

Room Tip: Worth spending a tiny bit more at another hotel or homestay. Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rupert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews