We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mount Inn(Llanidloes)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Inn(Rhayader)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gregynog Hall(Newtown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Glen Usk Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Excellent value food, friendly welcoming staff, great beer, - great atmosphere -
the fact that is frequented by the locals says lots for it. Try their steak night.
big car park at rear.
Lovely old town,

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnday2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raeday80, Owner at The Royal Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Just popped into this pub when we were adventuring through Llanidloes on our long weekend.
Nice friendly atmosphere, nice beer friendly staff couldn't ask for more in a pub the Brunch was a winner too

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dirtbiker1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the royal head for 1 night on the 25th of October with my son. Stayed in the ensuite room. Tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water & lovely biscuits. Fab little bathroom and THE most comfortable pillows I have ever slept on!!
Not to forget the 2 lovely labradors in the bar downstairs.
A great stay
Ps. Where can I buy the pillows you use?

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank sunlover036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I was a bit wary of staying in a pub as I've not done so before. I needn't have worried as the staff and landlord were very welcoming. The room was excellent value for money - I had a double for £35 per night, including a huge, freshly cooked breakfast with proper coffee too. The street my room faced onto is pretty quiet but sometimes you could hear people outside the pub - could be an annoyance in the summer but it didn't bother me. Tea and coffee and biscuits in the room. The room had a couple of bits of cleaning that had been missed and the stairs needed sweeping but overall I would rate it as very good value in the heart of a beautiful little town with an excellent range of facilities. The lady in the library who helped me to find this place is to be thanked. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crustum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Bed and breakfast in a pub. Very nice welcome. There is a new Landlord in the pub and he has made some welcome changes. I have visited before and had the same room which was clean and neat. Two chairs have been added which is a great improvement. The decor has been updated and it all looks good. A small bathroom with a shower but plenty of hot water. The landlord Tony met us as we came in quite late in the evening and asked us what time we would like to eat in the morning. The breakfast was wonderful and cooked to my taste. It was full English and contained everything which could be expected. The meal was nicely presented and the place settings were done tastefully. It is obvious that the landlord believes in checking the details. There was also a plate of croissants with jam and marmalade which was an unusual and pleasant touch. In this day where everyone seems to be hiking their prices through the roof the bill was still a pleasant surprise. It is nice to pay less than a travelodge price for an individually set up room. My compliments to Tony. Keep up the good work and keep your prices reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews