We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Bush Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Reviewed 10 April 2016

My husband and I recently stayed in a one bedroom cottage. The area is lovely and quiet. I guess at peak season with more people around it would be noisier.
The cottage had everything we needed for self catering. Sitting on the front veranda in the afternoon was lovely. I did have a problem with the bed. It was just too soft and bouncy for me. Also, it would be great to have fly screens on at least one or two windows for fresh air in the evening. At night the Windows all had to be tightly closed to keep out a variety of flying insects. The type of Windows probably would not be compatible to screens. This is a good location to use as a base for exploring this part of the west coast.

Room Tip: Cottages nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sundancer93003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2016

We had a cabin, set in in lovely gardens, such a tranquil location you could easy spend a week there just relaxing. The owner advised us of a lovely walk to take down by Lake Brunner, where you could walk over a swing bridge, this we did. Great kitchen, plenty of extras (as in plates, pots etc, to use).Hats off to the current owners developed the site from scratch 18 years ago,

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

While the town of Moana isn't really worth stopping at, this accommodation is! It presents a serenely, calm setting, has stunningly beautiful gardens and wildlife, and the cabins are immaculately clean and well-presented. The hosts are lovely and helpful, and you can even see glow worms in the forest! Perfect if you want to just get away and be with nature for a while.

Room Tip: The cabins are great, but you can also comfortably camp or campervan here too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

A wonderful place that is close to all you need but still far enough away to be away from it all. The lady that runs this place is one of the nicest people out! She gave great suggestions for hikes around the area, I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends! Also has GREAT outdoor area/playground if you have young kids and it's cool to see the Weka's roaming around.

Room Tip: Cottage's are cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bdelaney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This place is okay if you need to stop while passing through. My view might be coloured by being initially served by someone who smelled of alcohol, and seemed a bit brusque with it, but I have to admit that the person who showed us to our cabin was polite and helpful to a fault. The cabin was serviceable enough, although having the main bed out in the living area and the kids' bunks in a separate room was a novel approach. Check the security of guard rails on the top bunks before letting young kids sleep in them. Also, the windows had no screens, which isn't great on the west coast of the South Island, which has no shortage of midges, mosquitoes, sandflies and biting insects not yet named. As the cabin also had no air conditioning, you could leave the windows open and get eaten, or shut them and sweat. Still, that was summer, and staying in spring or autumn, without kids along, would have been completely different. We staid in outwardly similar cabins at Akaroa the night before, and Franz Josef the night after, and they were both far superior inside, although both more expensive, so perhaps I'm being harsh.
On the up side, the cost is modest, especially for the number of people a cabin will hold, and the complex is very handy to the lake, and also handy to the Arnold River if you're keen on fishing. I caught a 20 inch trout next to the first bridge towards Greymouth before the family woke up in the morning, and one can't complain about that. Lake Brunner is definitely worth going to, and this place will get you plenty of beds at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The map gives the appearance that the complex has river frontage on the Arnold River, but it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moana
26.2 km away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
25.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
489 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Lake Brunner
Hotel Lake Brunner
#1 of 2 in Moana
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
30.4 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
70 reviews
0.1 km away
Lake Brunner Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex

Address: 2014 Arnold Valley Road, Moana, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Moana
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Price Range: €35 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique self-contained, serviced, motel cottages (sleep 1-6) in a village style setting on six acres of native bush & trees. Immaculately presented. Secluded, with abundant birdlife, & no neighbour noise. Cabins, power sites & non power sites also available. Chip & putt golf, games area, spa pool, wireless internet. 2Km from Lake Brunner, boating, trout fishing (rivers,streams & lakes), bushwalks. We are centrally situated on the West Coast, an ideal base for your holiday. You are invited to come & stay at "Our VERY SPECIAL PLACE" - where service comes first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing