We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed 2 nights in a cottage. Loved the cottage and garden setting very tranquil. My youngest son loved the weka's which were quite friendly. Definately will come back to stay. Only qualms were double bed too small and soft for anyone over 5 foot 8 and the water pressure in the shower was hopeless.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bin282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

Off the beaten track made this overnight stay excellent. Had our own spacious cabin with a delightful,private verandah to relax with a wine and plan for the next day . Our own private shower and toilet facilities . There is wifi but an outage generally meant that even our payment had to be processed manually ...so it really was a get away ! Was not an issue at all really . Bed was comfy and warm and every implement you needed was in the kitchen . Milk provided for cuppa teas for this stay ...always a bonus ...surrounding countryside great and we recommend a walk to and over the swing bridge . Great relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Cabins are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo jo zep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Beautiful setting,, about 2km from Moana and Lake Brunner. We stayed in a cottage. There were two adults and two children. Although it advertised as sleeping up to 6, really it was too small for 4. One room had two single beds and a set of bunks. The other room had a double bed, kitchenette, dining table and chairs and a little bathroom next to the double bed. There were no easy chairs or sofa and we really missed having this option. There was a mosquito repellant thing, but no insect screens on the windows so the only options were be stifling hot with windows shut and mozzies out, or open the windows and let the mozzies in (and in they came!!). We sprayed flyspray in the bathroom and killed about 20 of them one evening. Very clean and tidy cottage though, with comfy beds. More expensive than what it was worth overall though, unfortunately

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lynet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The cabin was pretty from the outside, within lovely grounds. Alas inside the cabin was cavernous and cold- reminiscent of a community hall. The small in-wall heater, with 2 hour limit, barely heats the main room. The adjoining bedroom was chilly. The pillows flat and miserable. The 'double' / deluxe single bed is tiny. My solo 5'8" frame would find my feet dangling over the edge- and cold. Two people would be warm at least - if you could both fit in the bed! The coldest hour is before dawn; I was woken both mornings chilled through and miserable. The second night with extra blankets was more tolerable, but the Motel Complex would do well to invest in some efficient heat pumps.
You can't see the television from the bed- which maybe a problem for some people.
The decor and fittings are perfunctory- theres a 2 burner hob unit and what utensils you need for basic self catering. The ceiling lights are bare bulb and glaring- one light setting; on or off. The bathroom is clean and off-the-shelf new. The shower head is unmoveable and discharged warm water.
Sitting out in the sun, enjoying the gardens and the birdsong on the little deck was enjoyable, and raised my feeling about he complex.
My review is a little jaded by the lack of warmth I experienced. But compared with other similar set up places I stayed at on the same trip I thought this cabin was over priced. Wifi is also $5/day!
Would only really recommend in the warmer seasons.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

My husband and I recently stayed in a one bedroom cottage. The area is lovely and quiet. I guess at peak season with more people around it would be noisier.
The cottage had everything we needed for self catering. Sitting on the front veranda in the afternoon was lovely. I did have a problem with the bed. It was just too soft and bouncy for me. Also, it would be great to have fly screens on at least one or two windows for fresh air in the evening. At night the Windows all had to be tightly closed to keep out a variety of flying insects. The type of Windows probably would not be compatible to screens. This is a good location to use as a base for exploring this part of the west coast.

Room Tip: Cottages nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sundancer93003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moana
26.2 km away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
25.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
489 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Lake Brunner
Hotel Lake Brunner
#1 of 2 in Moana
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
30.4 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
70 reviews
0.1 km away
Lake Brunner Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex

Address: 2014 Arnold Valley Road, Moana, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Moana
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Price Range: €35 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique self-contained, serviced, motel cottages (sleep 1-6) in a village style setting on six acres of native bush & trees. Immaculately presented. Secluded, with abundant birdlife, & no neighbour noise. Cabins, power sites & non power sites also available. Chip & putt golf, games area, spa pool, wireless internet. 2Km from Lake Brunner, boating, trout fishing (rivers,streams & lakes), bushwalks. We are centrally situated on the West Coast, an ideal base for your holiday. You are invited to come & stay at "Our VERY SPECIAL PLACE" - where service comes first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing